We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the heart of Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the heart of Charleston”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here over Easter weekend. What a beautiful, charming and comfortable site this is. I hadn't stayed at a B&B for a while and I was afraid we would feel like we were staying in someone's house. We were in the master suite and it was totally private--we just talked to the manager on the phone a couple of times. She was helpful whenever we had a question. The location is great; a parking lot was nearby but we only used our car to go to Fort Sumter and take a drive. We walked everywhere else. I'm sure the breakfast pastries would have been great but we opted to go out for a Southern breakfast each morning. Our suite was so comfortable -- I slept better than at home. If we go back to Charleston, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMK220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gms1975
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a nice little bed and breakfast in the historic part of Charleston. We parked our car in a nearby garage ( $20.00 a day) and walked everywhere we needed to. This bed and breakfast only has four rooms to choose from. We chose the smallest and least expensive one. Our bill was around $750.00 for three nights (Wed, Thurs, Fri). Breakfast choices were whole apples, bananas, oranges, blueberries and grapes along with sliced pineapple and strawberries. An assortment of pastries and muffins was also included. Drink choices were coffee or orange juice.

Our room, the Wurdeman's Study was clean. Some parts of the walls and ceiling had recently been patched and were waiting to be painted. The door leading out to the shared courtyard had mini-blinds over the window in the top of the door that left a two inch gap open on the side that people could see into the room from the courtyard. Curtains are needed over this window in addition to the mini-blinds. The bathroom door also has a window in the top half of it and has no window covering at all. Curtains would be nice for a little privacy when needed.

Television was pretty small and hard to see from the bed, a larger one would be nicer.

Overall a nice little bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gms1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This little jewel is charming, in a great location and the customer service was outstanding. It was centrally located and I was able to walk everywhere I needed to go. There are wonderful restaurants right outside the door. 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Charleston. The Bed and Breakfast is nicely priced for such a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Donna, the coordinator was extremely pleasant and attentive. Upon arrival she gave us a nice tour of the property as well as local amenities. Set in a 200 year old house, with a beautiful courtyard and veranda, 27 sate street immediately gave us a wonderful feeling of historic significance along with relaxing and comfortable accommodations. Our room was very clean, with nice amenities, wifi and the relaxing sound of a fountain right outside the window.

The location simply can not be beat. We parked the car in a garage a few streets up and did not need to touch it during the entire long weekend visit. During the day we could easily stroll to go shopping and enjoy the various markets, and in the evening we could easily go 2 blocks over for dinner or a walk along the water front.

Overall, the 27 state street b&b was a wonderful choice. The great location, comfortable amenities and our decision to visit during late August, which provided us with excellent weather, made for a perfect and relaxing long weekend getaway.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TMonax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A great central location, a limited number of rooms/suites made this a perfect place to stay for 2 nights. a great welcome by Donna made us feel at home. It is walking distance to all of DT and a continental breakfast was adequate. overall the location and the "feel" of this charming B&B would make us visit again!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, private. our room was on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the state room for 3 nights and this was the worst bed and breakfast experience we have had. While the rooms were clean and the location was great our experience was not. Upon our arrival instead of being greeted by a host we were left an envelope with information and a key. After a long trip the last thing I wanted to deal with was trying to figure out where to park, how to open the door (they had some code system), etc. One of the reasons we prefer to stay in a B&B is to get tips from the owners about where to eat, what to see, etc. Good thing we had already made dinner reservations for that night and had done some research before we left because we were never greeted by or met the owners or hosts. I think a management company runs the B&B so don't expect any personal interactions. The state room is on the bottom floor near the entrance. We were awakened numerous times during the night by the comings and goings of other guests and street noise. One of the nights we awakened to a drunken rant by one of the guest at 1:30 in the morning. I was at least hoping breakfast was going to be decent. Instead when we went up to the veranda we were greeted by a friendly housekeeper who did not speak much English. All there was to eat were some muffins, coffee, and a bowl of berries (not even yogurt to put on the berries). Nothing to drink but coffe or OJ. But our diapointment over the breakfast was somewhat our fault as the description from bed and breakfast did say continental breakfast provided. Still I have had better and more substantial continental breakfasts at chain motels. We ended up going out to breakfast the next two mornings. Overall the room was very uncomfortable-no cozy reading chair-no windows to the outdoors that you could open. The only windows opened to an enclosed courtyard but you had to keep blinds drawn unless you wanted all the other guests to see in your room. It felt very much like being in a cold basement. I was really hoping to experience some good southern hospitality and food and we got none of that. There are probably hundreds of other B&B's in Charleston-skip this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and i stayed in lg state rm downstairs.opted over the 2 rm space on upper floor because 1st flr space much more charming with brick and high ceilings. Also, opened to lovely courtyard on main floor and no stairs. Leave door open and see the horsedrawn carriages trot by thru wrought iron gates. Was my husbands bday and the staff awaited him upstairs that morning with a lovely breakfast of fruit and pastries including a muffin with a bday candle and a song of happy bday to you in both english and spanish (my husbands native language). I missed this as i was showering but he was endeared by the gesture. Being his first true b and b exper, he was converted. E High end gallery next door and small playhouse across street. Great location, great staff, anything negative too minor to mention

Room Tip: Want formal choose the suite with sitting rm. Want intimate choose stateroom 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 State St, Charleston, SC 29401-2819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ovely three room B&B located on the corner of Queen and State streets in historic Charleston SC. We are located within the original walled city of old Charleston, located just two blocks south of Market Street and one block north of Broad Street. Within two block of our B&B you can find the Waterfront Park, The Customs House, The Market Shops, The Dock Street Theater, Several Historic Churches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing