We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
APEX
1 review
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Comfortable night's sleep. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was decent, but got very crowded. We would stay here again if we got the same deal on the price (used the special price available on the Best Western website).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RoseL727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Rosel727,

Many thanks to you for taking the time to post this review. It was nice to see you found the staff very friendly. We are including plans in the near future to expand our area so all of our guests have the opportunity to enjoy our great breakfast. We would love the chance to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    352
    116
    62
    43
See reviews for
381
400
56
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Sweetgrass Inn was a good Value for the dollar - great feature of keeping car while on cruise and helpful staff. 10 people - we had 3 cars and the hotel had a port shuttle available. Well done! Would stay again for a cruise experience leaving from Charleston!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear John H,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and take advantage of our park and cruise package. We are pleased to offer any service that would make your cruise travel experience more enjoyable. It was wonderful to see that you were satisfied with every detail of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Sweetgrass Inn is located an US 17 just south of the Charleston peninsula, an easy 10 minute drive to downtown Charleston. While it is located on a busy highway, most of the rooms are wll back from the road, and it is very quiet. We stayed in the building farthest from the road, on the ground floor, and found our room to be clean and comfortable for our three-night stay. It was also well equipped with the basic amenities one comes to expect from a 2-3 star motel/hotel.
We did not use the pool or the fitness room, so I cannot comment, but we did partake of the breakfast offerings each day, which were above average. Service was excellent. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear NPSjunkiekev,

Thanks for posting the review. It was great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to offer a convenient location that offers easy access to all of the surrounding areas. I was also delighted that you found the breakfast selection to be above average. We are proud to offer excellent service to our wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was very clean, comfortable and located in a great area but the difference was with the staff. OUTSTANDING!! Best employees I have encountered in any business in a very long time. The hotel was very clean, the room was well decorated, the pool was great, the continental breakfast was very good, nice variety of food and was open for a substantial time, 7 to 10 am.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ann H,

Thanks for such an excellent review. The staff here really tries to provide our guests with the best service possible. It was so refreshing to see that you thought the staff was outstanding and the best that you have encountered in any business in a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

BW Sweetgrass Inn is a good value with a convenient location to most of Charleston's attractions. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The breakfast was clean and roomy with outside dinning if desired. This BW has a nice, large, clean swimming pool with a generous supply of swimming "Noodles" for guest to use. The only down side was a lack of outlets and slow WiFi in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Bill M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate the feedback. It is lovely that you had such a positive guest experience from the staff to the breakfast to the room condition to our large lovely pool. I did see that you did have some concerns which we are in the process of taking care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzgerald, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel was clean, very efficent employees and eager to help youi with any thing you didn't understand about equipment.Everyone we came in contact with w so very polite and helpful We were allowed to have our pet and this gave us great peace of mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ester B,

We thank you so much for choosing us as your pet friendly hotel. We love pets and were glad to be able to accommodate you. It was great to see that you found everyone you came in contact with to be polite and friendly. Please visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent our vacation here, It was very clean, rooms up to date, very comfortable bed with extra pillows. The entire week we were there did not pass a member of the staff without receiving a smile and a hello. Someone was always available. Good location, great pool. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Debbie R,

It was awesome to see that you thought our hotel was a great place a stay. I'm glad to know that you were here a week and all employees greeted you with a smile and were always available to help you. Thank you again for this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing