We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the other places were more expensive bout we found this inn - a diamond in the rough”
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff was wonderful and accommodating. Wine and cheese reception at 5 was delicious. Beautiful rooftop terrace. This is a Historic inn that is a close walk from nightlife and restaurants. Shower pressure was good, nice high ceilings in the pristine rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlt11001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. It's great to know that you did some research and choose the Ansonborough Inn and were not disappointed. I love to hear that the staff were able to assist you with whatever you needed and that you enjoyed everything about the Ansonborough Inn. Thank you again for the lovely review--I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Ansonborough Inn for our Anniversary trip to Charleston and weren't disappointed. We stayed in a spacious studio on the second floor. The room was huge with a very high ceiling, king bed, large bathroom, HD TV, small refrigerator, and microwave. I thought the bed was too soft, but overall comfortable.

Let me say this up front. This hotel has the best AC of any I've ever stayed in. It works just like the AC at home with an individual unit and no noise whatsoever. Worth the visit.

The staff was cordial, responsive and knowledgable of the area.

The hotel has breakfast that is comparable to most standard hotel buffets. It also has a wine and cheese hour from 5-6pm with a really good pimento cheese spread.

Very convenient to Market Street and the rest of Old Charleston. We never used our car in 5 days.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Wow--thank you for such a wonderful review! I love knowing that our guests enjoy their time with us and have wonderful memories of a special occasion celebrated at the Ansonborough Inn. It means a lot to actually read that someone had such a great time with us--it's also great to know that we helped you "keep your cool." Air Conditioning is important in a climate like ours, so it's great to know we did not disappoint! Thanks again for the great review--I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very friendly staff, amenities (wine and cheese...awesome on the rooftop) and rooms. The rooms are very spacious. The entire area hotel had great character and is conveniently located next to a grocery store. It is a few blocks from the action types of area, but definitely a worthwhile stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not on situated on East Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn-Po
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about the Ansonborough Inn and that we were a great part of your trip to Charleston. We hope to see you again soon--thank you again for the great TripAdvsor Review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We read the reviews, compared prices, and checked the convenience factor to everything downtown Charleston has to offer, and this Hotel fit the bill. We're so glad we found this place, as it exceeded everything we expected. When we arrived, we weren't sure what to expect, as it's a bit off the retail area, by about 3 blocks. However, once inside, the place was stunning. The renovated interior was reminiscent of a Victorian era mansion. Lots of wood, and paintings. The high ceilings in the rooms make the place feel luxurious. And the free wine and cheese every afternoon, are just what's needed to help unwind after a day of visiting the tourist areas. There's a parking lot across the street, as well as a Grocery store. And the walk to the downtown Marketplace is only about 5 minutes. We'll be back, I'm sure.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, rear, and it was quiet. Although I think anywhere would be, as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Wow--I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Ansonborough Inn! I am so glad to hear that after all your research you choose our hotel and that we were even better than you expected. It is so pleasing to hear that we were a wonderful part of a memorable visit to Charleston. I am also glad to know that you found our wine and cheese service to be a welcome respite from a busy day. Thank you again for the excellent review--I hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My mother, sister, and I stayed here for 2 nights-6/13 & 6/14. We wanted a place with some character, public gathering areas, and close to downtown. This place met all of our expectations. I loved the character of the hotel and the room was very spacious with high ceilings and a sitting area. The beds were comfortable. We were on the second floor and the windows were up rather high, so our view was of the tree outside the hotel, which was good enough for me. There was plenty of closet and drawer space. The vanity in the bathroom had drawers and cabinets, which was great for stashing toiletries, especially when there are 3 women sharing the space. We brought a bottle of wine up to the rooftop terrace one night and it was very relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. During our stay, we noticed that one of the light switches in the room had gotten very hot while it was on. We reported the problem before we left on a sight-seeing tour and when we returned later in the day, the switch had been fixed. The wine and cheese hour was nice with a decent selection of cheese and crackers along with other appetizers. Beverages are available all day - I believe coffee and lemonade. We were very happy with the deluxe continental breakfast - hot item (omelet, sausage/biscuits), cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, etc. The warm cinnamon buns were excellent. The hotel is within very easy walking distance to the downtown area, so the only time we used the car was for our trip out to a plantation. The hotel was on the edge of the downtown area, so it was not noisy at all. On our last day, we wanted to check out a few more sites in town, but didn't want to have to deal with driving the car to a parking garage after check-out. We asked the front desk if it would be ok to leave the car in the lot for an extra 2 hours and they said sure, no problem - you can park there all day. Now that made our day! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Your review made our day! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor! I am just so happy to hear that all of you enjoyed your time with us and that everything about the Ansonborough Inn was exactly what you were looking for. It is great to know that we contributed so much to your special visit to Charleston and that you were able to enjoy all that the inn has to offer. Those Cinnamon Rolls you mention are one of our "new additions" to breakfast, to I appreciate knowing that the reviews are postive. Thank you again for the great review and I hope that we have the opportunity to see all of you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back. This is a great inn with a great location, easy walk to the historic district and restaurants. Our room was beautiful and we appreciated the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for such a nice review on TripAdvisor! It sounds like the Ansonborough Inn was exactly what you were looking for and I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time! It's wonderful to know that we were part of a great visit to Charleston. Thank you again for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor--I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at the Ansonborough Inn for 2 nights. Simply a beautiful Inn. Within walking distance to practically everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Caution if there is a lot of rain expected, the street floods easily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to see that you enjoyed so much about the Ansonborough Inn and that the staff was able to assist you with whatever you needed. It sounds like you must have been in Charleston when it was raining--I hope you have a chance to come see us again in sunnier weather! Thanks again for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,242 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £152 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing