We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true feel of the south”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A great central location, a limited number of rooms/suites made this a perfect place to stay for 2 nights. a great welcome by Donna made us feel at home. It is walking distance to all of DT and a continental breakfast was adequate. overall the location and the "feel" of this charming B&B would make us visit again!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, private. our room was on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the state room for 3 nights and this was the worst bed and breakfast experience we have had. While the rooms were clean and the location was great our experience was not. Upon our arrival instead of being greeted by a host we were left an envelope with information and a key. After a long trip the last thing I wanted to deal with was trying to figure out where to park, how to open the door (they had some code system), etc. One of the reasons we prefer to stay in a B&B is to get tips from the owners about where to eat, what to see, etc. Good thing we had already made dinner reservations for that night and had done some research before we left because we were never greeted by or met the owners or hosts. I think a management company runs the B&B so don't expect any personal interactions. The state room is on the bottom floor near the entrance. We were awakened numerous times during the night by the comings and goings of other guests and street noise. One of the nights we awakened to a drunken rant by one of the guest at 1:30 in the morning. I was at least hoping breakfast was going to be decent. Instead when we went up to the veranda we were greeted by a friendly housekeeper who did not speak much English. All there was to eat were some muffins, coffee, and a bowl of berries (not even yogurt to put on the berries). Nothing to drink but coffe or OJ. But our diapointment over the breakfast was somewhat our fault as the description from bed and breakfast did say continental breakfast provided. Still I have had better and more substantial continental breakfasts at chain motels. We ended up going out to breakfast the next two mornings. Overall the room was very uncomfortable-no cozy reading chair-no windows to the outdoors that you could open. The only windows opened to an enclosed courtyard but you had to keep blinds drawn unless you wanted all the other guests to see in your room. It felt very much like being in a cold basement. I was really hoping to experience some good southern hospitality and food and we got none of that. There are probably hundreds of other B&B's in Charleston-skip this one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and i stayed in lg state rm downstairs.opted over the 2 rm space on upper floor because 1st flr space much more charming with brick and high ceilings. Also, opened to lovely courtyard on main floor and no stairs. Leave door open and see the horsedrawn carriages trot by thru wrought iron gates. Was my husbands bday and the staff awaited him upstairs that morning with a lovely breakfast of fruit and pastries including a muffin with a bday candle and a song of happy bday to you in both english and spanish (my husbands native language). I missed this as i was showering but he was endeared by the gesture. Being his first true b and b exper, he was converted. E High end gallery next door and small playhouse across street. Great location, great staff, anything negative too minor to mention

Room Tip: Want formal choose the suite with sitting rm. Want intimate choose stateroom 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend relaxing on a charming veranda over looking art galleries and historic mansions. We were minutes away (walking distance) from all the best restaurants and tourist attractions. The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed in hotel spring valley and it was very good experience... The service was too good from the time we entered the hotel we received a warm welcome and they told us about the packages etc which should be done in kodai....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank pavanprashanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

27 State Street was a great base for my partner and I to explore Charleston on our own and largely on foot. We stayed in the smaller, cheaper room on the ground floor which was very basic but pleasant, clean, and perfectly functional for what we needed. (Largely a place to lay our heads at night). We also appreciated the simple decor -- it can be hard to find B&Bs that aren't dripping in lace and frills!

The room is off a really lovely little courtyard -- quite charming, but not really functional as a space to spend time. That was fine, though, as Charleston has so much to offer, and we felt quite in the middle of it on State Street (steps away from McCready's ... on the carriage route). We also liked being able to come and go as we pleased. We had limited interaction with the proprietors, which was fine. Though they were quite helpful when we needed them.

There is *some* street noise. This wasn't actually an issue as State Street was very quiet at night -- but we woke up to some early morning municipal work two mornings we were there, which I think was just bad luck.

I do think the other rooms would be a different experience - but this was great value for something simple in the heart of the old part of Charleston.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melinanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Nearest to all Tourist Spots. Bad road for the approach to the hotel abt 400 Meters. Good parking facility. Nice climate as the rooms had balcony with chairs for two. The floor cleanliness had to be improved. All other facilities are good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank ravisvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,078 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 State St, Charleston, SC 29401-2819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £161 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ovely three room B&B located on the corner of Queen and State streets in historic Charleston SC. We are located within the original walled city of old Charleston, located just two blocks south of Market Street and one block north of Broad Street. Within two block of our B&B you can find the Waterfront Park, The Customs House, The Market Shops, The Dock Street Theater, Several Historic Churches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing