We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Charles Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
US$263
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$224
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,022)
Filter reviews
3,022 results
Traveller rating
1,893
809
204
74
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,893
809
204
74
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbrew pubhappy hourhistoric districtcheese and crackersmeeting streetsmall poolfront desk staffcookieswould definitely stay here againdowntown charlestonwalked everywhereboutique hotelcity marketthe entire staffwonderful hotelfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,696 - 1,701 of 3,022 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our second stay here. The first was in January 2013 when it was a Best Western. Although we do not use or expect a lot of "service" when we stay at a hotel, everything here was very good. The evening gathering in the bar/restaurant with free cheese, crackers etc., is a nice touch. It was however, very cold on the night that we arrived (January 31st), when the temperature went down to about 15 degrees (Fahrenheit) overnight. We were on the second floor which is directly over the car parking area and the floor was very cold, (unbearably so in the tiled bathroom). The heat was on continuously and the room temperature could not reach a modest set point of 70 degrees. If the night will be cold -- avoid the second floor!

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor if it is very cold.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for the nice review! I apologize for the cold weather in Charleston during your stay; I wish it would have been a better week for your visit. However, I hope you did enjoy your time in the Holy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyed our trip to the King Charles Inn, but please note that a hotel is being built next door to the KCI, and they start at 8:00 AM! (Maybe not on weekends). Thankfully our room was not right beside the construction site, but some of the rooms are only a few feet away! I'm not talking hammers and drills...there is a huge crane and it "hammers" concrete pylons into the ground...the entire hotel was shaking! The construction continues until late afternoon, so don't plan an afternoon nap! It is only in the very beginning stages of construction (nothing is even built yet!), so this will be going on for a long time! Other times of the morning/night, the room was pretty quiet and we didn't hear much noise from neighbors!

On the bright side, the hotel is nice and our room was very clean. The room was pretty small (deluxe king) but was very well appointed. Bathroom was spacious enough. I can't say anything about the restaurant/bar, as we didn't go, but it was never crowded when we passed by.
Parking is right on the premises and convenient...it is very tight lot though. We lucked up and found one and didn't move until we checked out. Front desk employees were friendly enough, but never asked how our stay was when I checked out! Maybe they don't ask that question during the construction...they probably get similar answers from everyone!

The location of the hotel is very convenient! King Street runs parallel to Meeting St., where KCI is located. Tons of restaurants and shopping on King St. The Market is only 2 or 3 blocks down. The Shops at Charleston Place are located just on the other side of the KCI. We walked all over downtown...to the Market, Waterfront Park, Rainbow Row, the Battery,and shopped and ate on King St.
I would definitely stay there again, but I will probably wait until the majority of the construction next door is over!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LifeofRiley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your honest feedback. The construction next door can be an inconvenience in the early hours and for those resting in the afternoon. I am glad you were up and out enjoying the city! They are half way through driving the pylons which is a good thing for us. Unfortunately, we do not have their work schedule as some days it is quiet and other days very active. I hope you can return again in the future and we look forward to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

First visit to Charleston. Greeted by Richard who took our bags and helped us above and beyond (got ice, found out info, anything we needed). Front desk was amazing - young, friendly professionals that seemed to be able to sense what we were looking for or needed. Checking out, Malcom and DaQuan stored our bags for the morning so that we could do more sightseeing in the downtown area. This hotel is close to everything, clean and the most comfortable beds ever! Thank you, King Charles Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathythenun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you the amazing review! I will certainly recognize my staff for a job well done! Our mission here at the King Charles Inn is to provide the highest quality of customer care every day, every stay! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Upon our arrival it was very difficult to get an early check in. The info states 4pm so don't be disappointed when you check in at 3:30, they tell you that ahead of time. The hotel has been renovated but is starting to show its age with the blistering plaster and cracking paint. The on property parking is very tight, so if you bring a pick up truck it will be challenging. The managers reception is juice and appetizers. Don't expect beer and wine. The staff is helpful with questions that you might have. It is centrally located downtown . The problem is THEY ARE CONSTRUCTING A BUILDING NEXT DOOR AND PILE DRIVING PILLARS INTO THE GROUND THAT SHAKES THE WHOLE HOTEL. IF YOU ARE NOT BOTHERED BY CONSTRUCTION NOISES THEN YOU WILL BE FINE. They have gym access at another facility but it is 5 dollars per day. I would inquire about the construction noises next door when booking so you are not surprised.

Room Tip: Get a room on the far end of the hotel away from the construction noise
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for the honest feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I certainly apologize you were not able to check in early; we try to accommodate everyone on a first come, first serve basis. We are fortunate enough to offer over-flow parking across the street which is an open air lot that easily accommodates large trucks and even buses! Our Evening Reception does not include juice but we do offer complimentary assorted cheeses, crackers, olives and fruit with Happy Hour pricing at BREW Pub. As for the construction next door, I am sorry this disrupted your stay. There are many days without any construction noise and unfortunately we have no control over their schedule. I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting us again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed there over the weekend and had a great experience. Before leaving Lauren had helped me look for a good place to gather with a group of girls for a devotional. She went above and beyond for me. The front desk and the general manager were very accommodating to our group of eight girls. Even the pub bar servers were super nice. Have nothing but good things to say about the King Charles Inn team. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. An excellent value for the money too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snshn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for great review! I am thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations! That is what we live to do and our entire staff is fully committed to making your experience with us memorable and not just another hotel stay. Thank you for recognizing our employees!
We appreciate your compliments and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews