We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Privacy, location and tasty food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Privacy, location and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Staying at 21 East Battery was a great choice. We stayed in the Quarters for 3 days as a part of the Town and Country package with Middleton Place Inn. The Quarters is a completely private 2 story residence with 2 bedrooms (one of which is closed off if only booked for one couple). The bathroom is huge and the bedroom is large and sunny. The downstairs has a gas fireplace that is very nice on cool spring evenings. The location is great, right on the river and just a 10 minute walk from the downtown area. Julie takes amazing care of her guests and we looked forward to her breakfast creations each day!
Cons: (These wouldn't deter me from coming back) The owners should invest in a new bed as the current one sags a lot in the middle. Hanging out in the living area isn't very comfortable on the small couch and table, but with the location in the heart of Charleston I guess that's not very important.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
161
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a fabulous place to stay!! Lovely hostess who knows how to cook! We highly recommend anyone visiting Charleston to make it a point to stay here. A little pricey but well worth it! Would also like to recommend Tsunami restaurant which is well within walking distance for dinner. The food was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piemamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 (2 adults and teenage daughter) stayed in the Quarters for 4 nights. Spotless, beautifully furnished accommodations. Julie provided more food than we could eat even saving some for snacking on later in the day. :) Enjoyed the free tour of the attached mansion. We found we could easily walk to most of the restaurants we wanted to visit but it was also easy to drive around and find our way back. Perfect home away from home!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank a-traveling-I-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Julie made everything easy and inviting for our stay in the "quarters". The B&B was quiet, clean, and we felt right at home. She left us home made cookies and helped us find a great restaurant to eat at. The location of the B&B is fantastic and the off street parking is a huge plus.

Our stay was planned at the last minute, but we were made to feel very welcomed. My husband and I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing get away in Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1313_Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

When we arrived, we couldn't believe our eyes. We thought we've just booked a room but it turned out to be a whole house, living room including a steinway piano, kitchen, bedroom, 2 bathrooms, upstairs living. It was incredible, cosy, charming. It is situated in the lovely garden of the main house which is right at the ocean side. Because of our jet lag we enjoyed an amazing sun rise. Julie cooked us a delicious breakfast and advised us about the best sites to go see. It was a completely romantic experience for our wedding anniversary. Definitely returning.

Room Tip: The house were the stables, the slave quarters are in the main house and a little bit smaller, but s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmé W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I picked Charleston for a short post Christmas getway. We stayed in the Quarters at the 21 E. Battery Bed and Breakfast and it was wonderful. Located on the water on Charleston's East Battery my wife and I loved our stay. We were within walking distance of everything and the dining in Charleston is some of the best that we have ever had. Included in the great dining experience were the breakfasts that Julie the InnKeeper had prepared for us each night for the next, they were outstanding. Would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallyTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for pointing out the close proximity to most of Charleston's fine dining experiences, most within walking distance from the B&B! That amenity, off-street parking and a complimentary tour of the Edmondston-Alston House makes this the best valued B&B in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the carriage house behind the Edmundston-Austin House and had a wonderful experience. The house is HUGE, about 2100 sq. ft.. The first floor has a handsome (and hideable0 kitchenette and a large dining room; an entry with a grand piano, and a living room and study alcove. the second floor has a landing with a desk area, another family/living room area and, of course, the bedroom and bath. Because this is a renovation of an old carriage house, the original timbers form the ceilings and the wood flooring and; exposed brick are gorgeous. Located just east of the Battery, it is within walking distance of everything in the South of Broad and Somewhat North of Broad areas. Julie, our hostess, was warm and friendly -- a Yankee converted to Southern life.

Room Tip: This is for a quiet getaway -- meaning that while it's within walking distance of great restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#11 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Property: 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing