We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel because of SOME of the staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Jewel because of SOME of the staff.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is cute and located in a great safe area. The rates are reasonable. The rooms are super clean, and a lot of care goes into this property. SOME of the staff are outstanding! I would have given this hotel 5 stars but a few of the staff really angered me during my stay.

1. We were checked in by a young man named Scott. He was quick to get us checked in even though he was working alone with a long line of people. Talk about multi tasking. He was able to check in two at a time using both computers at the front desk. The phone was ringing like crazy through all this and he never lost his cool or composure. He stated he has been in the hotel business for over 10 years, and his experience shows in his professionalism. He was very knowledgeable about the area even though he has lived in Charleston a very short time. Scott was always willing to help us, always greeted us by name and always had a smile on his face.

2. We went to the front desk around 10pm the same night we checked in to ask for some directions. The over night worker had apparently come in early and was hunched over the front counter playing on his personal lap top. Scott was having to work around this guy who would not move. I found this to be rude and unprofessional. I found out his name is Aaron. When we came back in around 1am Aaron was watching a loud movie on his computer and made out like it was a problem to stop his movie to help us by making a key to our room that we locked inside of it. This Aaron needs a lesson in people skills and in personal grooming and hygiene.

3. The breakfast hostess Cheryl was very polite and always smiling. Such a nice treat to have someone at 6am smiling and happy to see us and welcome us into the breakfast room. She was great with our kids.

4. On our way out of our room to go check out, we saw the guy in charge of housekeeping berating a poor housekeeper over the coals for something she missed in a room the day before. He needs a lesson in how to manage and talk to people. A conversation like that should have taken place in private and with less yelling at a woman 20 years older than him.

5. The lady that was there for check out, Jana, was a treat and acted like she hated to see us leave the hotel.

6. It is hard to make a left hand turn out of this hotel during rush hour traffic but that is to be expected in a metro area.

All in all it is a great property with a pretty great staff. I would have given it 5 stars instead of 4 if it had not been for those 2 people on the staff that we encountered that could use a couple of lessons in people skills etc..... I truly hope the management knows what jewels they have in the staff that do know how to be professional and exude excellent customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their review of our property. We place a high premium on guest feedback as it allows us to focus our efforts on those issues that are most important to our guests.

I am sorry that this guests stay was made less than perfect by the actions of one associate. I do, however, appreciate this information being brought to my attention so that we can reinforce that individuals training.

Again, thank you for your comments as well as for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    371
    124
    64
    46
See reviews for
405
430
59
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I just spent the night there. The room has everything you expect from, comfy bed, clean. The location is okay, it's not that close to the city thought so the only motivation to go there is the price.
We slept well, until some couple fooling around woke us up at 5am... That's how we realized that the room was really not soondproof and it made me think that it could be hell in high season when you have 5 rooms around you and 6 above... My advise: bring earplugs just in case.
Breakfast was crowded and early (from 6 to 9am) but good (2 waffle machines yey!).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nebulette_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback as it assists us in our efforts to improve our operation.

I am sorry that this guest's stay was made less than perfect by the noisy actions of another guest. Our goal is to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest sevice. As we share these reviews with our associates, I am sure they will be happy to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments as well as for choosing to visit with us. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

great place to stay near Charleston, but without Charleston prices. We were pleased to be given some information and maps during our breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandgbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to post their review as well as for choosing to visit with us. We always appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to focus our efforts on those areas our guests feel are important.

Our goal is to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest service. In the case of this guest, it appears we came close to achieving that goal. As we share these comments with our staff, I am sure they will be happy to read that their hard was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kagawong, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Excell ent hotel. clean, friendly staff. Good breakfast but it would have been even better if it stayed open a bit later than 9 a.m.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, as it allows us to constantly improve our operation while directing our efforts towards what's most important, the impact upon our guests.

It is one of our goals to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest service. It appears, in this case, that we came close to achieving this goal. As we share these reviews with our associates, I am sure they will be happy to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a clean hotel and great price. The pool area is beautiful; feels like the tropisa with the lush landscaping.

Room Tip: Off the main street, so is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammy0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, as it allows us to constantly improve our operation while directing our efforts towards what's most important, the impact upon our guests.

It is one of our goals to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest service. It appears, in this case, that we came close to achieving this goal. As we share these reviews with our associates, I am sure they will be happy to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, NC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We always enjoy staying at the Sweetgrass. We visit our daughter who is in school in Charleston. We always have our little dog with us , so the pet-friendly option is a necessity. Everyone is helpful and thorough to address any issues, which rarely come up. The staff is always hospitable and willing to answer any questions about the surrounding area. We especially enjoy the grounds which are always maintained.

Room Tip: With a pet, choose a first-floor room for the convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAL604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, as it allows us to constantly improve our operation while directing our efforts towards what's most important, the impact upon our guests.

It is one of our goals to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest service. It appears, in this case, that we came close to achieving this goal. As we share these reviews with our associates, I am sure they will be happy to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights and wanted to stay longer! This is a very well landscaped and decorated hotel with a super location to food and shopping-walking distance-at a very affordable rate. I always do plenty of research before booking a hotel. This one was as promised-a gem. A must is walking over to the barbecue restaurant a block away for super food and ambience at a low price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mac600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, as it allows us to constantly improve our operation while directing our efforts towards what's most important, the impact upon our guests.

It is one of our goals to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest service. It appears, in this case, that we came close to achieving this goal. As we share these reviews with our associates, I am sure they will be happy to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 61 in Charleston
235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing