We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable, but the room had a musty, damp odor. Breakfast was good with a few extras like blueberry waffles. A helpful staff member in the breakfast room assisted with breakfast and provided Charleston brochures. The check in person outlined on a small map the location of our room, but incorrectly told me that there was no parking on that side of the building. Luckily before we unloaded the car, we found that we could park right outside our room. The check out person was very pleasant. Convenient location to downtown Charleston and far better pricing than the downtown hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 40404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear 40404,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry that you were less then totally satisfied with your recent visit. Our goal is to insure that all of our guests enjoy not only their visit to Charleston, but their stay with us as well. I have directed our Property Operations Manager to inspect all rooms for the damp, musty smell you noted. When found, it will be corrected.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    352
    116
    62
    43
See reviews for
381
400
56
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced very close to Charleston, SC. You will need a car, but it only takes about 10 minutes to drive into the downtown Charleston area. The staff was great, the breakfast satisfying (great waffles), and a good bargain.The rooms, though a bit dated were spotless and always cleaned well. Easy and free to print boarding passes before we left for the airport. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We were on the lower level, in back, room 127 I believe. There was plenty of parking most nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Spike597,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We share these reviews with our staff; I am certain they were equally delighted to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked this hotel through a mystery 3 start hotel deal on hotwire.com at a rate of $189 for a Saturday night. Hotel staff was friendly and a continental breakfast is included. The hotel is about 3-4 miles from downtown Charleston, SC and it's about $15 for a cab ride down to King Street. Definitely a much cheaper alternative than paying $400 for a downtown hotel. We wouldn't book this hotel outright for the price we paid but also wouldn't be upset if we booked through a mystery hotel deal and were given reservations here again.

Pros/Cons
-Bed and pillows were comfortable
-Shower had great water pressure
-Mini fridge and microwave was in our room
-Stains on carpet
-Close to restaurants and bars

There was a nice persimmon tree in front of our room!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear ZacharyD25,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am really appreciate that you took the time to share your pros and cons list. I am sorry, however, that you were able to find any cons. As a result of your review, we will be stepping up our carpet cleaning program. I am hope you weren't too inconvenienced.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and we were very pleased. The beds were extremely comfortable and the overall appearace of the hotel was good. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is pet friendly and our room was on the ground level which made it very convenient. The buffet breakfast was what you would expect but more than adequate. The hotel is on the outskirts of town but we were only there to pick up some things from our college grandaughter but if you plan to tour you should stay in town because parking is at a premium. I suggest you stay in the historic section if you want to be close to everything and within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear 69Naninnj,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your recent visit with us. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am sorry you found traveling to the historic district challenging; our clerks could have provided you with excellent directions to exactly where to park.

Again, thank you for the feedback. We hope we get the chance to service you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stay at Best Westerns more frequently than any other chain because of the great service and clean comfortable conditions, but the Sweetgrass Inn in Charleston, SC is exceptional. From arrival at check-in until check-out the service is very efficient, courteous and helpful. The room was very clean , comfortable and quiet. The attendant at breakfast provided service above and beyond normal -it reminded us of being on a cruise ship! The location is outside the downtown, but within easy access. I would definitely stay there again if I return to Charleston, and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear unit away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Browndog649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Browndog649,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent visit. We really appreciate the feedback we get from forums such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am sure my staff will be delighted as well with the comparison to a cruise ship's level of service. We do strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I was new to Charleston and needed a room to act as a base-camp to look for an apartment. The provided wireless internet was most helpful and I had no problems.
I especially appreciated the microwave and refrigerator in the room. My stay was for 3 nights and everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear John_SWilmington,

First and foremost, welcome to the neighborhood! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests through forums such as this one.

I was very excited to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We do share these comments with our staff; I am certain they will be delighted to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks so much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a spacious and very clean room. Breakfast is included...a good variety of breakfast foods both hot and cold. The staff is very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The location is on the outskirts of Charleston......you will need a car to get around Charleston and environs if you choose to stay here. The location is accessible to highways that go into downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajera825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Viajera825,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We do share these reviews with our staff; I am certain that they will be delighted to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing