We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay when in Historic Charleston”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Must Stay when in Historic Charleston”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I cannot say enough about the King Charles Inn. The rooms are clean. Comfortable bed and pillows. Very spacious bathroom and awesome thick towels. Location is perfect as you can park free in their parking garage and walk to the market, waterfront, restaurants, clubs, Rainbow Row and Battery Park. If you don't want to walk, the trolley pick up is right across the street. Very friendly and helpful staff. We loved Happy hour by the pool and meeting the Manager and Assistant Manager (never had that experience before when lodging). I am probably leaving some things out, but this is a must stay when in the area. Stayed here 2 times and looking forward to coming back.
The Mussers (Lanc, PA)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
It was a pleasure meeting you! The Evening Reception is my favorite part of the day! It allows me to mingle with the guests, assist with tour and restaurants and solicit feedback about the hotel! Thank you for allowing us to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    732
    184
    67
    41
See reviews for
621
1,410
83
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were very pleased with both the location of the King Charles and the quality of our experience. Our third floor room faced a quiet side street, so construction noise not a problem. We had a queen room and the bed was covered with lovely pillows and linens, but the room was teeny tiny - just barely enough room to walk around the bed. The room was furnished nicely so you felt kind of tucked up in an attic room somewhere, although I noticed the King rooms were quite roomy. The room safe is enormous, you can actually fit a full laptop plus lots of other stuff inside. There's free parking - awesome, you're a stroll away from shops, restaurants, the market and the park, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool is a nice little dip pool and we had a relaxing breakfast in the poolside patio area lulled by a splashing fountain. I must agree with the comment that the common areas were FREEZING - I could barely walk through them let alone sit and relax in one of the nicely appointed conversation areas. We are not polar bears - we get sick when the air is ridiculously cold! Other than that...a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely compliments! I will certainly follow-up on your hallway comment with my Chief Engineer. I appreciate your feedback. Have a great day and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

There was a safe in the room for my laptop, and the bathroom was in wonderful order (you'll need it after those muggy hot days walking around the city!). It is right down the street from some of Charleston's best shopping and iconic landmarks.

This hotel tried very hard to give off a posh atmosphere, and for the most part succeeded. However, there are a few things you may notice:

-If you have trouble with stairs: the lobby has a staircase into the rest of the hotel. I prefer to carry my own bags, and it was a little intimidating.

-The pool is not large enough to swim laps in. In fact, it's too small to hold more than a few people comfortably at a time!

-No hotel bathrobes for flouncing to and from said pool! Be sure to pack your cover up :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Charleston! I do apologize for the lack of communication regarding the hotel layout. You do not have to take the stairs to reach the lobby as there is an elevator behind the Front Desk area and I am sorry if this was not explained to you. I hope this experience does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the King Charles Inn in June 2014 and were pleasantly surprised. We would definitely stay there again. The rooms were very clean, service was tip top. There was a notein the room to apologize in advance for nearby construction, but we never noticed any of it.

The hotel has a great location, as King Street and the southern end of the peninsula are all walkable. We skipped the in-hotel breakfast as there are plenty less of great options in the city (we visited "Another Broken Egg" on South Market and the nearby "Whisk" just south of the hotel on Meeting Street.) Beds were very comfortable and we slept well.

Positive:
+ On-site parking, including until 4pm on the day of checkout
+ Great design and service. Very clean (exception below)
+ Centrally located

Negative:
- AC in common areas was FREEZING
- NOT a boutique hotel, furniture, soaps etc. were good quality, but very much chain hotel. It is, after all, a Best Western
- Slight amounts of mold in corners of shower roof and rust on shower head. But in all fairness, this can be expected in the humid South, even in many private homes.

Room Tip: We liked room 231. At first we were apprehensive about room 231, which was almost street level to Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciate you sharing your Charleston experience with others. Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This boutique hotel has great appointments and is in the heart of Charleston (Meeting Street) close to restaurants, shops on King and the Market.

The rooms are appointed very well but small. We upgraded to a balcony room that was not worth it, it looked out over their parking lot and had 2 rooms windows looking right at us. Not comfortable. Prices were high but that is about right for where the hotel was.

The staff was very pleasant, the doorman were very courteous and we there to help with anything.

Room Tip: all the rooms are ok, but some look out over construction on the right side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atila70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your hotel experience with others. I hope you enjoyed your Charleston trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Best value I found after considerable research. Our room was small, but the bathroom was fairly large and the balcony was outstanding. Free parking in that location was another plus. All the major visitor destinations - as well as the best restaurants and shops - were an easy walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaJVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We appreciate the positive comments and especially pointing out our great location in downtown Charleston! If your future travels include Charleston, we hope you will be staying with us again! We look forward to another opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The King Charles Inn is a wonderful hotel, very conveniently located for walking to many of the interesting and historic sights in Charleston. The hotel staff was warm, courteous, and very knowledgeable. The room was beautifully decorated, clean, and spacious. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a fantastic review!! We realize there are many hotel options in Charleston so we thank you for selecting the King Charles Inn! We appreciate you telling others about your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
952 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing