We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel in the heart of historic Charleston. Newly-renovated, CLEAN, comfortable, reasonably priced, friendly service, excellent location, FREE parking and plentiful (including overflow lot across the street). Room was a good size with pleasant decor, refrigerator, safe. The bathroom was roomy, clean with a magnifying mirror at the sink, thick towels, tastefully decorated. The lobby with bar was also nicely decorated and nice patio and pool area. The hotel still plans to update hallways and re-pave parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJDNorthernVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It is a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    711
    177
    64
    40
See reviews for
596
1,359
81
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

We took our two young kids for a week vacation to this hotel and can't say enough about this hotel. Parking was never an issue since the hotel provided it (which is very helpful given the downtown location). The pool was great after a hot day walking around doing the tourist stuff. It gave the kids something to look forward to. The room was a bit small but very clean and nicely decorated. If you want to be downtown near all the shops and restaurants this is the best value!! I will definately be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvl-hppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2009
WOW! I cannot thank you enough for the positive tripadvisor review! When the kids are happy...it makes for a great vacation! The pool, breakfast and parking sure come in handy when staying in a downtown hotel. I hope you can visit us again in the future! Have an awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Our 4th floor room was small and difficult to get to due to odd elevator system and maze like corridors. Room was down at the heels and the bathroom faucet only produced hot water. It was quiet and location was good, but there are many options offered in Charleston and this isn't a good one.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHDUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2009
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the King Charles Inn. I sincerely apologize for the lack of cold water in your room and will check on this immediately. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. I am also sorry you did not like the layout of the hotel. We do however have many guests who enjoy the privacy and the seperate entrance to the 4th floor. If you decide to return in the future, I would like to offer you a 2nd or 3rd floor room that would better suit your needs. I am sure you will find our newly renovated rooms amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. The location is fantastic. After parking our car in the free parking lot, we did not need it again until we left three days later as we were within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, multitudes of shopping, several museums and all of the historical sites we wanted to visit. The staff was very helpful. When we stopped by to see whether we could check in early, we were informed that our room would be ready soon and that they would call us on our cell to let us know when our room was ready. The room was on the small side, but was very comfortable, clean, quiet. It appeared to be recently updated and we loved the flat screen tv.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayakUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

Only spent two nights, three days but it was the right choice. We used the 'Net and searched back through two or three sites and I kept coming back to the King Charles. It is on Meeting Street, which turns out to be quite busy. But it does keep you close to the Old City and everything there. Great bed! Large bathroom...we did have an interior room overlooking the courtyard parking down below, but other than that, we'd certainly stay there again when we return to Charleston. And we will return to Charleston.
Thanks to all;

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tleff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2009
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about the wonderful King Charles Inn! We sincerely appreciate you sharing "the best kept secret" on Meeting Street! Where else can you find a great location plus free parking! Thank you again and I hope you can return in the near future! Have a super day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

The King Charles is a wonderful hotel in a great location. From the moment we pulled in, the service was exceptional. The property is lovely and well-maintained, and the room had every amenity we could ask for. Be aware that the room was very quiet at night, but there was some street noise as the city came to life in the morning. We appreciated the two computers available free to the guests, the tray of cheese and crackers at Happy Hour and the tray of cookies later in the evening, free parking (one of the only hotels in the historic area to offer free parking), and free use of the beautiful fitness center next door. The terrace next to the pool was a great place to read the newspaper with a cup of coffee or have their affordable breakfast. All in all, we had a great time and would love to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2009
What a way to start your day...enjoying a cup of freshly brewed coffee on the Terrace! I am so glad to hear your enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn. Thank you for sharing your great experience with others! I hope you will be able to return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

We've stayed at the King Charles Inn on numerous occasions and discovered that the experience has improved steadily over the years, including our most recent visit in early May. The staff was attentive, hospitable, helpful and combined with the remodeled and upgraded rooms, the experience was excellent. The hotel offers a reasonable priced accommodation in the heart of the historic district. Combined with the quality of its service, the King Charles' location and comfort makes it a fine choice for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harngtngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 16 May 2009
I want to personally thank you for returning to the King Charles Inn! I am delighted you continue to enjoy all we have to offer! Thank you again for sharing your comments on TRipAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing