We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Wilson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We've stayed here many times over the years. The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and the grounds are well kept. The location is good for a Charleston stay away from the higher priced downtown hotels, though I have stared to notice the price for this motel creeping up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JJB27896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear JJB27896,

Thank you for posting a review and for staying with us so many times. We appreciate your business.

I was very happy to read that you find our property to be a nice place. I also appreciated the comments about our landscaping and rooms.

Again, thanks so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    363
    119
    62
    45
See reviews for
389
412
56
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I searched for two rooms, reasonably priced, accessible to downtown Charleston by car, for two couples. This fit the bill. Weeknight rate was ~$90/night, weekend was ~$140/night.
Three two-story buildings, all with outside corridors.
The breakfast was filling, with good variety (waffles, boiled eggs, toast, yogurt), although it was pretty crowded and they could REALLY use a second waffle maker.
**Request a room on the far side of the hotel, away from the main highway-little road noise!

The king room (room 137) smelled a bit like someone had smoked in it (non-smoking room), but after a while with the door open, and with an air freshener, the smell dissipated. The queen room (room 147) had a door between it and an adjacent room. Noise EASILY traveled between the two rooms. We could hear the conversations of the strangers with ease. The wall on the other side was thin and could easily hear amorous activities.

Cleaning was pretty good, but there was a lot of dust on the headboard, and don't look behind the nightstand!

Room Tip: Request a room on the far side of the hotel, away from Savannah highway. Much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Dakota P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I was happy to read that, for the most part, you enjoyed your recent visit with us. I am sorry, however, that we did not exceed your expectations and that our housekeepers could have done a better job. I have shared your review with our Housekeeping Manager so that he can retrain his staff on proper cleaning techniques.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope you'll return during your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Street, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Have stayed at this Best Western several times and have always been very pleased. It is close to the Citadel to be able visit my son. Good places to eat that are very close. Easy to get to downtown, shopping, etc. Everyone always very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Hugh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Hugh U,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I hope you enjoyed your latest visit with your son.

I was very happy to read that you had a great experience with us. As we share these reviews with our associates, I am certain that they will be delighted to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is about 5 minutes from downtown, very clean and priced half of what the downtown hotels want. Savannah Highway is a busy road. The room was very clean and the beds are some of the most comfortable I ever had in a hotel, The staff was all friendly. The BBQ restaurant next door is some of the best pulled port I have ever had. The breakfast in the hotel is pretty weak, definitely needs to buy a new toaster. Nice pool, but too cold to use. All rooms are outdoors, plenty of ashtrays around for the smokers. I would stay here on my next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear John726,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the feedback we get from sites such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our property to be clean and a great value. I was also quite happy when I read that you found our beds very comfortable. I can tell you the toaster, which was malfunctioning, has been replaced.

Again, thanks so much. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is about 3 usually easy miles from downtown and the price was considerably less than those in town. The rooms were clean & comfortable with two sinks.

The desk staff was helpful in suggesting places for dinner. Breakfast (included) was sufficient).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBob41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear DrBob41,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our desk clerks were able to make a positive impact upon your stay.

I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had a great time. No issues with the hotel and had a great breakfast each day. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and it was very convenient to everything we did.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Scott W,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. We really do appreciate it.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. One of our goals is to insure that our guests enjoy not only their time in Charleston but their visit with us as well. It is rewarding to know that in your case we came close to our goal.

Again, thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We searched for many hotels that were close to the historic district but many were too expensive for our budget. This hotel was reasonably priced. This hotel exceeded our expectations! Very clean, beautifully decorated, comfortable beds, and a professional yet friendly staff. We could not have asked for more. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and family and plan to stay at this hotel again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ginger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Ginger S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback we get through sites such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. I was especially pleased to know that you found our staff to be professional yet friendly. I am certain they were quite happy to read this as well.

Again, thank you so much. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing