We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My sister and I had Charleston on our bucket list of places to visit for a long while. The Sweetgrass Inn made our trip and three night stay there all the better! The rooms were very clean and comfortable..so nice after long days of sight-seeing. The staff were very professional. A big thanks to the breakfast gal!!! She took extra time to print out directions to old Charles Towne for us. Breakfast was full of great choices. We were overall very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Claudia W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We really appreciate it.

I was delighted to read that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us as well as your visit to Charleston. We are so glad that we could help, in a small way, to remove something from your bucket list. As we share these reviews with the staff, I am certain they will be quite pleased to know their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a very comfortable hotel with great staff. It is convenient to downtown or area touring. The grounds were filled with flowers and lovely plants. We had a great stay and enjoyed the breakfast room every morning. Renee at the breakfast room made everyone welcome and kept the place spotless.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lemae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Lemae H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us. We really appreciate the feedback we get from sites such as this one.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. I was especially pleased to know that Renee was able to make such a positive impact upon your experience.

Again, thank you for the review. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed the Best Western Sweetgrass Inn after spending the day in Charleston. This hotel offered a clean and comfortable room for us. Our room was on the second floor and we were pleasantly surprised with our vaulted ceilings and view of the pool. The bed was very comfortable.
Due to an early morning flight, we did not take advantage of their continental breakfast. Even though it is located on a busy road, we were not disturbed by any noise; however, certain times of the day can be challenging to get in and out of the entrance.

Room Tip: The vaulted ceilings on the second floor made the room seem very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kcompoundsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Kcompoundsmith,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room clean and comfortable. I'm sorry you didn't get a chance to sample our breakfast. Hopefully, next time you visit you can stay longer and take advantage of all Charleston has to offer.

Again, thank you so much for the comments. We hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very Professional and Welcoming. Comfortable beds. Very nice breakfast room and patio. Nice large, well maintained swimming pool. Needed a room repair and was taken care of immediately. Good location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Sheryl S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We really do appreciate it.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We share these reviews with our associates; I am certain they will be very happy to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you so much for the comments. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was in a smoking room, the only one they had left. Visibly floors were dirty, the furniture was old, the refrigerater did not freeze, the desk and the chair was in an udesireable place (blocked pathway), the computer chair was broken and almost fell. I could hear the conversations of the people next door and I could smell the marijuana they were smoking through the connection door, but was too afraid to complain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank G3m1ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear G3m1ni,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the feedback we get from sites such as this one as it allows us to improve.

I am very sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. Our goal is to offer each of our guests a clean, comfortable room with excellent guest service. Obviously, in your case, we fell far short of this goal. I have instructed our Director of Facilities to examine each smoking room and to insure they are in perfect condition.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope you'll give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent . Not a single negative thing to say. As clean and comfortable as much more expensive places I have stayed. This is the first review I have ever bothered to do. This was my first trip to charleston, and I could be almost anywhere I wanted to sight see in about ten to fifteen minutes.,every staff member I had contact with truly defined southern hospitality. Thanks Janie.

Room Tip: Extremely clean, very centrally located to downtown, restraints, parks, and shopping. A bargain for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank O3627LSSharonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear O3627LSSharonb,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate the feedback.

I was delighted to read that you had no negative experiences during your recent visit with us and that our staff was able to make such a positive impact upon your experience. I am certain they will be quite happy when they read your review.

Again, thank you so very much. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location right outside of historic area, clean, quiet and a really good breakfast included. Price was less than half of historic area hotels. Would definitely stay again! The clerk at the front desk was extremely helpful with directions to town even though she was very busy with phone calls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Maureen D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really do appreciate the opportunity to interact with our guests this way.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We strive to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest service. It seems, in your case, that we came close to our goal.

Again, thanks so much for the review. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £60 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing