We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Took a chance never been there and was not disappointed. Rates are better directly thru there web site. Very close to everything . The staff was so professional and friendly. I would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to share your Charleston experience with others! Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,730
    719
    179
    67
    40
See reviews for
606
1,385
83
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We weren't sure what to expect as we booked online. On arriving, as I stepped out of the car, the doorman opened the door and welcomed us and directed me to the check-in. The receptionist was friendly and very helpful, giving us recommendations for restaurants and tours, all of which were good value. The doorman then located a parking spot (included), and helped with luggage. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. The hotel location is within easy walking distance of amenities, shopping and the historic district. Throughout our stay, the staff and management were extremely attentive and helpful and went out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding my staff! I am delighted to hear we not only met but exceeded your expectations! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Found this hotel by just searching internet. Called for rate and the direct hotel was cheaper than any online! Great hotel within in walking distance of market, shops and fantastic restaurants. Parking is free and the staff is so helpful to suggest restaurants and tours. Would stay there again highly recommend for a visit. Mostly middle aged and older folks but that may have been the time of year. Not much to do for kids, but there is a small pool.
Great place

Room Tip: Ask for one where there is no construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toto2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn! Thank you for pointing out our convenient location. It sure makes a vacation hassle-free when you are able to walk to all the historic homes, dining and shopping! Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We loved staying at the King Charles Inn The recent renovations are lovely. The location is fantastic; its near King Street (shopping!) and many fantastic restaurants. The staff really went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and welcomed— they were very professional, smart and hospitable! We would stay there again for sure. The rooms are a little small, but the hotel makes up for this with great service and charm. Great job!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
They say location is everything! I am so glad you enjoyed not only our downtown location but our customer service as well! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The King Charles Inn was a fantastic experience. It brought the old world flavor of Charleston to it inside and out. The customer service was at a very high level with every detail hit. A very convenient location to ask amenities in downtown Charleston and the peninsula. Thank you for a great trip

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Torrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! I certainly appreciate your kind words regarding our customer service! I am very proud of my staff for exceeding your expectations! Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Easy to find with free car park and wifi. Can walk to all the main areas. Oldie worldie with friendly staff. Room was probably one of their small ones but really good facilities. Free newspaper and afternoon cheese and biscuits.
A good location for plantations and Patriots point although we did not get to them due to weather. If you really want to see the Plantations etc you need to ring in advance if the weather is bad

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oscar933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit to Charleston, the Holy City! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our first time in Charleston. We stayed at the King Charles Inn for 3 nights. We were greeted with a smile from the moment we arrived on property. Fast friendly check in and we were upgraded to a room with a private balcony. The balcony was a nice touch but we didn't get much use since it was cold and not the best of views. It looked over the parking area and the other side of hotel. The room was spacious with a small fridge and keurig coffee maker. The bathrooms were also a good size. The entire hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Centrally located. We walked everywhere except for when we ate at Taco Boy and Martha Lou's. We will definitely stay at King Charles on our next visit.

Pros- free parking, free internet, comfy bed, location and staff.
Cons- none

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn! I know you have many hotel options in Charleston and I am glad you chose us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing