We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Action”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to the Action”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The room was clean and everything worked. Unfortunately we didn't take advantage of some of the amenities, such as their evening reception. Instead we went out to experience the city. The room AC/heater was bothersome, cycling off and on fairly frequently, but never-the-less we slept well. The construction noise from across the street was a rude awakening. Fortunately we are early risers. The room seemed expensive for what we got but we were within walking distance to many of the city's attractions. The next time we visit the city, we would not wait for the last minute to book a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Charleston experience with others! Our super location, friendly staff and clean hotel is what we pride ourselves on every day! I apologize for the "construction" wake-up call but I am glad to hear you are up and out early enjoying our fine City! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    710
    177
    64
    40
See reviews for
596
1,359
81
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Circleville, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice for business. The staff has been extremely helpful and friendly. There is nearby construction but I did not hear it in my room. I have stayed in rooms 208, 210 and 212. I was gone by 7:30 a.m. Every morning so the construction noise was not an issue. I love this hotel. The beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are update and they have Keurig coffee makers in every room. You can bring your favorite K Cup and save some money!

Room Tip: Bring you favorite K Cup favors, each room has a Keurig. Rooms in the low 200's are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klutz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your loyalty! I appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again (and again!)
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna,Va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

A construction pile driver at 8 am awful noise left after one night Hotel has an awkward layout. S mall rooms. Avoid this hotel overpriced and noisy. Arrived at 4 pm and had to wait one hour. They hàve.notices on the rooms apologizing for the noise.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 313164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
I am sorry we did not meet or exceed your expectations. You are correct in noting there is construction on the corner next to the hotel. However, there are plenty of days there is no noise or impact to our hotel. It is unfortunate during your visit they started work early. I wish we had some type of control on their starting time, but it is beyond my control.
Your business is important to us and I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I was embarrassed that this was my choice for a hotel and that my friend and I paid over $400/night for our stay. Staff was not especially friendly - other than our bellman. I can forgive construction noise from next door which I understand is out of the hotels control, but our room was dark, cramped and the carpet was wet in spots upon arrival- unknown wet hotel carpet?! Gross. In fact it seems like the whole place needed to be recarpeted. Also the A/C is old and kept turning on and off every few minutes. Otherwise our room was clean- what I could see since it was so dark- and beds were comfy. Yes location is good but with so many options in downtown I would never stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ellis38103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I understand Charleston lodging can be very pricey especially March-April-May during our peak season so I can see how something less than perfect would impact your stay.I am quite concerned about the problems you mentioned during your visit. We have been newly renovated and basically nothing is very old; I certainly apologize for your less than pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Overall there is nothing outstanding about this hotel. The rooms were small, construction is going on next door and it was a little pricey for what it is.

The location was nice because we can walk to everything, but that wasn't enough to make me want to say at this hotel again.

We stayed at the Indigo last time and had free breakfast every morning and happy hour. The rooms were bigger and it was less expensive.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your candid review. I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Overall, I hope you enjoyed your trip to Charleston. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I generally use booking agents and find that their rates are comparable with what the hotel charges. Not for this one though!!! I would rate the King Charles as just "so so" for what I paid through an agent, but "terrific" for what it cost to book direct - a HUGE price difference! Take the trouble to call the hotel before making a reservation.......you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacQlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for sharing this wonderful tip with others! Booking on line thru a hotel website or calling the hotel directly will always ensure the best rate is given! We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last March and returned last week. They provide excellent accommodations. The hotel is located within walking distance of the historic district and there is free wifi and parking. Since last year, there is a new lounge area where one can relax in front of a fireplace and also a new lounge area where breakfast is served. The rooms are spotless and well decorated. There is construction going next store but that isn't a problem since one is usually out and about during the day. I plan to return again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Feebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for making the excellent decision to return to the King Charles Inn! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty! I am thrilled to hear you are pleased with our newly renovated Upper Lobby and BREW Pub & Café! Thank you again for the nice review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,745 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing