We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Location was perfect as it was located right on the battery for a great view. It literally is a half mile walk from anywhere in downtown Charleston. Julie the Innkeeper was fabulous! Her breakfast quiches and baked goods hit the spot. The rave reviews on tripadvisor were right on! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGAme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

From our inkeeper's warm welcome, to her equally warm wish for a safe journey home, we were made to feel quite special for this birthday celebration weekend. The homemade "goodies" were a lovely way to start each day. A complimentary tour through the Edmonston-Alston Museum was a nice bonus, and the fireplace in the cozy atmosphere of the quarters made it "home away from home." Do be careful on the stairs going up, however! They are narrow and a bit slippery, but lead to an absolutely lovely, spacious bedroom with a fireplace and beautiful, large bathroom adjoining. There is also another bedroom/bathroom, but it was locked so we could enjoy sole use of the quarters for the weekend. The location, behind the historic house in a quaint courtyard area, made it perfect for a quiet weekend celebration. Our innkeeper was not only a gracious hostess, but also a wonderful source of information regarding the lovely city of Charleston. We would highly recommend 21 East Battery B & B for any special celebration or getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cam54281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you're looking for a fabulous location, 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast is perfect - right in the middle of Charleston's beautiful historic district and easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants. We stayed in the Quarters and the bedrooms were bright, airy and tastefully furnished with antiques. The included parking place was a bonus as parking in that area of town might otherwise be a challenge.

For the cons, the little downstairs sitting room featured a gas fireplace, but lacked comfortable seating for four people. And, if you're expecting a hot, gourmet breakfast you'll be disappointed. Breakfast here consisted of muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice - certainly adequate, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharrell545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Quarters at 21 East Battery provided the perfect place for a weekend away with friends. The den was a great place to sit and visit in front of the fire. The two bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, comfortable, and lovely. The porch of the Edmondston-Alston house has a wonderful view of the water and puts you in easy walking distance of fabulous restaurants and area attractions. The accommodations would be ideal for a family or couples traveling together as well. The highlight of the stay, though, was the Innkeeper. She welcomed us as if we were family, baked delicious cookies for our arrival, and had every detail covered. Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed yourself! TripAdvisor has been a great help in getting customer reviews out to potential guests, so thank you for sharing yours! Abigail Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Everything was phenomenal including the staff! I highly recommend the quarters for a romantic getaway with your significant other!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattmeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We recently stayed in the Carriage House. The accommodations were over the top, lots of room and a balcony with a water view (great place to sip a glass of wine). Breakfast was in the frig, ready whenever you were. The location was perfect, walking distance to all attractions. You can park your car and leave it. The Inn Keeper (Julie) was informative and there whenever you needed information. She made sure you had plenty of food and a variety for all tastes. We travel to B&B's regularly and this is one of the best!

Room Tip: Carriage House is several rooms, could sleep more that 2 easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetAB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for your time in filling out a review guest, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast! The Carriage House can indeed sleep more then two adults. With the addition of a sleeper sofa in the upstairs living area we can accommodate a total of four adults. As you noted, there is plenty of space both upstairs and downstairs to accommodate you, and with the off-street parking (In Charleston-WOW!), deluxe breakfast prepared by Julie and complimentary admission to the Edmondston-Alston House; it’s the best deal around! We hope to welcome you back again! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We recently stayed in the 2-bedroom quarters for New Years Eve. The bedrooms and bathrooms are great for 2 couples, and the living area/kitchenette was perfect to relax downstairs. Breakfast was delicious (banana nut bread and quiche), and we really enjoyed eating on our own schedule in the privacy of our own room. The free tickets to the Edmundston-Alston House tour were nice too. The location is perfect: beautiful, historic, and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
Thank HB7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,078 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,834 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £302 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery b&b
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing