We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy and well kept except....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tidy and well kept except....”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The property is well landscaped and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Beware that the weekend rates are much higher than weeknights. The lady in the kitchen was very helpful and deserved tips. Someone needs to open the guest washer and clean it on a regular basis. It was terrible and had not been cleaned in a long time. The dryer....not so bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppyraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear puppyraiser,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent visit with us. Based upon your feedback, I have instructed our maintenance staff to begin checking the guest washer daily. Thank you for this observation.

Again, thanks so much for the review. I hope you'll give us another chance the next time you come to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    366
    121
    63
    46
See reviews for
397
420
58
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel is out of the center of town which gives a quieter experience. The grounds and pool area was well tended and very pretty; staff was great. There was a BW in the middle of town but the area didn't look as inviting so we didn't mind the few minutes it took to commute to the areas we wanted to visit. I highly recommend the BW and Charleston. We were there for two days and had great food at two of the locally owned restaurants.

Jo Ann P Shreveport, LA

Room Tip: I like 2nd floor rooms but my other half likes 1st floor so everyone to their own!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Jo P,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us. We really do appreciate it.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we share these reviews with our staff, I am certain that they will be quite pleased to read that their hard was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks so much for the feedback. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was not a pleasure trip because my husband was in the VA Hospital. However, this hotel was convenient to the hospital, had a great breakfast with wonderful personal service, a fitness room and clean accommodations. I will definately stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I spent a long Mothers Day weekend at this hotel this year. My daughter lives in Charleston but it is more convenient for me to stay at a hotel. I was checked in quickly. Found my room easily and it was newly remodeled and had everything I needed. The second day there I met a lovely lady named JoAnn from their housekeeping department. Although I did not require my room be cleaned she replenished everything to make sure I was comfortable and she did it in a very polite and perfessional manner. Just from the few minutes I talked to her I could tell she takes great pride in her job and the property she works at. She is truly an asset to the Sweetgrass!!

Room Tip: Just minutes from downtown Charleston
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Deborah S,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us. We really do appreciate it.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that JoAnn was able to provide such excellent guest service during your stay.

Again, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Hotel is located outside of the city center on Savannah Highway. From the hotel it is a quick 10 minute drive to Downtown Charleston where lots of parking space is available so we didn´t mind staying outside.

Very warm welcome at the front desk. Quick check-in. Our request for a quiet room was kindly granted. Hotel is divided into two buildings, one building is motel-style with outside hallways and doors facing the parking lot. An advantage that you almost park right in front of your room. We got room 239 in the last building which turned to be extremly quiet. Room smelled a bit musty and the furniture is quite old but was clean. Beds ok.

Very good breakfast selection for a Best Western, they even had hot chocolate. Superb attendent there.

Again a quick and efficient check-out. We would return.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for the last building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear urlaubsbaerchen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations regarding your visit with us. We really do welcome the feedback we get through sites such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you would return. We strive to insure that our guests enjoy not only their visit to Charleston but their time with us as well. It was rewarding to read that we came close to achieving that goal.

Again, thanks so much for the review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We thought BW Sweetgrass Inn was a super value. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the HD TV a nice touch. The desk clerk was very pleasant. Ethernet breakfast selection was quite nice and the dining area well kept and neat. The attendant kindly provided a double cup so the hot coffee could be handled with comfort.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Bill A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate the feedback we get from our guests through forums such as this one.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. As we share these reviews with our staff, I am certain they will be happy to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks for the comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to downtown Charleston and there weren't very many options due to last-minute booking. After staying, we wouldn't have minded the extra 10-min drive down the highway to stay in North Charleston at a nicer hotel for the same or cheaper price. The room was an average size, good enough for the 2 of us. It was clean and in a good area, but the walls are paper thin. If you don't mind paying $100 (after taxes)/night for a 2.5 star hotel, by all means, book here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank li5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear li5254,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent visit with us. Please know that we take these reviews very seriously and are constantly striving to improve.

Again, thanks for the feedback. We hope you'll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing