We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This is such a charming place! Close to almost everything. Wonderful rooms with great high ceilings. We were on second floor and it was very quiet. We loved the pimento cheese in the afternoon. The staff was very nice and helped us find some great places to eat. This was the best hotel we have stayed in on our 3 stop vacation. Wish we could return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommyTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great TripAdvisor review! It is so flattering to hear that we were your "hotel highlight" during your vacation! I love knowing that everything about the Ansonborough Inn contributed to your great memories of Chaleston and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our amenities. I do hope that you have a chance to return to Charleston and that we are able to say, "Welcome Back!" Thanks again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our first trip to Charleston was a huge success, thanks to the Ansonborough. We booked because of the great location and price. That, and more, will keep us coming back. Plentiful continental breakfast, comfy rooftop terrace, very spacious rooms with high ceilings, free wi-fi, friendly staff, and best of all-- 5pm wine and cheese every day! Our room on the top floor was quiet and had a nice view of the harbor and USS Yorktown. The exposed brick wall was charming and reminded us of our apartment in New York. The market area location meant that we could walk everywhere, and the proximity to the Ravenel Bridge meant that we could get to the beach and Shem Creek quickly. A wonderful time at a wonderful hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you so much for this great review! It is wonderful to know that we were part of a terrific first visit to Charleston. I am so glad to hear that from our nightly rate, to our rooms, to the rooftop terrace, everything about the Ansonborough Inn surpassed your expectations. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed all of our amenities, as well as our location. Thank you again for such a wonderful review--we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our favorite hotel to date!!! I have had the pleasure of staying in some wonderful hotels in Charleston (the Market Pavilion, the Mills House, Charleston Place) and have always enjoyed my stay. I was blown away, however, by the Ansonborough Inn. Our room was very large, but so cozy. What set this hotel apart for my family was the decor-- just beautiful! My husband (an architect major) was positively drooling over the exposed beams all weekend. My only two complaints would be that they are not pet friendly and the new rooftop area does not have a bar. But it is an absolute gem and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Wow--Thank you so much for this truly wonderful review! it is really nice to hear that among so many hotels in Charleston we are your favorite! I am so glad to hear that everything about the Ansonborouogh Inn (and especially our decor) were postive aspects of your visit to Charleston. Thank you again for the great review--we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were lucky to find this place. Thank you all who rated this place. We had a room right off the lobby, 102, which did not give us a view, but the room was great. The staff was very helpful in giving us tour advice and dinner ideas. The inn is close to everything. Market St. Is in easy walking distance. We were late for wine and cheese one day but they still got us each a glass of wine. Breakfast is a lot better than most. We are looking forward to watching fireworks from the roof lounge tonight. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

It was such a pleasure to meet you both during your time with us and I truly appreciate this great TripAdvisor Review! It is so rewarding to read that evrything about the Ansonborough Inn contributed to your enjoyable visit to Charleston. I am glad to know that you found the walk to the Market and other attractions to be an easy one and that breakfast was better than expected. I hope you enjoyed the Fourth of July fireworks, too! Thanks again for the great review--I can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I travel quite a bit and stay in a lot of hotels. I can say that Ansonborough Inn is easily at the top of the list in all regards. From the well appointed oversized rooms, to the impeccable service with a smile, it was a perfect experience. The inn's location two minutes from the city market allows you to be in the middle of everything quickly, but you don't experience the crowd and noise from your hotel. If you're planning a trip to Charleston, don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

What a glowing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It is great to know that we are at the top of your list for hotels and that everything about the Ansonborough Inn contributed to your enjoyment of your time with us. Thanks again for this great review--we hope to see you agian soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a romantic getaway for our honeymoon. We chose Charleston based on the things to do. We chose Ansonborough Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews, website and pictures. We were pleasantly surprised.everything about the Inn exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to return. Thanks to all of the staff from the front desk, housekeeping, breakfast crew, wine and cheese crew. We thank you all for awesome customer service. We felt at home. The Dawsons

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corshe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Wow--First and foremost, thank you for choosing the Ansonborough Inn for such a special occasion! It is so wonderful to know that we were a memorable part of your "happily ever after" and that everything about the hotel contributed to your enjoyment. I also am happy to hear that every single person here exemplified good customer service and made you feel at home. It really does mean a lot to know that you left here happy and pleased with our property. Thank you again for this loverly review--we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff was wonderful and accommodating. Wine and cheese reception at 5 was delicious. Beautiful rooftop terrace. This is a Historic inn that is a close walk from nightlife and restaurants. Shower pressure was good, nice high ceilings in the pristine rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlt11001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. It's great to know that you did some research and choose the Ansonborough Inn and were not disappointed. I love to hear that the staff were able to assist you with whatever you needed and that you enjoyed everything about the Ansonborough Inn. Thank you again for the lovely review--I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,888 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,653 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £124 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing