We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting for a long weekend!”
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Not only was the location superb (easy walking to restaurants, shopping, bars, the Harris Teeter across the street and a few simple turns to be at Folly Beach in around 20 minutes), but the interior decor and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff exceeded expectation. You feel as if you're staying in a bed and breakfast, with exposed beams and lovely oil paintings on every wall. And even the complimentary breakfast was surprising in how many options you are offered. You can tell that everyone, from front desk staff to the lovely young women who serviced our room were happy and enjoyed their jobs. I coordinated several rooms and had to adjust them several times, which the front desk staff was more than happy to accommodate - I will always come back to Charleston, and now I will always book at the Ansonborough!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AshSpen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

I cannot thank you enough for this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like yours that really make our day, as we know that we have succeeded in providing guests with a memorable and happy visit both to Charleston and to the Ansonborough Inn. You are correct in stating that we enjoy your jobs. This is part of the reason reviews like yours bring a smile to everyone's face. Not only do we love our jobs, we love the Ansonborough Inn, so it is particularly rewarding when our guests love it as much as we do! I am so glad to hear that you had multiple rooms and that everything went smoothly with any adjustments and changes that you needed to make your reservations. Thank you again for writing this great review and, even more importantly, thank you for choosing the Ansonborough Inn. I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Traveled to Charleston on vacation and enjoyed our stay at this quiet spot close to downtown. The rooms were well appointed, the bed very comfortable, and with soaring 15-16 foot ceilings and giant oak beams, it felt like being in a castle. The staff was very accomodating, always pleasant and courteous. The rooftop terrace was a wonderful retreat. There is no service up there, but you're welcome to bring your own refreshments. Breakfast was included, and had a wealth of fresh fruit, pastry and one hot item. The wine and cheese hour in the evening was also very nice and included fresh fruit as well. We spent the time on the roof enjoying the snack in that peaceful setting. No restaurant, pool or spa, but we wouldn't have used them anyway, and there are great restaurants and other services very close by. Definitely recommend this place, and we will be back.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is worth the extra money for an even more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for sharing this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that we were a "restful retreat" after your days exploring Charleston. It is great to know that you found the hotel convenient, the room comfortable, and the amenities to be substantial and pleasant. I am glad to see that you were able to enjoy some time on the rooftop and take in the great views of Charleston. Thank you very much for saying that you would recommend our property to others--it is wonderful to hear that we have been recommended by previous guests when new guests check in. Thanks again for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very large room and very friendly staff. Location is great and almost anything is reachable by walking or pedicab. Nice rooftop deck. Old Stationary warehouse converted to an Inn. We rode our tandem locally for breakfast and then over the Ravenel bridge. Charleston is much more bicycle friendly then in the past.

Room Tip: We had a basic room and it was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for posting this great review on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that everything about your stay with us--from the room, to the staff, to the location--were exactly what you were looking for and that you had a great visit to Charleston! I am also happy to hear that you found Charleston in general to be more bicycle friendly than on previous visits. It must have been delightful to ride a tandem bike over the gorgeous Ravenel Bridge! Thanks again for this great review--I hope that we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Walking distance to the Market, great staff, great bar and a beautiful room. This place is worth the money for a romantic get away but close to the action. Some people might not like being street level but it's not too loud.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Ansonborough Inn on TripAdvisor! It sounds like everything was perfect during the time that you spent with us and I am delighted to hear that this was the case. Reviews like yours means that we have fulfilled our goal of ensuring that our guests go home with wonderful memories not only of Charleston, but also of the Ansonborough Inn. Thank you so much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for taking the time to write this review. I hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Mom and I spent two nights in this lovely old inn. It was beautifully restored. Perfect location for old historic Charleston. The evening cocktails and morning continental breakfast were both lovely much more than we expected and included in the room rate. Fitness center was small and there was no pool... But overall I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenK367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for taking the time to share this review on TripAdvisor! I am so happy to hear that you and your mom enjoyed your time with us and that the hotel was perfectly suited to your needs. It is also great to know that both breakfast and wine & cheese surpassed your expectations. Thank you for saying that you would recommend us to others and we hope that we have the opportunity to see you both again in the future! Thanks again for this lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in a junior suite. The room was spacious, clean and really beautifully restored and decorated. There is a roof top area in the hotel and the location is close to everything we wanted. We just loved it - thank you!

Room Tip: They all look fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank YOU for choosing the Ansonborough Inn for such a special occasion. I am delighted to know that the our hotel will be part of your memories of "happily ever after!" It is also great to know that were the perfect hotel for the beginning of your honeymoon and that evrything was exactly as you wanted. Thank you again for choosing the Ansonborough Inn and for writing this great review. I hope to see you again on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We got our usual good deal at the Fort Mill, SC Welcome Center (in spite of it being the end of Memorial Day weekend AND during Spoleto). Free, convenient parking just across the street.
The location is central, the rooms large with very high ceilings, the breakfast buffet has variety and the evening wine and cheese features pimento cheese (Southern delicacy).
Staff even more helpful than usual, especially Daniel who gave us a good recommendation for a new restaurant: Brasserie Gigi.
No comment on the 'footpath' this time!

Room Tip: Book at the Welcome Center and get free parking (a $15 value)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much for choosing the Ansonborough Inn again! There is nothing we love more than seeing a familiar face walk through our door and being able to say, "Welcome Back!" I am so happy to hear that you have repeatedly had an excellent time in our hotel and that it just keeps getting better and better! I am also delighted to know that you enjoy our complimentary offerings of both wine & cheese and breakfast. It's great to know that you found a tasty new restaurant, too! Thank you again for being loyal guests of the Ansonborough Inn--We can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,241 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £151 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing