We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and very comfortable room”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Umbria, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ideal location and very comfortable room”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

After a nine hour drive, it was a great relief to get here and be welcomed by friendly staff. The room was spacious and the bed so comfortable. Parking was free and everything downtown was a short walk. Hard to find better value. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,760
    732
    184
    67
    41
See reviews for
621
1,410
83
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okatie, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This hotel has a wonderful location right on Meeting Street. It is convenient for walking everywhere or using the local trolley or bus. The free parking is great. Rooms were comfortable and quiet, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Lots of balconies and places to sit outside in the warmer weather. Desk personnel were friendly and helpful. We're ready to book our next visit to Charleston and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLTinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with others! So many potential guests read these comments and stay here because of you! I am so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is gorgeous, and the staff is amazing! The free parking is an added bonus! Love, Love, Love this hotel! Book here you won't be disappointed. The location is amazing too! It is an easy walk to everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
We sincerely appreciate your business! Free Parking is such an awesome perk downtown and hard to come by! I am glad you had a wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Took a group of church Senior Adults for 2 nights during the Christmas season and occupied 26 rooms. My group was 100% satisfied. No complaints on noise.
All our rooms were clean, no smells, great air, granite in bathroom and desk, shower and tub fantastic, bathroom looked new, beds VERY comfortable. I travel alot and this hotel rates with some in Vegas. If you eat breakfast, please spend the money for their buffet. It is not your normal hotel breakfast. It is actually cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast and all the trimmings. It was well worth the money and all 51 of my people were happy. The front desk staff and Karl were so helpful. The location was perfect for seniors to walk to restaurants and shopping.
This hotel made my job easy. Not a single complaint. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripletsaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Oh how the King Charles Inn LOVES group business! Not only do we cater to our groups who arrive by motorcoach, we have a complimentary bus parking lot that beats all others in town! Thank you for bringing your group to Charleston and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here in early December, loved Charleston, the weather and definitely this hotel. What can I say...but location, location, and location! Parked and didn't have to move our car. The King Charles Best Western, is beautiful inside, loved the beds, and covers. Loved how our room was so centrally located even in the hotel. Everyone who works there is so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return to Charleston and stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Thank you for the kind words about the King Charles Inn! I am thrilled you enjoyed the location and especially our guest rooms! Comfort is our #1 goal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Excellent location, you can walk to Market, Marion Square (farmer’s market on weekends) East Bay St. and anywhere else wearing good walking shoes. Recently remodeled with convenient, free parking under the hotel. The staff is super friendly and quick to help you with any question you might pose. They really want to help! We did not take a dip in the pool since it was a bit cool in December, but we thought this second floor pool area facing the street would be a fabulous spot to spend a hot afternoon, ordering drinks from the bar. We had the junior suite in the corner, what appears to be the largest room in the hotel, with a sitting area. It was great to have the space. Full length windows look onto the street with light-blocking shades for complete privacy. On the other side of the room the windows opened to let in a sea breeze. When closed, most sound from outside was significantly muffled and we were not disturbed. Had an issue with the cable not working, the bellman came right up and figured that out. Nice comfortable bed with quality linens. We LOVED the magnifying mirror in the bath! One morning housekeeping called to see if we needed service and woke my husband who was still sleeping. But we mentioned it to the desk and it did not happen again. There’s a restaurant on site which we did not try. Great hotel in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Hallways can be long, narrow and far from the elevator. Consider this when checking in if you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
King Charles Inn..providing the highest quality of customer care every day, every stay! Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I want everyone to know what a great hotel the King Charles is.Everyone who works there are the nicest and the most helpful people that I have ever met. This was the 5th time that I stayed at this hotel and every time has been a pleasure. It is very clean and the whole hotel has been refurbished, the rooms are beautiful. The hotel is in a part of Charleston, that you are never very far from something fun to do. If you need somewhere to go just ask the hotel staff and they can direct to all the best resturants and attractions that the city has to offer. We had a great time and are looking forward our vacation next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
"Repeat" guests...music to my ears! Thank you for your repeat business over the years! We appreciate you returning again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
952 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing