We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking forward to going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

What a wonderful find. The staff was so wonderful, and they all would help you outside of their assigned positions, real team players. The manager even offered to drive us somewhere rather than us having to pay for a cab. Happy hour was a great opportunity to mingle with the manager, and the guests. The room was lovely and very clean.
It was great to walk out the door and explore. We didn't use our car for three days. The staff would make arrangements for our tours and great restaurants.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxborotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
WOW! What a wonderful review! Thank you again for the nice comments regarding the King Charles Inn! I am so thrilled your enjoyed your stay and we were able to assist you in making it successful! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    710
    177
    64
    40
See reviews for
596
1,359
81
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Currently staying in the most expensive suite available and two housekeeping problems in two days. The first day we checked in we went to the room only to find it not cleaned. We had to drop luggage and go out to wait for room to be cleaned. The next day we go out for the day returning at 4pm only to find that the room had not been cleaned. Tomorrow, we are here for our third day so hold your breathe on whether the room is cleaned. Front desk informed about both non-cleaning problems. Not a way to run any housing establishment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indianahlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, when you post on TripAdvisor your comments are posted a day later. I called your room today but you had already checked out. I am sorry I missed you and will try your home telephone. I am not only disappointed but embarrased regarding your comment. I will follow-up with the Housekeeping Manager and her team. Once again, I do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This is a nice hotel, but I don't think it deserves to be in the same postcode as some of the praise on here.

We all know Tripadvisor users are the smartest, wisest and best-looking people you'll ever meet, but I booked this hotel on the strength of its rating here - and was a bit disappointed.

Plus points include the free parking, but this, we were told, means you have to pay for breakfast. Twisted logic I thought. The staff were very helpful, particularly the lovely Cat/Kat on reception.

However, access to our room was available via a lift in a dark corner of the hotel car park. The top-floor room overlooked the same car park. There's a balcony that you can enjoy this metallic vista on, but you share it with everyone on your level - and we couldn't get on it. The fridge in our room buzzed so loudly I had to unplug it in the dead of night.

Pleasant, clean hotel, but at the price of £110/$160+ a night, hardly outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I appreciate your feedback. Thank you also for the kind mention of Cat our Front Desk Associate! I also apologize for the refrigerator humming, I will have Maintenance repair at once. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, ME
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Bengiena was especially kind and accomodating to our needs for our young children.
I can't think of anything negative about our stay at the King Charles Inn for 3 nights. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieBrunswick_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment about Bengiena! I will certainly commend her at our next All Employee Meeting in front of her peers! The King Charles Inn employees take such great pride in the hotel! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband and I only had 1 night to stay in Charleston and wanted something nice but didn't want to spend a fortune. I booked a room at another hotel but got an email from the King Charles Inn that offered some freebies and decided to take it. I cancelled the other hotel and booked this hotel and glad we did. It was very clean, and the staff were very friendly. The valet, an older gentleman whose name I cannot remember, was very nice with good recommendations. We were offered a choice of 3 freebies and took the carriage tour which we really enjoyed. The parking was free and they allowed us to park before our room was available. Also included was a nice breakfast the next morning. It probably wasn't as nice as the original hotel but with the free offers we saved about $70 which made the stay VERY reasonable...a good value for the money. The rooms were roomy, bathrooms were beautiful and recently done. Our view was of the parking garage but we weren't in the room much anyway so that was ok.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelors15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Packages are always a great value; I am so glad you were able to take advantage of this super deal! We hope you will be able to return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

What more can you ask for..this was my 3rd time at the King Charles..the 1st two w/my husband, last week w/my best friend. It's such a wonderful location, and each time we go..the updates just make it better and better. The front desk is very helpful and friendly w/suggestions..you can make your reservation w/confidence.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigicharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
WOW! Thanks for being a repeat guest! Your business is so important to us. I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and let others know your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I read great things about this hotel and location and was not disappointed. Our room was clean and very nice, granite, marble shower, flat screen, nice cozy king size bed, (I will note that I specifically asked for an updated room when I booked because I had had read that some might still need to be remodeled.) The location is ideal, right in downtown, close to the market, great shopping and restaurants. We walked everywhere.
We had breakfast one morning in the hotel and the staff in the "restaurant", (It was more a buffet but they were helpful to assist with anything and the food was good,) were really friendly.
The front desk people were okay but not super friendly or extremely customer service driven as far as I could tell. There were a few very minor things that they could have been done better, (And they didn't give me my cookies which I kept forgetting to ask for! ;-)) But, all in all, everything was great and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm_stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay! We appreciate your candid feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,746 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing