We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place for the value”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I made the reservation online...checked in without a hitch. Front desk staff nice and helpful. Our room was nice, roomy and clean. The bed was also very comfy and slept well. The bathroom was very well taken care off also. I would have preferred an in room safe to leave some things while out. The breakfast room had the basic fare for this type of service but there was one stand out. The lady that was the breakfast room attendant was fantastic. I have never experienced a person so happy and willing to help you with anything you wanted or needed. Most people in this position are as I put it are.. like dead life. I didn't get her name but she was a gem. My main purpose for a room is a safe, clean and comfortable place to sleep and shower. I can't see paying 2.5-3 times for luxury but of course there is a place for it even for me. This is only a short drive to the Historic District and we had no problem finding parking. If you are going to drive to some of the other attractions, it is conveniently located for going to other locations other than downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadKing8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear RoadKing8084,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent visit.

I was overjoyed to read your review. Comments such as yours are why my staff and I do what we do. We consider all of our associates gems, our breakfast attendant, Linda, is a diamond amongst those gems. Thank you for noticing her hard work.

Again, thanks so much for the comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    394
    130
    65
    47
See reviews for
435
447
60
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed 3 nights and had a great experience. The room was very clean, the breakfast very good. Linda Antwine, working in the Breakfast room did the most wonderful job. She kept it clean, and truly took care of the customers.
This is the best stay ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Lonnie J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, especially your interaction with Linda in our breakfast area. Linda is truly a superstar on our staff. I am certain she was delighted to read that her hard was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for the review. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The lady Genea (hope I spelled right)at the desk (5/6/13) was so helpful and accommodating that she went far beyond what I've ever seen someone at the front desk do. The place was very clean. The prices are very reasonable especially at the beginning of the week.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Diamond3650,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We really appreciate the chance to interact with our guests through this forum.

I was happy to read that Ja'Na was able to provide such wonderful service during your visit. We consider all of our associates gems; Ja'Na is truly a diamond amongst those gems.

Again, thank you for your comments. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

the walls and door are paper thin, and when we left the room we returned to find it never closed. never stayed at a hotel that doesn't have the doors automatically close. we were lucky our valuables were still there. it's an external set up so cars are below or in front of the rooms, kids running down the outdoor walkways, just felt like a 2 star hotel. the breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigredmachine1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear bigredmachine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We really appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. We strive to insure that all guests enjoy not only their visit to Charleston but their stay with us as well. In your case, it seems we fell short of this goal. I have directed my maintenance team to investigate the possibility of adding self closing hinges.

Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable, but the room had a musty, damp odor. Breakfast was good with a few extras like blueberry waffles. A helpful staff member in the breakfast room assisted with breakfast and provided Charleston brochures. The check in person outlined on a small map the location of our room, but incorrectly told me that there was no parking on that side of the building. Luckily before we unloaded the car, we found that we could park right outside our room. The check out person was very pleasant. Convenient location to downtown Charleston and far better pricing than the downtown hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear 40404,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry that you were less then totally satisfied with your recent visit. Our goal is to insure that all of our guests enjoy not only their visit to Charleston, but their stay with us as well. I have directed our Property Operations Manager to inspect all rooms for the damp, musty smell you noted. When found, it will be corrected.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced very close to Charleston, SC. You will need a car, but it only takes about 10 minutes to drive into the downtown Charleston area. The staff was great, the breakfast satisfying (great waffles), and a good bargain.The rooms, though a bit dated were spotless and always cleaned well. Easy and free to print boarding passes before we left for the airport. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We were on the lower level, in back, room 127 I believe. There was plenty of parking most nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Spike597,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We share these reviews with our staff; I am certain they were equally delighted to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked this hotel through a mystery 3 start hotel deal on hotwire.com at a rate of $189 for a Saturday night. Hotel staff was friendly and a continental breakfast is included. The hotel is about 3-4 miles from downtown Charleston, SC and it's about $15 for a cab ride down to King Street. Definitely a much cheaper alternative than paying $400 for a downtown hotel. We wouldn't book this hotel outright for the price we paid but also wouldn't be upset if we booked through a mystery hotel deal and were given reservations here again.

Pros/Cons
-Bed and pillows were comfortable
-Shower had great water pressure
-Mini fridge and microwave was in our room
-Stains on carpet
-Close to restaurants and bars

There was a nice persimmon tree in front of our room!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear ZacharyD25,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am really appreciate that you took the time to share your pros and cons list. I am sorry, however, that you were able to find any cons. As a result of your review, we will be stepping up our carpet cleaning program. I am hope you weren't too inconvenienced.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing