We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average - location, location, location.”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a good choice as it is very convenient & you can walk everywhere. The parking below was great. I felt the room to be a bit tight. My suitcase is large and there was nowhere to put in down on the floor except between the two beds. I stayed for two nights with a teenage son and we were disappointed that the pool was closed. The construction next door was also a negative. I found this hotel to be quirky to enter and exit. Either through the parking garage or if coming through the main lobby, we had to go up the steps then outside past the pool, passing through a door before our wing where there seemed to be painters working at all times. I also prefer a gym on premises. It was clean and the bathroom was a nice size.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your trip to Charleston. Thank you for your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,600 - 1,606 of 2,930 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just spend a long weekend in Charleston at the King Charles Inn. This is a fantastic hotel. Incredibly well located (you can walk to most everything) and the service was impeccable from booking through check out. After booking, they send you an email where you can request concierge service in advance of your arrival. They made tour and dinner reservations for us so all was taken care of when we arrived. Every staff member that we interacted with was friendly and helpful. The room was really nice - with a large bathroom; it was very clean and comfortable. Also, the free parking was a big help!!! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback during your recent stay! We pride ourselves on doing whatever we can to ensure all of our guests feel attended to, engaged and satisfied from the booking process to the checkout process! It seems like you were able to experience the genuine hospitality Charleston is known for! Thank you again for choosing the King Charles Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from a week-long stay, and was pleased with several aspects of the inn. The location is ideal, as it's just on the 'cusp' of the historic district, so driving is unnecessary; everything is within walking distance (great restaurants, shopping, and the waterfront park). Free on-site parking was a HUGE plus, especially when we arrived much earlier than our check-in, but we were able to park our car, and wander the city. Plus, our room was ready a half hour before 4pm check-in. Our room (222) was a beautiful king-sized room, with a very spacious bathroom and LOTS of room on the vanity! The construction next door was an unfortunate detractor, as was the pool closure, but upon speaking with Maureen, the manager, our concerns were listened to, and addressed in a positive way. This was greatly appreciated! The daily afternoon reception with snacks (cheese, crackers, olives, and grapes) was wonderful, and again, Maureen, as well as the other staff, were very hospitable, chatting with guests and ensuring everyone's needs were being met. In the evening, the hotel was quiet, which was lovely. Overall, the King Charles Inn is a wonderful place to stay on a visit to historic Charleston!

Room Tip: Room 222 is a good distance away from the construction area, and the bathroom has a large vanity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcake_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

It was such a pleasure to meet you! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your trip to Charleston and had time to unwind and relax as well! Thank you for sharing your nice review with others! I hope you can visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent four nights at the hotel this past week and could not have been happier. We had never been to Charleston before and tried to pick a convenient location as we were not going to have a rental car. The rooms are clean, recently updated and comfortable. Note that by the desk was a four plug outlet, something that is often missing in hotel rooms. The wireless connection was excellent throughout the hotel including in the rooms. Our room looked out directly on the construction next door (we were given the option not to be in that location when checking in) and while this was never an issue for us, it is something to be aware of if you plan on spending time/sleeping in your room during the day.

During our stay we happened to meet the owners and the general manager in addition to the hotel staff. Everyone was nice, helpful and knowledgeable about the area, restaurants and destinations of interest.

This hotel punches way above its weight, mainly due to the staff and for this I give them an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barolobrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the King Charles Inn, your feedback is really appreciated! It brings me great joy to know you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We received excellent service from the time I called to make the reservation (even after we checked out). Words cannot express how wonderful the staff of King Charles Inn treated us; the hotel was also very clean and comfortable.

It is true that a hotel is being built right next to KCI, they usually start drilling around 8 am and stop around 5 pm. However, it may be possible to request a room on the other side of the hotel (away from the construction), if you plan to sleep in. When the construction started, we were up and moving about the hotel (the remainder of the day we were out touring/roaming about, by the time we returned to the hotel in the evening, the construction was over).

A pastry and coffee/tea is less than 5.00 (the mint tea, hot/ice tea is EXCELLENT!) I also had the fruit cup, which was delicious! The drinks during reception hour are 1.00 off (the Teatini is AWESOME). We also ventured over to Sticky Fingers (right next door), where they had drink specials (I will complete their review in few minutes :)

I believe that KCI is the best thing since gravy (the staff is sensational and the environment is energetic during the day and very comforting/relaxing in the evening). KCI is also one of very few hotels that offer free parking in the area (you can also leave your car parked after checkout, until 4 pm, just in case if you wanted to revisit a few places before leaving the city). We have considered KCI to be home away from home (they also made us feel like Queens during our stay), and when we visit again, KCI will be our choice! Thank you: Richard, Da'Quan, Benzenia, Kathleen, Beverly, Maureen, Taylor and Malcom, you guys are AWESOME!!! Peace and blessings!

Room Tip: There is construction on the right side of the hotel (while facing the front door). It did not bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

I am thrilled to hear you were treated Royally--as you should be! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn and also recognizing our staff! It was a pleasure to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our second stay here. The first was in January 2013 when it was a Best Western. Although we do not use or expect a lot of "service" when we stay at a hotel, everything here was very good. The evening gathering in the bar/restaurant with free cheese, crackers etc., is a nice touch. It was however, very cold on the night that we arrived (January 31st), when the temperature went down to about 15 degrees (Fahrenheit) overnight. We were on the second floor which is directly over the car parking area and the floor was very cold, (unbearably so in the tiled bathroom). The heat was on continuously and the room temperature could not reach a modest set point of 70 degrees. If the night will be cold -- avoid the second floor!

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor if it is very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for the nice review! I apologize for the cold weather in Charleston during your stay; I wish it would have been a better week for your visit. However, I hope you did enjoy your time in the Holy City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyed our trip to the King Charles Inn, but please note that a hotel is being built next door to the KCI, and they start at 8:00 AM! (Maybe not on weekends). Thankfully our room was not right beside the construction site, but some of the rooms are only a few feet away! I'm not talking hammers and drills...there is a huge crane and it "hammers" concrete pylons into the ground...the entire hotel was shaking! The construction continues until late afternoon, so don't plan an afternoon nap! It is only in the very beginning stages of construction (nothing is even built yet!), so this will be going on for a long time! Other times of the morning/night, the room was pretty quiet and we didn't hear much noise from neighbors!

On the bright side, the hotel is nice and our room was very clean. The room was pretty small (deluxe king) but was very well appointed. Bathroom was spacious enough. I can't say anything about the restaurant/bar, as we didn't go, but it was never crowded when we passed by.
Parking is right on the premises and convenient...it is very tight lot though. We lucked up and found one and didn't move until we checked out. Front desk employees were friendly enough, but never asked how our stay was when I checked out! Maybe they don't ask that question during the construction...they probably get similar answers from everyone!

The location of the hotel is very convenient! King Street runs parallel to Meeting St., where KCI is located. Tons of restaurants and shopping on King St. The Market is only 2 or 3 blocks down. The Shops at Charleston Place are located just on the other side of the KCI. We walked all over downtown...to the Market, Waterfront Park, Rainbow Row, the Battery,and shopped and ate on King St.
I would definitely stay there again, but I will probably wait until the majority of the construction next door is over!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LifeofRiley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your honest feedback. The construction next door can be an inconvenience in the early hours and for those resting in the afternoon. I am glad you were up and out enjoying the city! They are half way through driving the pylons which is a good thing for us. Unfortunately, we do not have their work schedule as some days it is quiet and other days very active. I hope you can return again in the future and we look forward to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 62 in Charleston
1,672 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,488 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £114 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing