We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21 E Battery Charleston, SC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Madre, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“21 E Battery Charleston, SC”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Why would you choose to stay any other place in Charleston? Five Stars for 21 E Battery!
A private two story historic residence was our home for two days this past week (May 6th&7th) - located in the VERY Best area of the historic district, secluded down a private drive past the 1825 Edmonston-Alston House. Our home was an historic Carriage House with private grounds.
Our stay was perfection in every aspect due in large part to Julie,Innkeeper/Manager.
Julie greeted us warmly, provided tips for tourists and much, much more. You can't believe the fabulous baked goods delivered daily plus the home cooked breakfast. It doesn't get any
better! I even gave the baby grand piano a try with my favorite tunes. It was spacious, comfortable and charming.
When we returned home from dinner each night, the lighted windows guided our way to the front door. It was magical! I can't wait to return! Thank you Julie, for a memorable stay.
Rita Flynn

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
166
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

21 East Battery is perfect for a weekend in Charleston. You will think your GPS is broken because you are pulling up in front of the nicest house on the nicest street in the heart of the historical waterfront -- but that is where you are staying. The property is immaculate and spacious, and Julie the innkeeper is a wonderful host and guide to the area, always available and helpful without being overbearing. She bakes delicious treats that regularly appear in your kitchen, and her quiches are the perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at 21 East Battery in March and had a perfect weekend. The location is walkable to the historic district but in a quieter section away from the restaurants and crowds. The water across the street is beautiful to look at during the day and at night. You have the entire house to yourself which includes an eat in kitchen, living room and half bathroom on the ground floor and a bedroom, den and full bathroom on the second floor -- so much character. The private house is immaculate and Julie, the innkeeper, bakes delicious breakfast every morning and incredible cookies & breads. We loved our visit, even rented a car at the last minute and drove to nearby Kiawah Beach. When we took a carriage tour and passed "our" house, our guide commented that Edmondston-Alston House is one of his favorites. We couldn't agree more! We will be back.

Room Tip: Book early as this house is in high demand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCVACAGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the East Battery. It is located close to everything. We really enjoyed having breakfast on our schedule, not at a set time. Julie, the innkeeper, is a wonderful baker.
The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great which is a must in Charleston.
All said and done, this was one of the best B&B's we have had the pleasure of visiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob15431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at 21 East Battery for our 'mini-moon' the nights before and after our wedding just around do the corner at White Point Garden. Innkeeper Julie made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived, attending to our every need and more that we hadn't thought of, and achieving the perfect balance between attentiveness and space to enjoy our special time. The 'quarters' were fabulous, the location idyllic, and the service second to none. Can't recommend 21 East B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispricey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikeston, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our second experience was just as good as the first. Actually we booked this vacation to Charleston based on availability of 21 East Battery B and B. We were spoiled after our first trip and never looked at another place to stay for this one. Julie welcomed us back like we were long-lost friends and once again made our stay perfect. It's rare to not find something minor to complain about. You won't hear anything complaints from us. It's everything you need.

Its location right on the Battery is reason enough to stay here. In addition, it puts you in walking distance of most anything in the Historic District. The area is perfect for a nice stroll after dinner ..... and if you eat much in Charleston you will need to walk off some of those calories.

Julie can do it all. Her breakfasts are wonderful. and she's great about helping newcomers find their way around. She has suggestions for things to see and do if you need some help. Most of all she makes you feel at home. Once you check in you immediately relax and begin to experience all that Charleston has to offer. She somehow seems to know just what you need and when you need it. I still don't know how she does it. But she does it very well.

I could go on and on but you just need to experience it for yourself. If you're planning a trip to Charleston, SC and need a place to stay just try 21 East Battery. You will NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: Either the Quarters or the Carriage house are great choices. The Carriage house has more room, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Julie, the innkeeper, provided a delicious breakfast each morning in the refrig. It worked out great. We could eat whenever we wanted. She even accommodated our dietary restrictions. There was more than enough breakfast in that little refrig to keep us going until lunch. The rooms were clean, attractive and comfortable. The B&B is within easy walking distance of great restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,015 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,134 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Property: 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 E Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing