We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Charles Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,056)
Filter reviews
3,056 results
Traveller rating
1,909
821
206
75
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,909
821
206
75
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbrew pubhappy hourhistoric districtcheese and crackersmeeting streetsmall poolfront desk staffcookieswould definitely stay here againdowntown charlestonwalked everywhereboutique hotelcity marketthe entire staffwonderful hotelfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,401 - 2,406 of 3,056 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

It was our first stay in this hotel and our friends second one. Things could not have been better! Very comfortable beds, well appointed rooms,very comfortable cocktail lounge for "happy hour," free wi-fi and room safe, free parking right in the heart of the historic district with a great location enabling you to walk to almost everything, very pleasing decor both in and out of the rooms, and a staff that could not have been more accommodating. If only all hotel stays could be this pleasant!! The room prices were certainly within reason considering the location and all the activities going on in the city during our stay.. Without a doubt the King Charles Inn will be our choice on all return visits to Charleston!!!

Room Tip: Obviously try not to be near an elevator or vending area, but simply talk to the desk staff -- they could not be more helpful and will go out of their way to help.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Guest comfort is so important to us! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our fine accomodations at the King Charles Inn! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our first time at the King Charles. It is located right on Meeting St. and so it is very easy to navigate the city. You are close to everything. The staff was so very helpful and cheerful. We loved sitting in the bar in the late afternoon/early evening....it was a lovely way to chat with other visitors. Will definitely return when we can.

Room Tip: The double bed rooms are a bit tight, so I would suggest a queen or king room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knittingknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for the kind review! The afternoon Managers Reception is the best part of my day! I get to personally meet and greet all the wonderful guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a convention. Everything was clean and functioning. The front desk was very ( it's the south, after all) friendly and helpful. Price was fair for mid week, but they raised it to a high price for New Year's weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with others! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This location is perfect for shopping and restaurants. Our rooms were very clean, quiet and have been recently updated. The room also had a small fridge, room safe, and free WiFi. The onsite free parking is wonderful in the middle of the city!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulucat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

I am thrilled you not only enjoyed our perfect location in the downtown Historic section of Charleston but our free parking and wifi as well! Thanks for choosing the King Charles Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our reservation went smoothly and communication with the management was excellent. We received an upgrade and gracious welcome for our anniversary - even a handwritten card, chocolate and bubblies from the manager! The facilities were excellent and we will treasure the thoughtfulness that went into our welcome at this lovely hotel. Thank you so much - you are a traveller's delight and we recommend you highly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallishouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the King Charles Inn! We just love spoiling our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews