We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent Best Western”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stay at Best Westerns more frequently than any other chain because of the great service and clean comfortable conditions, but the Sweetgrass Inn in Charleston, SC is exceptional. From arrival at check-in until check-out the service is very efficient, courteous and helpful. The room was very clean , comfortable and quiet. The attendant at breakfast provided service above and beyond normal -it reminded us of being on a cruise ship! The location is outside the downtown, but within easy access. I would definitely stay there again if I return to Charleston, and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear unit away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browndog649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Browndog649,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent visit. We really appreciate the feedback we get from forums such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am sure my staff will be delighted as well with the comparison to a cruise ship's level of service. We do strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    366
    121
    63
    46
See reviews for
397
420
58
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I was new to Charleston and needed a room to act as a base-camp to look for an apartment. The provided wireless internet was most helpful and I had no problems.
I especially appreciated the microwave and refrigerator in the room. My stay was for 3 nights and everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN_SWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear John_SWilmington,

First and foremost, welcome to the neighborhood! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests through forums such as this one.

I was very excited to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We do share these comments with our staff; I am certain they will be delighted to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks so much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a spacious and very clean room. Breakfast is included...a good variety of breakfast foods both hot and cold. The staff is very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The location is on the outskirts of Charleston......you will need a car to get around Charleston and environs if you choose to stay here. The location is accessible to highways that go into downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Viajera825,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We do share these reviews with our staff; I am certain that they will be delighted to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
129 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Room was very clean & spacious. Breakfast included in cost & was plentiful. Only drawback, thought it was closer to downtown. Took approx. 15 mins. to get there. Would still plan a return stay, No noise from adjacent rooms.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor, convenient to unload vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Sea4Me2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and found our rooms to be spacious.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay. It was close to the old area of Charleston, the interstate, and the plantations. Accommodations were comfortable and adequate. Staff helpful. We would return to this Best Western in the future and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHERINE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Katherine K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your observations. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. As we share these reviews with our staff, I am sure they will be delighted as well to know their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Clean room with micro and fridge.Very comfy beds.Lovely pool which we didn't get to enjoy because of rainy weather. The breakfast was very good with not only waffles but blueberry waffles! Was good with sliced banana.Also had cereals,yogurt, danishes,etc.,and chocolate milk which I haven't enjoyed in a long time. Was on a busy street and had to turn right and u turn at times,but it worked. Enjoyed going to the thrift shops on the same street.Short drive to downtown.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalvarezyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Kalvarezyates,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate the feedback we receive through forums such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. I only wish the weather could have been better so you could have experienced the pool as well.

Again, thank you so much for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hockessin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

All I have to say is one word....horrible. We recently came in to Charleston for a 4 night stay from April 3-7th. We were given "the last 2 rooms" with our reservation. Our non smoking room reeked of smoke, and the other room smelled of Clorox bleach. The rooms were not even a 1 star in my opinion. The management sent up a nice man carrying an aerosol can of something to spray to mask the smell. We nicely thanked him but turned him away. The bathrooms were so pathetic. The management could not move us and we spent the next 2 hours searching online for anything available at another hotel. We were forced to sleep in this crummy hotel one night before checking out. I feel we should have been given some kind of compensation for the aggravation and inconvenience but nothing from management. We have stayed at many hotels in our lives but this was horrendous!
Luckily we were able to stay in a nice accommodation in Mount Pleasant for the rest of our stay.
We found the Sweetgrass on Tripadvisor. We usually have good luck but not this time....

Room Tip: Be forwarned, don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamacinmecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Jamacinmecrazy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our property. We certainly appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. We strive to insure that every guest enjoys not only their visit to Charleston, but their stay with us as well. Apparently, in your case, we fell short of our goal. Rest assured, your review will be used as a training tool to help our staff improve their efforts.

Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing