We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of historic Charleston!”
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
339 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of historic Charleston!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Mom and I spent two nights in this lovely old inn. It was beautifully restored. Perfect location for old historic Charleston. The evening cocktails and morning continental breakfast were both lovely much more than we expected and included in the room rate. Fitness center was small and there was no pool... But overall I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenK367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for taking the time to share this review on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that you and your mom enjoyed your time with us and that the hotel was perfectly suited to your needs. It is also great to know that both breakfast and wine & cheese surpassed your expectations. Thank you for saying that you would recommend us to others and we hope that we have the opportunity to see you both again in the future! Thanks again for this lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    207
    48
    24
    15
See reviews for
133
516
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in a junior suite. The room was spacious, clean and really beautifully restored and decorated. There is a roof top area in the hotel and the location is close to everything we wanted. We just loved it - thank you!

Room Tip: They all look fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank YOU for choosing the Ansonborough Inn for such a special occasion. I am delighted to know that the our hotel will be part of your memories of "happily ever after!" It is also great to know that were the perfect hotel for the beginning of your honeymoon and that evrything was exactly as you wanted. Thank you again for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for writing this great review. I hope to see you again on your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We got our usual good deal at the Fort Mill, SC Welcome Center (in spite of it being the end of Memorial Day weekend AND during Spoleto). Free, convenient parking just across the street.
The location is central, the rooms large with very high ceilings, the breakfast buffet has variety and the evening wine and cheese features pimento cheese (Southern delicacy).
Staff even more helpful than usual, especially Daniel who gave us a good recommendation for a new restaurant: Brasserie Gigi.
No comment on the 'footpath' this time!

Room Tip: Book at the Welcome Center and get free parking (a $15 value)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn again! There is nothing we love more than seeing a familiar face walk through our door and being able to say, "Welcome Back!" I am so happy to hear that you have repeatedly had an excellent time in our hotel and that it just keeps getting better and better! I am also delighted to know that you enjoy our complimentary offerings of both wine & cheese and breakfast. It's great to know that you found a tasty new restaurant, too! Thank you again for being loyal guests of the Ansonborough Inn--We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I staid at this inn for one night, checking in 05/26/2014. I booked the premium loft which has one king bed downstairs and one queen bed upstairs. The full bathroom is located downstairs, but there is also a powder room upstairs! These rooms have original oil paintings, a wet bar with mini refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. These rooms range from 600-700 square feet with 16 foot ceilings.

The check in was quick and friendly. They have parking if you need it. I encountered only one guest during my stay, so I have to say its very quiet, other than the dumpster trucks early morning. The inn is located very close to th market street, two or three blocks and so is King Steet where all the shopping spots are.

The room condition was top knotch.... I couldnt find a single issue I could say was negative....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
WOW! I am so happy to learn that you had a perfect visit to Charleston and a wonderful time at the Ansonborough Inn! It is great to know that you found availability in one of the only two premium lofts that we have. They are such special rooms and are often booked months ahead of time--so it's wonderful that you were able to stay in one. I am also happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and efficient and the location convenient. Memorial Day night, which was 05/26, is one of the quietest nights of the month, which is why you encountered so few guests. Thanks again for this great review and for choosing the Ansonborough Inn! I hope that we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Being from the South, I was hoping to experience some southern charm in Charleston, and I wasn't disappointed! This inn was everything I hoped it would be. I wanted to experience something unique for a girl's/bachelorette weekend in Charleston, and opted for the Ansonborough instead of a cookie cutter hotel. We LOVED our stay here. The exposed brick and beams added to the charm and all of the staff was so friendly. We had a bottle of Champagne sent up promptly, and immediately headed to the roof terrace to relax. They offer wine and yummy snacks every afternoon, along with coffee and cookies throughout the day. It was a great location and we walked everywhere - to the market, restaurants, a wine bar, etc. It is also walking distance to a grocery store so you can stock up for your stay. We are planning another girl's weekend to Charleston and we will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for writing this great TripAdvisor Review! I am so delighted to know that you and your friends enjoyed a fun and memorable visit to Charleston and that the Ansonborough Inn was perfectly suited to your needs. It is also great to know that we exemplified the "southern charm" that you were looking for and that when you left you were already looking forward to another visit to the Ansonborough Inn! I am also happy to hear that you found our location ideally suited for walking to all the sights, shopping, and restaurants that Charleston has to offer. Thank you again for this great review--we hope to see ya'all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Loved our stay in this unique venue. The physical building is a converted stationary factory from the early 1900's and the exposed brick and beams give it a stunning, unique charm. We stayed in room 211 with a 2floor loft second bed and powder room. Enjoyed every aspect of this inn.
The service was impeccable, the complimentary continental breakfast with the fresh fruit, pastries, bagels/breads/cereals, boiled eggs and hot dish was the perfect start to every day. The wine and cheese reception every day at 6-7 was wonderful and we took our glasses and nibblies to the rooftop terrace where there were comfy loungers and a wonderful waterfront view. Parking was right across from the inn and at $15 a day, it was very affordable. Rooms come with mini fridge and microwave and with the Harris Teeter grocery store across the street, it made for a convenient go to for snacks and wine. Can't say enough about this find. If you want a quaint stay in historical Charleston, within walking distance of the many restaurants and shops, stay here!! Will return for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of the Ansonborough Inn! You have no idea how much it means to all of us to know that our guests have had a great visit to Charleston and that the Ansonborough Inn is part of their great experience.
There are only two loft rooms in the hotel and they are some of our most in-demand rooms, so I am happy to hear that there was one available for you and that it was perfectly suited to your needs.
I am also delighted to know that our complimentary offerings surpassed your expectations and that you truly enjoyed everything about your time with us--from the rooftop to the rooms to the location!
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at the Ansonborough Inn on TripAdvisor and, above all, thank you for choosing the Ansonborough Inn! I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is a wonderful and should not be missed on your visit to Charleston! The rooms are the largest I've ever seen in Charleston. Their 24hr coffee, hot water and beverage station is so convent for the traveler. They have a comfortable roof-top deck that is great to relax and use the WiFi. The staff is equally fabulous, especially Daniel who was very hospitable during wine and cheese time. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trsta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so very much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for sharing this great review on TripAdvisor! We are all delighted to know that you loved everything about your time with us and that you were completely happy throughout your visit to Charleston. I am so happy to hear that the weather was suitable for enjoying the rooftop terrace and that the staff helped you with everything you needed. Thanks again for taking the time to post this great review and for choosing the Ansonborough Inn! We all hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,734 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Property: Ansonborough Inn
Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing