We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love history, take this tour!”

Ed Grimball's Walking Tour of Historic Charleston
Ranked #60 of 221 Tours in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ed Grimball is a 12th generation Charlestonian whose family settled on Edisto Island in 1682 and has been here ever since. Ed opened his walking tour business in 1996 and would consider it a privilege to personally show you his city.Your tour will explore the cracks and crevices of old, beautiful Charleston, touching on many subjects such as the Civil War, the Great Earthquake, the Preservation Movement, and our magnificent architecture. Must sees on your tour include the Four Corners of Law, the Battery, and Rainbow Row.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If you love history, take this tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We toured with Ed on 06/18/14, and absolutely loved the experience. Ed loves his hometown of Charleston, and it is very evident as you spend time with him. We learned so much about the history of Charleston and about the city's unique character. During our tour, we passed by two other tours, and both of the other tour guides stopped to say that Ed was "the best tour guide in town", and one even said that she learned everything she knows about being a tour guide from Ed. He is such a personable and knowledgeable guide, and his love of Charleston is contagious. Even our two teenage daughters enjoyed the tour and learning about the city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    11
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointed in walking tour of Charleston”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

On our second trip to Charleston, we took a walking tour led by Ed Grimball. My husband and I had been on one led by another tour guide two years earlier, and we wanted our teenage boys to have as enjoyable experience as we did. However, this was not the case. Ed Grimball was not nearly as good a story teller and did not seem to know as much history. He was very reluctant to tell us any history about the graveyards or the important occupants who were buried there and avoided any questions about the historical racial tensions or culture of the city. It was like he was afraid of talking about history. He also led the group to a basket maker for a sales opportunity and a gift shop in a hotel. This was not done on our other tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 630Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Beautiful old Charleston with a native”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ed's walking tour of Charleston is like a living history lesson. His knowledge of the city and its history was outstanding. He related the wonderful history of Charleston and interspersed the history lesson with colorful antidotes from personal experience. If you really want an interesting and informative tour of Charleston, Ed's tour is not to be missed. Three hours were just not enough.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1BobMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real "down home" tour and extremely interesting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Ed's a down to earth pro and gives a great tour with personal insights. We met some of the five people in charleston who did t know him, all the rest know him by name <smile>

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank edepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Old Charleston Walking Tours - Beyond outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were part of Dennis Stiles' walking tour of Old Charleston, through his company - Old Charleston Walking Tours - in March 2014. The tour exceeded all of my expectations! Dennis is knowledgable, engaging and personable. He is articulate and interesting. There is no question he could not answer yet he is not pompous. Old Charleston comes alive on this interesting tour. Even my kids, 22 and 23, loved it and said it was the best tour they were ever on and he was the best guide ever!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ab b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ed Grimball's Walking Tour of Historic Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ed Grimball's Walking Tour of Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing