We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, comfortable, convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A clean, comfortable, convenient.”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We thought BW Sweetgrass Inn was a super value. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the HD TV a nice touch. The desk clerk was very pleasant. Ethernet breakfast selection was quite nice and the dining area well kept and neat. The attendant kindly provided a double cup so the hot coffee could be handled with comfort.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Bill A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate the feedback we get from our guests through forums such as this one.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. As we share these reviews with our staff, I am certain they will be happy to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks for the comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    371
    124
    64
    46
See reviews for
404
429
59
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to downtown Charleston and there weren't very many options due to last-minute booking. After staying, we wouldn't have minded the extra 10-min drive down the highway to stay in North Charleston at a nicer hotel for the same or cheaper price. The room was an average size, good enough for the 2 of us. It was clean and in a good area, but the walls are paper thin. If you don't mind paying $100 (after taxes)/night for a 2.5 star hotel, by all means, book here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank li5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear li5254,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent visit with us. Please know that we take these reviews very seriously and are constantly striving to improve.

Again, thanks for the feedback. We hope you'll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Decent hotel. Rooms were not fancy but they were clean and the beds were comfortable. The location on the Savannah Highway was great, close to all of the Charleston attractions. I don't love staying at motels with outside doors to the parking lot, rather than a hotel having a lobby, but I'd probably stay here again because it was clean and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurora1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Aurora1999,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests through forums such as this one.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and would consider staying with us in the future. As we share these reviews with our staff, I am certain they will be delighted to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is very convenient where it is to Historic Downtown Charleston and the staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good & the service. At night it was quiet overall even if really busy with lots of guests. I travel only a few times a year for business and pleasure and rarely need my schedule changed due work changes. This hotel and in particular, Bill Richardson, the General Manager was very flexible in working with my days I needed to stay where things were changed literally at the time I was in Charleston. I recommend this place for the budget traveler for many reasons.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank university99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear university99,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We strive to insure that all of our guests enjoy not only their visit to Charleston but their stay with us as well. It was great to read that in your case, we came close to our goal.

Again, thanks so much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I made the reservation online...checked in without a hitch. Front desk staff nice and helpful. Our room was nice, roomy and clean. The bed was also very comfy and slept well. The bathroom was very well taken care off also. I would have preferred an in room safe to leave some things while out. The breakfast room had the basic fare for this type of service but there was one stand out. The lady that was the breakfast room attendant was fantastic. I have never experienced a person so happy and willing to help you with anything you wanted or needed. Most people in this position are as I put it are.. like dead life. I didn't get her name but she was a gem. My main purpose for a room is a safe, clean and comfortable place to sleep and shower. I can't see paying 2.5-3 times for luxury but of course there is a place for it even for me. This is only a short drive to the Historic District and we had no problem finding parking. If you are going to drive to some of the other attractions, it is conveniently located for going to other locations other than downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadKing8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear RoadKing8084,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent visit.

I was overjoyed to read your review. Comments such as yours are why my staff and I do what we do. We consider all of our associates gems, our breakfast attendant, Linda, is a diamond amongst those gems. Thank you for noticing her hard work.

Again, thanks so much for the comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed 3 nights and had a great experience. The room was very clean, the breakfast very good. Linda Antwine, working in the Breakfast room did the most wonderful job. She kept it clean, and truly took care of the customers.
This is the best stay ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Lonnie J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, especially your interaction with Linda in our breakfast area. Linda is truly a superstar on our staff. I am certain she was delighted to read that her hard was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for the review. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
313 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The lady Genea (hope I spelled right)at the desk (5/6/13) was so helpful and accommodating that she went far beyond what I've ever seen someone at the front desk do. The place was very clean. The prices are very reasonable especially at the beginning of the week.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Diamond3650,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We really appreciate the chance to interact with our guests through this forum.

I was happy to read that Ja'Na was able to provide such wonderful service during your visit. We consider all of our associates gems; Ja'Na is truly a diamond amongst those gems.

Again, thank you for your comments. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing