We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Charleston Inn
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$397/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 29/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$377
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
655
456
141
71
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
456
141
71
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest westernsfront deskroom was cleanthe breakfast areagreat poolclose to downtownshort drivegreat place to stayfolly beachno elevatorcontinental breakfastwould stay here againyogurtconvenient locationhistoric districtfree parkingsweetgrass
Filter
Updating list...
1,229 - 1,234 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Am currently sitting in my room in this hotel in a nice big comfy chair writing this review. We were expecting this hotel to be good, after reading these reviews, and we are not disppointed! Big, clean, bright room. Friendly, helpful staff. The pool looks great (and very clean) but it's February and waaay too cold to swim anyway! Breakfast is good - cereals, muffins, cook-it-yourself waffles, coffee/tea, fruit...

So...it's all good, no complaints at all!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, Bill Richards - General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Many thanks to the guest for taking the time to post such wonderful comments. We appreciate all guest feedback, as it helps us improve our operation.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We were just staying one night in town doing wedding planning. The room was big, clean and had everything you could need. ... Friendly staff and more than delightful continental breakfast. The location was great as well for all things downtown and vendors on Folly/James Island. The only complaints I had was the internet connection was really slow. I couldn't use it. I had to think the weather may have impacted it some. There were also a younger group of people who were quite loud and inconsiderate. Staff quickly called the group and addressed the problem before we had to say anything. Thank you for helping us get a quiet and restful stay! The beds definitely helped. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, Bill Richards - General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2010

Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to write a review about our property. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us to constantly monitor how our efforts to improve are being received.
I am sorry the internet connection was slow. We recently upgraded to a different providor who promised more speed. I will certainly speak with them about the issue. Thanks for letting us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I obtained a great rate at this hotel through Priceline.com. I was very pleased when I checked in since I received outstanding service by the deskclerk on duty. She could not have been nicer. Later I requested information about where to go to get some flowers for my daughter-in-law who had just delivered her baby the day before. I felt like I had my personal concierge service. Very pleasant hotel, convenient location, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obonekenob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, Bill Richards - General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2010

Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to post their comments. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service in our area; it appears in this guest's case we came close to achieving our goal.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This motel is located west of downtown Charleston in an area of new car dealerships. It is only a 10-minute drive to the downtown attractions. Since this is an exterior-corridor motel, parking is in front of your room, with some overflow parking surrounding the building. Traffic on the Savannah Highway can be heavy at times, so turning left into or out of the motel parking lot can take some patience.

The Best Western Sweetgrass makes a very good first impression. The exterior is nicely landscaped. I was surprised at the large and attractively decorated lobby. The front desk clerk was charming and attentive and check-in went smoothly and as booked. When I asked about nearby dining, the desk clerk provided a turn-by-turn printout and even offered coupons for the restaurant.

The first impression turned out to be a good indicator of what was to come. The medium-sized room was clean, quiet and attractive. Furnishings included two double beds, a night table, a desk with a chair, a dresser and a small round table with a chair. The room also included a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, free wireless Internet, alarm clock and a television. Though the pillowtop double bed we slept in was comfortable, we usually sleep in a queen bed and found ourselves bumping into each other a bit even though we both are smaller sized adults. It seems that more double beds are being used in motels than we have noticed in the past.

The continental breakfast included waffles, oatmeal, cereals, bagels, toast, boiled eggs, coffee, tea and juices and a few similar items. Free coffee is also always available in the lobby. The seating area was full when we ate, so we had to share a table with other guests.

Check-out went quickly and the friendly desk clerk asked if everything was okay with our stay. She also offered a free map of the Charleston downtown area.

Overall, the Best Western Sweetgrass Inn exceeded expectations, providing clean and comfortable accommodations for a very reasonable rate. As long as the rate remained reasonable, this is a motel we would stay at again, even if the double beds are a bit small for us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, Bill Richards - General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2010

Thnak you to this guest for taking the time to post their comments as well as for choosing to stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable accommodations with excellant guest service. I am sure my staff will be very happy to hear that in this guest's case, we came very close to our goal.

Again, thank you for the wonderful comments and for your patronage! We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We just stayed for 5 nights because my granddaughter was born at MUSC on 12/28 with congenital heart defect. She is having her first surgery today and her name is Anna Grace.
Best Western had great breakfasts and clean rooms every day. Also, a very nice lobby with computer and printer if needed. The wireless connection was excellent. AND, we were able to bring our little dog, Dixie Cup, a miniature dachsund.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, Bill Richards - General Manager at Best Western Charleston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to post their comments when they are obviously going through a very difficult period. As we do with all reviews, I have shared this review with my staff. The prayers of everyone here are going our to little Anna Grace. Hopefully, everything turns out well and she grows up happy and strong.

Again, thank you for your comments! We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews