We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly good value!”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly good value!”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We found this hotel via a guidebook, en route to Charleston. We called three hotels to check prices and availability for two nights, beginning about two hours from our call. This was the third hotel we called and they won the business thru the courtesy and enthusiasm of their front desk person. Warmth extended once we arrived.

The room was spacious, with two double beds and beautiful decor. Tasteful, clean, well-appointed. Loved the curtains, the carpet, the large bath, the shower, and the very comfortable beds and pillows. Lots of outlets - easily could work in the room if needed. Appears to have been recently renovated - with style!

Front desk clerks, bartender and housekeeping staff were all friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Free parking in downtown Charleston was a bonus!

Perfect location to walk around historic district and explore sights, restaurants, and shops.

I would definitely return there for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara9286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,705
    717
    177
    65
    40
See reviews for
601
1,371
81
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My wife and I recently celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary with an overnight stay at the King Charles Inn. Our stay was perfect as we were treated like royalty, which I guess is appropriate and true to the King Charles name. We were greeted with southern charm and welcomed as their guest from the moment we arrived at the front door. We were wished a happy anniversary as soon as we identified ourselves at the front desk and asked if there was anything we wanted special for our stay. While they did have renovation underway, it appeared to be well managed as everything was clean and quiet and while in the hotel, we were never aware of the renovation activities. Upon arriving in our room, we were welcomed with another surprise. On the desk was a note wishing us a happy anniversary along with a beverage and treats for later(a very nice touch). The room was clean and well decorated, the bed, bedding and pillows were top notch and the temperture in the room was perfect for the day. The managers reception was very enjoyalbe with a nice selection of cheese, crackers and fruit to go along with our wine. We also had an enjoyable conversation with the bartender. The onsite parking was very convenient, the location is ideal and our short walk to dinner was very enjoyable. We both look forward to returning again in the future and we have already told many of our friends about our stay and recommended they spend a night or weekend soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1for1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens,New York.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed for a few days over New Year.The Front Desk staff were so helpful,friendly and efficient.They found us a last minute booking for a restaurant on New Year's Eve and helped us with our endless questions and requests.Their advice was invaluable.They made our vacation.The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are comfortable and well maintained.I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonpop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding our staff! We are so happy you enjoyed your New Years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The hotel is convenient, with free parking in the heart of Charleston. The staff makes every effort to be helpful. No problems with room, check-in, check out or other fundamentals. All went smoothly and as planned.

There were some drawbacks, however. The hotel is a peculiar box-y structure around the sunken parking lot, with no real lobby and no intuitive sense of how to get from one part to another. The hike to our room was around three sides of this city block. The staff member with our suitcases disappeared after telling us to take the elevator. He took a shortcut through the parking to a more convenient elevator, which would have saved time if he had allowed us to follow him. Our roundabout hike was not made easier by several rooms along the corridors being "under construction" with construction personnel using the narrow corridor space.

The "low country" breakfast was reasonably priced, but we did not particularly like the selection of food choices. The omni-presence of the staff was, in this case, something of a problem. Even though all aspects of the breakfast were self-service and self-evident, a staff member appeared at our table several times to ask if everything was all right. She was obviously hoping for a tip, although no individual service had been provided.

One other thought: Possibly I am the only one who reacts negatively when the manager of a facility makes the effort (which is in many ways commendable) to respond to each review on Trip Advisor. The value of Trip Advisor is that it is a traveler-to-traveler network. This hotel, as most do, offered a form on which to rate our visit for management. If there are serious problems, misunderstandings or criticisms raised in a review that need to be corrected, I think it is great that the management of the hotel reads these reviews and takes action. On the other hand, responding to each review with a generic message adds no value to the Trip Advisor model and has, in my mind, the same quality of unsolicited intimacy with clients that the repeated breakfast table visits had.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for your valued feedback! I appreciate your comments and wanted to let you know our staff takes great pride in providing the highest quality of customer service. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay and return again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Excellent location! Stayed for three nights on the 2nd floor from December 20th through the 23rd. Very convenient to the historic district and shopping on King St. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable and cozy. I loved the pillows. Staff was helpful and friendly. The free parking was a huge plus and we never even used the car during our stay. The free wifi worked well. Chocolate chip cookies before bed were nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueOceanJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep on our new Simmons beautyrest bedding! Thank you for sharing your great stay on TRipAdvisor! We hope you can visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

If You Like Listening To Chipping Hammers And Construction Workers Throwing Debris Off A Third Story Roof Into A Metal Dumpster From 9:00 AM TO 5:50 PM To Be A Fun Experience Then I Highly Recommend This Hotel. The Hotel Staff Told Us That There Was "NOTHING" That They Could Do About It And Only Discounted One Night From $115 To $80...Also Check Out The CANCELLATION POLICY When You Book A Room Because You Will PAY For The Room Even If You Decide To Leave.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
I sincerely apologize for the noise during construction. We have alerted our guests with a note on our website as well as a large poster at our Front Desk lobby noting there will be noise during the hours of 9-5pm. We have completed Phase I and are now painting (quietly) and Phase II will be complete next week. Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

This was our 3rd stay at the King Charles, the recently renovated rooms are lovely and the bathrooms WOW!, large with granite furniture cabinets, very elegantly done. Extremely Comfortable beds. The location is centrally located to historic district, easy walk to shops, food, activities. Hotel staff was awesome and helpful! The lounge upstairs serves coffee and mixed drinks in the evening, it was pretty packed each nite. I recommend this hotel highly, we will definitely be returning! I booked some of the package deals for members of the wedding party, no problems at all! Compared to the package i booked at the Andrew Pinckney Inn, which they messed up and then argued with me, refusing to honor it!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agjGreenville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
What a nice review! Thank you for taking time to share! I am thrilled your wedding guests enjoyed not only Charleston but the King Charles Inn as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing