We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

This hotel is in a great location for the price. It is right on Meeting Street which is the center of it all in the historic area. We were within walking distance to all of the histroical sites (we only took the car out of the parking lot once and it was to go to the outlet mall in N.Charleston)...a block away from the local grocery store (there is a mini-fridge in the room). The in-room safe was a great addition as it allowed us some sanity while we were out an about each day. Although the pool isn't the biggest, it serves its purpose! Especially on the hot and humid Charleston summer days. Breakfast is not included and is kind of pricy, however it was pretty good. We stayed in a queen room and it was cozy. The bath area could have been a bit bigger but it served its purpose. Overall we felt it was a nice room for what we were paying (checked in on a Sunday and checked out Thursday)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amykat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2010
Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with others! Have a great day and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,689
    712
    177
    64
    40
See reviews for
596
1,360
81
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Rooms where very clean. great location, walked to everything downtown. free parking! They do have a breakfast buffet for $9.99 but didn't bother to try it. You can just walk across the st and find stuff way cheaper.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank brokenxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

The hotel is located to great resturants and the market. It is beautifully decorated with big rooms and great beds. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. The pool area was a great spot to relax and cool off . My friends and I loved everything about this Charleston jewel. A great resturant for breakfast was just a couple of blocks away Sweetwater Cafe. The omelets were wonderful!. The Magnolia, Jestines and Mercato were all awesome. The price,location,staff and wonderful rooms make this a must when your in Charleston. Will definitily stay again. Made our weekend the best!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler35904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
I am so thrilled you enjoyed your getaway in Charleston! The King Charles Inn location cannot be beat as we are only steps away from all the great restaurants, historic downtown area and shopping! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Our stay was exceptional. We arrived early and were greeted at the front desk with enthusiasm. Our room wasn't ready which was fine we were just going exploring and just parked at the hotel. It is the perfect location to everything downtown. The front desk attendant called when the room was ready and we went back and cooled off for a while before we headed back out again. The room was beautiful and the beds were extremely comfortable. Everyone was extremely friendly from the General Manager, front desk staff, to the bartender. It's a small quaint hotel with beautiful updated rooms and fabulous location. We loved our stay and would definately stay again. Thank you King Charles.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GetawayCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Being a tourist in your own town sounds like a great escape! You get to enjoy the Market area, the wonderful shopping and unique restaurants all within steps of the King Charles Inn! Thank you again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We are in Charleston quite often and have stayed at many Inns and B&Bs.

This was our 3rd stay at King Charles Inn in Charleston. Each time we were made to feel welcome and staff is eager to please. The rooms have been spacious, bright and clean.
The location is great...we walk everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cortazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Repeat guests... Music to my ears! We love when guests return time and time again to not only enjoy the beauty of Charleston but also experience the pleasant stay at the King Charles Inn. Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Parking is rather difficult at check in time so get there either before or an hour or so after to avoid the complications. If you go through the parking garage and there isn't a space you will have to go through the lot and back through a series of one way streets to pass through it again. My mother thought that the jazz music by the pool was a little loud, but I feel certain they would have turned it down had we asked. Everyone was very polite and we would certainly stay again. Our view was over the parking lot, but we found this to be the quietest part of the hotel so we liked it. Excellent bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlmerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
Thank you for the wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you can return again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Hope that you find "Kat" at the front desk of the Best Western King Charles Inn in Charleston when you go to check in - the best, friendliest, most helpful service my daughterd and I have experienced in all our travels, all over the world!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2010
I will certainly praise Kat and thank her for taking such good care of you! Thank you for the kind words! The mission at the King Charles Inn is to provide the highest quality of customer care every day, every stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing