We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tour in Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gullah Tours

Gullah Tours
Ranked #37 of 219 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On our GULLAH TOUR we give an interesting glimpse into an ancient culture of these mysterious people descending from way across da water. Gullah people are the direct blood descendants of the slaves brought to the Lowcountry regions of South Carolina and Georgia; including both the coastal plain and the Sea Islands. These peculiar people were brought to Charleston by way of cargo slave ships. Charleston held the largest slave market in the United States where the Gullah culture & language continues this very day.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best tour in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We took this tour toward the end of our week long stay in Charleston and after a few other tours. We were hesitant to go because we were afraid we would just hear the same information over and over again. We were wrong! Alphonso Brown, the tour guide, was able to offer a unique perspective on some of the sites we had already seen. He gave interesting information about things and places in Charleston that a visitor would be likely to walk right by without realizing there was any significance to it. This was easily the best tour we went on the entire week we were in Charleston.
Some helpful hints:
Call Gullah Tours directly or book online to avoid the long waits in the Visitor Center. If you do that, bring cash to pay at the end. I believe it is a bit less expensive than buying your tickets through the visitors center. It also ensures you get a seat on the tour you want since it is only the size of a van.
Alphonso Brown wrote a book that he sells at the visitor center desk and some other locations throughout Charleston. He does not sell them on the tour. Definitely worth checking out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    49
    10
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Girls trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is my 2nd trip to Charleston and on the Gullah Tour and it was so good that I had to share with my girlfriends. They loved it and still talking about it♥♥♥

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CharleesCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The best and most informative tour we took. The weather was good but there was a chance for rain and it is a bus tour so it is an ideal attraction. Mr. Alfonso made it fun for everyone. He told us about the Gullah language and also some history about the people. He explained what some of the designs and spikes on gates are symbolic of, very interesting! Definitely recommend this tour!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of info.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Expected the tour to be more about the Gullah language etc, but it was a great tour anyway, especially the stop at world-famous Philip Simmons' blacksmith shop and home. We have taken a couple of tours of Charleston, and this one was very in depth, interactive and interesting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westernport, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice African American History introduction to the city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

While the tour is entitled Gullah tours, there isn't much emphasis placed on the Gullah culture or history in the tour, other than the language that Alphonso will frequently use and teach you about. So if you are looking strictly for a Gullah in-depth tour, this probably isn't the right one. That being said, this tour does a very nice job of giving you an introduction to the African American history of the city as well as some of the general history. Alphonso is well versed in the city's history and is very funny, making the tour quite enjoyable. I would really recommend this tour early on in your visit to Charleston to get an overview of some of the most important landmarks in the city. From this tour (as it is not an on and off tour) you can then decide which sites you wish to study more in depth and visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Robby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gullah Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gullah Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing