We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in this area of N Charleston”

Gennaro's Italian Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Gennaro's Italian Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #229 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in this area of N Charleston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Excellent Italian food and very good jazz on Thurs nights. Happy Hour is above average and comes with snacks. There are very few non-chain places to eat in this part of town. Casual dress.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    31
    8
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
202 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Great Italian food. Being from New England thus was a rare fund
. If you like great food and service this is the place for authentic Italian food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphDaSurf1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Smoke ruined the experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I went there about 2 weeks ago and had lasagna which I felt was very good. Unfortunately they allow smoking in the bar area and it isn't 100% isolated from the dining area so it ruined the experience. They have another restaurant in West Ashley which is supposedly 100% nonsmoking so that is where I'll probably go next.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger and Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Gennaro's is a really authentic Italian restaurant - nothing from a can or jar here! The atmosphere is warm and cozy, the music quiet enough to allow conversation. Lauren was our server-very friendly and very efficient. This was our second visit and we were just as pleased as the first time we went. The Veal Prosciutto was unbelievable-wrapped in two pieces of prosciutto with an excellent Marsala sauce. The Veal Scallopini was the best I have ever had and served with sweet potato gnochhi! The portions are very large especially when coupled with the dinner salad. Their Balsamic dressing is superb! Give it a try even if you haven't liked balsamic in the past you will like this one. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“high expectations no results”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My wife and i wanted to try something new and had seen Gennaro's before. so we decided to try it out tonight. the service was average and we waited about 50 minutes for our food which seemed odd since it was far from packed inside. the real problems was when we received our food my wife's salad was pretty much meat, cheese and dressing. Her chicken pesto pizza was bland, thick and tasted like a frozen pizza. I ordered just a simple pepperoni pizza to share with my kids and received a cheese pizza when i told them it was wrong they brought us back the same one that they just threw back in the oven so it was burnt cheese and crunchy hard crust but it had our pepperoni! I'm actually scared to try anything else if they couldn't get these simple items right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gennaro's Italian Ristorante also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gennaro's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing