We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charleston Sweetgrass Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Charleston Sweetgrass Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Sweetgrass Best Western Motel is a very reasonably-priced motel within a three=mile drive of the Charleston peninsula and historical district. The breakfasts were very generous, with a great variety of rolls, pancakes, cereals, yogurt, juices, etc. There was plenty of coffee as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you found our breakfast so enjoyable. We are constantly examining our operation for areas of possible improvement. These reviews play an important role in that process.

Again, thank you so much. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    343
    114
    61
    43
See reviews for
369
385
55
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The room was attractive and comfortable. The bed was comfy. The water pressure for the tub and shower was impressive and also drained well. The breakfast was varied and delicious, and the staff in the breakfast room were very helpful and kind. The desk staff were pleasant, efficient, and knowledgeable. The location was centrally located between the downtown Charleston points of interest, and the Ashley River Plantation attractions. A very pleasant visit and great hotel room. Would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank baileygully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear baileygully,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests that forums such as this one provide.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found we have "great service and accommodations". As we share these reviews with our staff members, I am certain they will be very happy to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel room was okay. My biggest complaint was that the shower had a slow drain. The water would fill up in the tub while showering. I called to have it fixed twice but both times nothing worked. The toilet hasn't been cleaned either. Nasty brown ring around it. The pool is the only perk. I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Anawat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions regarding your recent visit with us.

I am sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your recent visit with us. Based upon your review, I have instructed our Property Operations Manager to inspect every room looking for slow drains and to treat them accordingly. At the same time, he will search for any toilets that may be discolored.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope you'll give us another chance during your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Would highly recommend! Staff was great. The continental breakfast was one of the best I have had. The pool was great for children and adults. I would definitely stay again. Centrally located to downtown and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Paula H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests that sites such as this one provide.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with and would highly recommend our property. I was equally delighted to read that you found our staff great. I am certain they will be equally excited to read your comments.

Again, thanks so much. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have stayed at some hotels where the coffee pods, towels were not replaced daily. Little things mean a lot sometimes. this was not the case at this Best Western. Plus they have a very big pool and plenty of chairs to use. I will definitely stay there again when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you noticed our attention to the "little things". I am certain our staff will be equally delighted to know that their hard work impressed you.

Again, thanks so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great place to stay. Nice clean rooms, great breakfast, excellent caring staff. Close to downtown Historic Charleston, close to the beaches also close for in town concerts. We will definitely stay again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 1princessnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear 1princessnc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really appreciate the feedback we get through sites such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be excellent and caring. As we share these reviews with them, I am certain they will be very happy to know their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks so much. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#39 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing