We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Charleston Inn
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New York”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Staying in at the Best Western Hotel in Charleston, South Carolina was amazing. All though the service was a little bit good, I still enjoyed the free breakfast, the fresh air, and experiencing new things in life. I would love to recommend sharing this hotel to any one else who is willing to stay in this peaceful hotel, for families, couples, or staying alone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 709margier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear 709Margier,

It was awesome to see that you would recommend the hotel. Thanks so much for that. I'm sorry that you did not have an excellent service experience. I did see that you did enjoy the breakfast, and fresh air, and all the new things Charleston had to offer. Thanks so much for giving us a great rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    394
    130
    65
    47
See reviews for
435
447
60
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The first rrom we checked into smelled something terrible. We were given a new room that was better, but still had a musty smell to it. The pool was VERY nice, and so was the staff when I checked out. I would almost consider staying again for the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Brian A,

I am so sorry that you were assigned a room that smelled musty. I have talked with my housekeeping supervisor and came up with a system to ensure no one else has to deal with this issue. We want to provide all of our guest with fresh clean smelling rooms and working hard to ensure that we do exactly that. It was refreshing to see though that you really enjoyed the pool and thought the staff was really nice. You are welcome to give us another try. I'm sure we can provide you the excellent service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We booked one night here so that we didn't have to do the drive up from Hilton Head the morning of our flight. Location is 10-15 min from the downtown/market area of Charleston--easy drive in and out. The facility itself was less than stellar...stains on the carpet, valance falling off the wall, mold stained grout on the bathroom tile, shower faucets so old my teenage daughters didn't know how to work them... It was clean, you could smell the bleach used on the sheets and the beds were comfortable and the A/C worked well--and that is the only reason we stayed. I can't imagine spending a week here--but for a night, it worked.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear majjc,

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I was so disappointed to read about the stains on the carpet, the falling valance, mold on the grout and the difficulty of use with the shower faucets. I have discussed these issues with the Director of Property Operations to ensure that they are addressed. We are about to undergo renovations which will take care of the concerns you mentioned. I was, however, glad to see that you stayed because you felt we were clean. Please give us another opportunity to give you the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLIDELL, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is located close to everything. A short drive to the beach and down town. The traffic is heavy at times in front of the hotel . The housekeeping staff and the breakfast bar (Renee) are very pleasant and work hard. The hotel is in great condition and the pool area is well kept.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Robert G,

Thanks for taking the time to mention one of lovely staff members by name. Renee has not been with us long but has definitely proven she is a keeper. Thanks so much for remembering her. I was so pleased to see that we offered you the convenience to the downtown area and the beach that you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Rooms are clean and neat. Bed quite comfortable. Room is a little outdated in décor but definitely comfortable. Good value for the money. Pool is very, very nice. Breakfast very good. Parking easy and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Joyce M,

I'm glad to see you thought our hotel was a "very good value." It was wonderful that you found the rooms clean and neat, the bed comfortable, the pool very nice and the breakfast to be very good. It's great that you found the parking to be easy and convenient. You did mention that you found the décor to be a little outdated. We are going to be renovating starting this fall so if you decide to visit again you will definitely be able to enjoy our new and improved look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The front desk attendant was friendly and checked us in quickly. Our room was on the first floor and had an outside entry. The room was clean and mostly well-maintained. The bed was comfy and had several choices of pillows. The bathroom was a good size and clean. The room was fairly quiet although we could hear our neighbor's TV through the adjoining room door. We did not get to use the pool but it looked lovely and well-maintained. The breakfast was well stocked and there was a friendly attendant who restocked the food and chatted with the guests. Overall a pleasant stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Babobear1,

This review made me feel great. To see that we provided an excellent guest experience from the check in process, to the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, the comfort of the bed and selection of pillows, the breakfast selection as well as the friendliness of the breakfast attendant, and lastly you even complimented our lovely outdoor pool. The only complaint you did have was being able to hear your neighbor's TV through the adjoining door. This is not suppose to happen and we are having the maintenance team check this issue to come up with a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful hotel with clean rooms, nice TV and big clean pool. Beautiful flowers around pool and property. Great breakfast food and room quality. The fitness room was not that great because it didn't have enough equipment to pass as a fitness room. Other than that everything about this hotel was excellent and I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Jeffrey C,

Reading this review made me feel great because it let me know that you were very pleased with your recent stay. You described the hotel and flowers as beautiful, the rooms and pool as clean, you also mentioned we had a great breakfast and nice TV. The only thing that you were not pleased with is our fitness center which we are going to be doing away with in the near future. Please come and visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Charleston Inn

Property: Best Western Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing