We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time in saem hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2010

this is value for money,, this is my second time i stayed this hotel,,, good

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank ashokpuppyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

Very good location, near restaurants and lively area of town. Otherwise, ok room, ok cleanliness, breakfast consists of some fruit, orange juice, and muffins (not necessarily fresh, pre-packaged type) - very disappointing. Poor value for the price, it is so easy to go around Charleston, by car or bus, that it is not worthwhile spending so much for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerrickRNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

My girlfriend and I had a romantic 3 days in Charleston. The weather was perfect and although busy, downtown was not crowded like other times of the year. This was the first stay in a B&B for both of us. We stayed in the Master Suite. The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly. The bathroom was small with low water pressure in the shower but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. The bedroom is next to the private kitchen area and was a bit noisy in the mornings as the staff prepared a continental breakfast. Breakfast was very light, fruit, muffins and juice. The location was perfect. 5 minutes to the battery, the market, one street over from the Bay Street which is where all the best restuarants and nightlife are. Only suggestion would be to include a small fridge for wine/water. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

My wife and I stayed in the State Room for a couple nights.. We loved the room. The state room is actually larger than the other two and it is very open. The hardwood and brick add a very nice touch to the room. The only thing I can think of as a negative about this room as the fact that is was near the front gate to the B&B. If anyone was walking around outside the door we could hear them, but I think this is hardly worth noting.. at least for our experience. During our stay, only one other room was occupied so there wasn't a whole lot of movement outside.

Each morning the host person had a breakfast waiting on us upstairs at the time we gave her and it was great. Nothing real big, but good danishes, coffee, and OJ.. Maybe some other things too but I can't remember. It appeared that the other guests elected to not participate in the breakfast.. so it turned out to be very nice for us. It's a sweet little spot up there over looking the street with lots of plants and flowers, etc.

The host allowed us to tour the other two rooms while we were there, and I was most impressed with the state room. The master suite has two rooms in it with a big hallway connecting them. The rooms are small and the ceiling is lower than that in the state room. Nothing real grand about the rooms either. I bet it'd be a little quieter than the state room though. The smallest room, The Wurdeman's room, is actually a good size. It's quaint and tucked in a corner behind the state room. If you're not going to be spending a ton of time in the room, This roomw ould be fine...

There were no problems regarding the comfort or cleanliness of the room. Unless you have some sort of high dollar and/or unrealistic tastes, this room makes for a perfect place to stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mt. Dora, Florida
14
Reviewed 19 November 2005

The best part about this bed and breakfast was it's beautiful, quiet character. There are only three rooms and they are all located in what used to be the main house's stables. The floors are early 1900 wide-board live oak and the room we stayed in, the State Room, had 12 foot ceilings and exposed brick walls. The owners lived there but worked during the day, so our key and directions to our room and parking (the parking was included in the price)were left for us. All we had to do was call and tell them when we wanted breakfast. The breakfast was simple but tasty continental fare served by the manager, a young man named Kevin. He was very polite and helpful, offering to make dinner reservations for us and recommending his favorite restaurants and town attractions. The b&b even allows pets for a small fee ( i think it was $25 extra a night). The location was excellent, right in the middle of everything and within walking distance of Market St. and the marina. Overall, it was a great experience and we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wenn es das Budget erlaubt, nicht die Wurdeman Study, sondern eines der beiden anderen Zimmer buchen...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maralen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
27statestreet, General Manager at 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 State St, Charleston, SC 29401-2819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £167 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ovely three room B&B located on the corner of Queen and State streets in historic Charleston SC. We are located within the original walled city of old Charleston, located just two blocks south of Market Street and one block north of Broad Street. Within two block of our B&B you can find the Waterfront Park, The Customs House, The Market Shops, The Dock Street Theater, Several Historic Churches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your 27 State Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing