We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk Everywhere from this Amazing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just spent three days in Charleston and couldn't have chosen a better B&B option. Julie greeted us when we pulled in as if we had known her all our lives. She is a great cook, and her banana cake was a treat all weekend (not just for breakfast)! As noted in previous reviews, breakfast is pre-stocked in your room, so it's yours as early or late as you like. You can also make coffee or tea any time. We don't have a strong desire to eat breakfast with strangers, so this was perfect for us and allowed us to eat before leaving very early to catch our flight. You can't come to Charleston without loving the history and we not only "lived it" in the "quarters" room, but walked everywhere from this location on the battery. As guests, we really appreciated complimentary tickets to tour the Edmondston-Alston House. Thanks, Julie!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoverTheWorld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We are a local couple who stayed here for a night out on the town. We were very impressed with the quality of the lodgings and the bedding, how big the bedrooms and bathrooms were in the Quarters, and how completely pristine and clean the place was kept. The location is first-rate: right on the Battery and with a view of the water and Fort Sumter. PLUS, guests can use the patio area of the Edmonston-Allston museum, which is on the same property as the B&B, when the museum closes at 1700 and before it opens again in the morning. The museum's patio is that much closer to the Battery wall and the water, so it's a great amenity. The most amazing surprise to us, though, was the perfect hospitality of the innkeeper, Julie. She is exactly the right combination of helpful and welcoming, and then leaves you to enjoy the overwhelming amenities of the property and fabulous items she has cooked for you, and stocked in the fridge. Perfect hospitality is a rare and true art. I have already rebooked the exact same place for an upcoming girls' weekend. My husband and I have stayed in many downtown Charleston hotels and one well-known bed and breakfast. This one really surpasses them all, on every level. It's great for a couple, couples traveling together, and families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmacneil2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I (from Philadelphia), along with another couple (from Chicago), stayed at 21 East Battery B&B for four wonderful days and nights April 10-13. Great B&B, two large second floor BRs and two large BAs, along with warm, inviting living room on first floor. Our hostess, Julie, made us wonderful breakfasts (delivered to our kitchen each afternoon for the next day) -- egg casseroles, blueberry muffins, cookies, etc., which were all excellent. Would go back there again and again when we visit Charleston. Great historical location and history for this B&B...within a short walking distance to historical sites, shopping, restaurants, and bars. Loved the outdoor market area, horse carriage tour, and three-mast schooner tour. Wonderful overall trip thanks to 21 East Battery B&B, our hostess Julie, and the nice people of Charleston!

Room Tip: 21 East Battery B&B is very close to historical "downtown" area and bay, which is grea...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdLPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

From 21 E Battery you can walk to all the interesting sights in Charleston. And the B &B is across the street from the Battery. At the same time you are in a private, serene.garden setting. The B & B is inviting and maintained to a high standard. Julie, the Innkeeper, provides a warm welcome followed by gracious service, delicious breakfasts and treats. This was our 3rd visit. We'll be back in 2013.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katmatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Location was perfect as it was located right on the battery for a great view. It literally is a half mile walk from anywhere in downtown Charleston. Julie the Innkeeper was fabulous! Her breakfast quiches and baked goods hit the spot. The rave reviews on tripadvisor were right on! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGAme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

From our inkeeper's warm welcome, to her equally warm wish for a safe journey home, we were made to feel quite special for this birthday celebration weekend. The homemade "goodies" were a lovely way to start each day. A complimentary tour through the Edmonston-Alston Museum was a nice bonus, and the fireplace in the cozy atmosphere of the quarters made it "home away from home." Do be careful on the stairs going up, however! They are narrow and a bit slippery, but lead to an absolutely lovely, spacious bedroom with a fireplace and beautiful, large bathroom adjoining. There is also another bedroom/bathroom, but it was locked so we could enjoy sole use of the quarters for the weekend. The location, behind the historic house in a quaint courtyard area, made it perfect for a quiet weekend celebration. Our innkeeper was not only a gracious hostess, but also a wonderful source of information regarding the lovely city of Charleston. We would highly recommend 21 East Battery B & B for any special celebration or getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cam54281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you're looking for a fabulous location, 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast is perfect - right in the middle of Charleston's beautiful historic district and easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants. We stayed in the Quarters and the bedrooms were bright, airy and tastefully furnished with antiques. The included parking place was a bonus as parking in that area of town might otherwise be a challenge.

For the cons, the little downstairs sitting room featured a gas fireplace, but lacked comfortable seating for four people. And, if you're expecting a hot, gourmet breakfast you'll be disappointed. Breakfast here consisted of muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice - certainly adequate, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharrell545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
967 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,213 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £286 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing