We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual dining & great food at the beach”
Review of Home Team BBQ

Home Team BBQ
Ranked #104 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual dining & great food at the beach”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a great place on Sullivan's Island to get a very good lunch and something to drink. The salads are very good and the wings are great. Service is excellent. Parking can be a problem on weekends as many people go to the beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    100
    43
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
229 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Down Home & Delicious”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We visit Charleston every spring break and make a point of including a meal at Home Team BBQ each April. It's simple, it's crowded, it can be dark and noisy, but those are the hallmarks of a good barbecue place. Who needs charm, when you're there for the food! Any of the meats are great - my favorite is the pulled pork, while my husband likes the brisket. When you choose your "sides" make one of them the baked beans - they are rich with chunks of pork and have a deep, sweet flavor. I like the coleslaw for its sharp clean contrast to the meat, but experiment if you're adventurous - there are some unusual sides on the menu. Service is fast because you order at the front, pick up your tray one minute later, then wind your way around tight tables or out to the backyard picnic tables to eat at your leisure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gryfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Remarkable BBQ”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was our 2nd visit at this restaurant and was afraid it would not be as good. It was BETTER...all the meats almost melts in your mouth and that is without any extra sauces. This time we tried the collards and for this southern girl...they are the best I have ever eaten. The workers know their stuff, so do take their advice on what and the size for your party. The bar is well stocked with good wine and beer that goes well with this great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some of the best you will find!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

WOW! This was no doubt one of the best BBQ restaurants that I've found on the East Coast. The ribs, pulled pork and brisket were second to none. Not to mention some great sauces!!! The sides were better than I could have ever imagined...all for a very reasonable price. Definitely check this place out!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Delicious, delicious bbq. The side mac n' cheese wasn't that good, but the nachos and sandwiches were fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Home Team BBQ also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Home Team BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing