We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Charleston”
Review of Cannonboro Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cannonboro Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice B&B in Charleston. Located between the Medical School and the College of Charleston, easy walking to King Street and beyond. Nice rooms, lovely wine and tidbits reception, friendly hosts and delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths, some en-suite, some next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've never stayed in a B&B before so I didn't know what to expect. Part of the reason I picked Cannonboro was because everything in the area was booked for the weekend. And while I expected it to be a fair experience, I didn't expect to LOVE my experience the way I did. I stayed with my husband and from day one, they were extremely accommodating. We were booked in two different rooms and they moved our bags for us while we were out touring the city.

The breakfast was excellent! We had sausage, fruit and croissant french toast while we were there and it was out of this world. On our last night, we were exhausted from all the sight-seeing so we watched Netflix on our iPad and ate local pizza in the lobby. The innkeeper saw us and said "I know you're checking out early so we made you some breakfast to go for the airport." IT WAS SO SWEET! It had our room numbers on the bags in the fridge and everything.

We also thought everything was perfectly within walking distance. Hominy Grill is about 4 minutes away walking. Go there! Everything else, King St., Historic Downtown, Waterfront Park, St. Michaels and other historic sites were 15-30 mins walking. Another young couple there had a rental car and parking was no issue for them. Either way, walking or driving, you'll be fine. Please stay here! We had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Everything was booked the first night so we had to book Room #7, which didn't have a bathroom in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATX1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We found the Inn to be quite charming. Our room was large with a king bed and balcony. The shower/toilet room was dated but more then adequate. The little touch of hors d'oeuvre and wine in the late afternoon was nice. Breakfast was very good. 10+ minute walk to King street made the location work.

Relative to much more expensive Inns this was very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foisgras11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed in the Guest House for 3 nights and just loved it. The Guest House was built around 1850 and use to be the carriage house for Wickliffe House. It's located 4 doors away from Cannonboro Inn. The people we dealt with at the Cannonboro were very nice and helpful. I stayed in the room on the first floor, and my brother had one of the rooms upstairs. We had a wonderful time sitting and talking in the living room in the evening. We didn't use it, but there is access to the complete kitchen. The Guest House is located directly across the street from MUSC, which was perfect for us, because we were visiting an ill family member. I would recommend this even if you weren't using it because you were seeing someone in the hospital, but if you do have someone in the hospital this is the best location ever!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Super friendly and helpful staff with a lovely appetizer hour at 4pm with delicious home-made treats. Delicous breakfast. Breathtaking Inn with a FANTASTIC location. You can walk all around historic Charleston which we did. The freezing temps did not deter us thanks to toe/hand-warmers (Wal-Mart) and we walked for 2 hours (to the battery park and down King Street/Market Street) and topped it off with a PERFECT meal at The Hominy Grill. We stayed at the Guest House which was so private and a cinch to walk to from the main Inn. IT was heavenly...all of it and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyGirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannonboro, Manager at Cannonboro Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank You for the compliments! Our Innkeepers and housekeepers pride themselves in hospitality and helping you to enjoy our city and your stay with us! We hope to have you all as our guest in the future!
Many Happy Returns!
Lynn Mumau
Chief Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We discovered Cannonboro Inn on line and booked 3 nights. This was our first visit to Charleston and our stay at the inn was very relaxing; we would definitely return. All the staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we entered the inn. Room 4 ( king bed) was very comfortable, clean and had a private door to the balcony. Cannonboro Inn offers a lovely presentation of wine and appetizers in the late afternoon and coffee and tea are available throughout the day. It is easy to get around Charleston without a car. Parking is very tight at the Inn but there are excellent restaurants close by and it is only a 20 minute walk to the heart of the city. And if you need more bonuses, Barry, your Innkeeper, will start your day with a wonderful historical story-telling tour of Charleston as you enjoy your hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Number 4 , spacious, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This bed and breakfast was wonderful. From the first interaction with the girl that greeted us to the afternoon wine ...not to mention the excellent breakfast. The bed was very comfy the room very clean...the bathroom was small but very workable. We were directed to excellent restaurants.
It was about a 20 minute walk to King Street so we were a little bit on the out skirts of Old Town.
The owner was very interesting with all the facts of Charleston. Would return. I must also mention the other people stay at this B and B were all very interesting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designer1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,960 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
724 reviews
Ashley Inn
#17 of 39 in Charleston
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Meeting Street Inn
#5 of 39 in Charleston
825 reviews
Jasmine House Inn
#10 of 39 in Charleston
224 reviews
Palmer's Pinckney Inn
#12 of 39 in Charleston
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannonboro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannonboro Inn

Address: 184 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5824
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £102 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cannonboro Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous historic inn (c. 1853) Located in the residential historic area of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cannonboro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannonboro Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing