We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and reliable”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the King Charles Inn in June 2014 and were pleasantly surprised. We would definitely stay there again. The rooms were very clean, service was tip top. There was a notein the room to apologize in advance for nearby construction, but we never noticed any of it.

The hotel has a great location, as King Street and the southern end of the peninsula are all walkable. We skipped the in-hotel breakfast as there are plenty less of great options in the city (we visited "Another Broken Egg" on South Market and the nearby "Whisk" just south of the hotel on Meeting Street.) Beds were very comfortable and we slept well.

Positive:
+ On-site parking, including until 4pm on the day of checkout
+ Great design and service. Very clean (exception below)
+ Centrally located

Negative:
- AC in common areas was FREEZING
- NOT a boutique hotel, furniture, soaps etc. were good quality, but very much chain hotel. It is, after all, a Best Western
- Slight amounts of mold in corners of shower roof and rust on shower head. But in all fairness, this can be expected in the humid South, even in many private homes.

Room Tip: We liked room 231. At first we were apprehensive about room 231, which was almost street level to Ha...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We appreciate you sharing your Charleston experience with others. Thank you for choosing our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,805)
There are newer reviews for King Charles Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,405 - 1,411 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This boutique hotel has great appointments and is in the heart of Charleston (Meeting Street) close to restaurants, shops on King and the Market.

The rooms are appointed very well but small. We upgraded to a balcony room that was not worth it, it looked out over their parking lot and had 2 rooms windows looking right at us. Not comfortable. Prices were high but that is about right for where the hotel was.

The staff was very pleasant, the doorman were very courteous and we there to help with anything.

Room Tip: all the rooms are ok, but some look out over construction on the right side of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atila70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your hotel experience with others. I hope you enjoyed your Charleston trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Best value I found after considerable research. Our room was small, but the bathroom was fairly large and the balcony was outstanding. Free parking in that location was another plus. All the major visitor destinations - as well as the best restaurants and shops - were an easy walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaJVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We appreciate the positive comments and especially pointing out our great location in downtown Charleston! If your future travels include Charleston, we hope you will be staying with us again! We look forward to another opportunity to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The King Charles Inn is a wonderful hotel, very conveniently located for walking to many of the interesting and historic sights in Charleston. The hotel staff was warm, courteous, and very knowledgeable. The room was beautifully decorated, clean, and spacious. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

What a fantastic review!! We realize there are many hotel options in Charleston so we thank you for selecting the King Charles Inn! We appreciate you telling others about your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at this hotel. Very convenient to walk out the front door and explore downtown Charleston. The room was nice and quite especially since construction for a new hotel was just outside our window, but we never heard a thing! Had breakfast in the hotel restaurant twice and both times were excellent in food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the King Charles Inn! Your feedback means a lot to us! I will certainly share your compliments with my staff. Thank you again and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

There is not one negative comment we can make about this hotel. It is spectacularly clean. The staff is extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The location is within walking distance to many of Charleston's attractions and restaurants. A perk is the free covered parking.
Other recent reviewers have commented about noise from the construction site next door. Perhaps it was due to the type of work being performed, but during our recent stay, we did not encounter any disturbing noise; in fact, our room was one of the quietest hotel rooms we've ever had.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1066oak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When we first arrived we were given an early check in (noon) which was terrific because of the traumatic flight experience on AA (don't ask?!!). In any event we were met by a friendly staff member-in-training ("Alex") who walked us to room 419. It was quite small and overlooked the construction site next door. When we expressed concern Alex phoned the front desk and had us moved to room 330 which was fabulous!! Kudos to Alex for making sure we were comfortable and ensuring we were delighted. Later that first stay we went down to the pool area and happy hour and to our delight were met by Kenneth (a new employee), Taylor the seasoned bartender and Maureen the EXCELLENT GM (seriously). All three were delightful and made us happy we'd chosen the King Charles Inn. Kenneth was very solicitous without being overbearing, Taylor remembered our drink orders each day as we came in (5 day stay) and Maureen was a source of great local points-of-interest and restaurants - she is a gem and we are so glad that we took her advice to 1) ear at Cru, Poogan's Porch, and High Cotton (among others); 2) went over to James Island to the Angel Oak, Folley Beach, and the tea plantation, and 3) rented bikes and rode to Sullivan Island and Shem Creek - it was a bit rugged coming back, but a wonderful way to take in the local sights at a slower pace.

When sharing our experiences with friends and family we will definitely recommend the King Charles Inn in large part because of the genuine care and superior customer service provided by Maureen, Taylor, and Kenneth. Way to go!!

Mel and Donna from Dallas

Room Tip: Select the third floor NOT the fourth (awkward to get to and overlooking construction), near the poo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna75214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

You are so kind! Thank you for the nice compliments! We pride ourselves on doing whatever we can to ensure all of our guests feel attended to, engaged and accommodated from the moment they arrive until their departure. It seems you were able to experience the King Charles Inn's hospitality at its best! Nice meeting you and I hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,209 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,772 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £148 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing