We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last March and returned last week. They provide excellent accommodations. The hotel is located within walking distance of the historic district and there is free wifi and parking. Since last year, there is a new lounge area where one can relax in front of a fireplace and also a new lounge area where breakfast is served. The rooms are spotless and well decorated. There is construction going next store but that isn't a problem since one is usually out and about during the day. I plan to return again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Feebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for making the excellent decision to return to the King Charles Inn! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty! I am thrilled to hear you are pleased with our newly renovated Upper Lobby and BREW Pub & Café! Thank you again for the nice review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,734
    719
    179
    67
    40
See reviews for
607
1,387
83
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a good choice as it is very convenient & you can walk everywhere. The parking below was great. I felt the room to be a bit tight. My suitcase is large and there was nowhere to put in down on the floor except between the two beds. I stayed for two nights with a teenage son and we were disappointed that the pool was closed. The construction next door was also a negative. I found this hotel to be quirky to enter and exit. Either through the parking garage or if coming through the main lobby, we had to go up the steps then outside past the pool, passing through a door before our wing where there seemed to be painters working at all times. I also prefer a gym on premises. It was clean and the bathroom was a nice size.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your trip to Charleston. Thank you for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just spend a long weekend in Charleston at the King Charles Inn. This is a fantastic hotel. Incredibly well located (you can walk to most everything) and the service was impeccable from booking through check out. After booking, they send you an email where you can request concierge service in advance of your arrival. They made tour and dinner reservations for us so all was taken care of when we arrived. Every staff member that we interacted with was friendly and helpful. The room was really nice - with a large bathroom; it was very clean and comfortable. Also, the free parking was a big help!!! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback during your recent stay! We pride ourselves on doing whatever we can to ensure all of our guests feel attended to, engaged and satisfied from the booking process to the checkout process! It seems like you were able to experience the genuine hospitality Charleston is known for! Thank you again for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from a week-long stay, and was pleased with several aspects of the inn. The location is ideal, as it's just on the 'cusp' of the historic district, so driving is unnecessary; everything is within walking distance (great restaurants, shopping, and the waterfront park). Free on-site parking was a HUGE plus, especially when we arrived much earlier than our check-in, but we were able to park our car, and wander the city. Plus, our room was ready a half hour before 4pm check-in. Our room (222) was a beautiful king-sized room, with a very spacious bathroom and LOTS of room on the vanity! The construction next door was an unfortunate detractor, as was the pool closure, but upon speaking with Maureen, the manager, our concerns were listened to, and addressed in a positive way. This was greatly appreciated! The daily afternoon reception with snacks (cheese, crackers, olives, and grapes) was wonderful, and again, Maureen, as well as the other staff, were very hospitable, chatting with guests and ensuring everyone's needs were being met. In the evening, the hotel was quiet, which was lovely. Overall, the King Charles Inn is a wonderful place to stay on a visit to historic Charleston!

Room Tip: Room 222 is a good distance away from the construction area, and the bathroom has a large vanity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcake_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
It was such a pleasure to meet you! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your trip to Charleston and had time to unwind and relax as well! Thank you for sharing your nice review with others! I hope you can visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent four nights at the hotel this past week and could not have been happier. We had never been to Charleston before and tried to pick a convenient location as we were not going to have a rental car. The rooms are clean, recently updated and comfortable. Note that by the desk was a four plug outlet, something that is often missing in hotel rooms. The wireless connection was excellent throughout the hotel including in the rooms. Our room looked out directly on the construction next door (we were given the option not to be in that location when checking in) and while this was never an issue for us, it is something to be aware of if you plan on spending time/sleeping in your room during the day.

During our stay we happened to meet the owners and the general manager in addition to the hotel staff. Everyone was nice, helpful and knowledgeable about the area, restaurants and destinations of interest.

This hotel punches way above its weight, mainly due to the staff and for this I give them an excellent rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barolobrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the King Charles Inn, your feedback is really appreciated! It brings me great joy to know you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We received excellent service from the time I called to make the reservation (even after we checked out). Words cannot express how wonderful the staff of King Charles Inn treated us; the hotel was also very clean and comfortable.

It is true that a hotel is being built right next to KCI, they usually start drilling around 8 am and stop around 5 pm. However, it may be possible to request a room on the other side of the hotel (away from the construction), if you plan to sleep in. When the construction started, we were up and moving about the hotel (the remainder of the day we were out touring/roaming about, by the time we returned to the hotel in the evening, the construction was over).

A pastry and coffee/tea is less than 5.00 (the mint tea, hot/ice tea is EXCELLENT!) I also had the fruit cup, which was delicious! The drinks during reception hour are 1.00 off (the Teatini is AWESOME). We also ventured over to Sticky Fingers (right next door), where they had drink specials (I will complete their review in few minutes :)

I believe that KCI is the best thing since gravy (the staff is sensational and the environment is energetic during the day and very comforting/relaxing in the evening). KCI is also one of very few hotels that offer free parking in the area (you can also leave your car parked after checkout, until 4 pm, just in case if you wanted to revisit a few places before leaving the city). We have considered KCI to be home away from home (they also made us feel like Queens during our stay), and when we visit again, KCI will be our choice! Thank you: Richard, Da'Quan, Benzenia, Kathleen, Beverly, Maureen, Taylor and Malcom, you guys are AWESOME!!! Peace and blessings!

Room Tip: There is construction on the right side of the hotel (while facing the front door). It did not bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I am thrilled to hear you were treated Royally--as you should be! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn and also recognizing our staff! It was a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our second stay here. The first was in January 2013 when it was a Best Western. Although we do not use or expect a lot of "service" when we stay at a hotel, everything here was very good. The evening gathering in the bar/restaurant with free cheese, crackers etc., is a nice touch. It was however, very cold on the night that we arrived (January 31st), when the temperature went down to about 15 degrees (Fahrenheit) overnight. We were on the second floor which is directly over the car parking area and the floor was very cold, (unbearably so in the tiled bathroom). The heat was on continuously and the room temperature could not reach a modest set point of 70 degrees. If the night will be cold -- avoid the second floor!

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor if it is very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for the nice review! I apologize for the cold weather in Charleston during your stay; I wish it would have been a better week for your visit. However, I hope you did enjoy your time in the Holy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing