We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful quaint inn.”
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Great character & location. Loved the art and woodwork in the lobby & room! Oil paintingsof cute animals everywhere. Off the beaten path but close enough to walk to everything in touristy area w/out feeling shoved in a touristy area! Loft room had a separate bedroom upstairs and kitchen/bar area & couch on lower level. Harris Teeter grocery store is across a quiet little street for nice wines & snacks. Parking was free and vey conveninent, Was a little loud in AM when trucks were delivering to grocery store. Wine reception was nice and so was breakfast buffet, although a little light, no meats just pastries, quice and fruit/yogurt. I will definately stay here again because it was just so nice and I travel alot and like nice hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippynewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2009

I have been to Charleston twice this year and stayed at the Ansonborough Inn both times. The location is perfect, accomodations are beautiful and the happy hour/breakfast are great!! I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The Ansonborough Inn exceeded our expectations. The Studio King room was very comfortable and included full couch, mini kitchen with sink, microwave and mini refrigerator. The wine and cheese (spread, grapes, crackers) was a great perk along with the cookies, coffee, hot tea, lemonade, and sweet tea that was available all day. The breakfast had a nice array of breads, bagels, muffins, mixed fruit, yogurt, cereals, and one day- sausage biscuits. There is a business center and small exercise room as well. Though weather did not allow us a chance to enjoy it, the rooftop terrace offered partial views of the river and city. Only a short walk from Market Street, the Ansonborough Inn allowed us to explore Charleston without worrying about parking. It is $12 a day to park in the Inn's private lot. The reception/concierge was helpful in suggesting daily activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My 20 + trip to Charleston, and 6th time to Ansonborough Inn.
What sets this inn apart from other accomodations:
1. Different room configurations including 1-2 bedrooms, suites with living areas, and kitchenettes. This allows many options for couples and children, friends together, etc. On this recent trip, my cousin and I shared a 2 bedroom suite and were able to have separate sleeping spaces for the cost of one room. Kitchen facilities made it easy to buy food at Harris Teeter across the street , and heat or store this in our kitchenette.
2. Continental breakfast- hot stuff, cold stuff, good for you stuff and not so good for you stuff. Endless coffee, fresh juice- all included .
3. Wine and cheese. OK, here it is - I go to Charleston for the Pimento Dip.,orange concoction that it is- nothing covers a cracker better. Add some icy chablis and relax for an hour before dinner and that's 5 o'clock snack time at the Ansonborough Inn. Again-all included.
4.The roof top deck. Lovely to spend the cooling late day and early evening above the city. Just as lovely to spend an afternoon in the sun in this great spot.

Noise- not a huge problem, but some rooms are noisier than others. Check with the front desk if this is an issue for you;I'm sure they'd be helpful

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHSeaurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights in the Ansonborough Inn, which wasn't long enough. Charleston is a charming place with plenty to see and the Ansonborough Inn is the ideal location from which to go out and explore. The hotel offers contintental breakfast and hors d'ouevres and wine in the evening, both of which are very good. The staff are very helpful and friendly as are the people of Charleston.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerning60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ansonborough Inn for my birthday. It was our first trip to Charleston and we were very pleased with the hotel. It was walking distance to the market place and the hotel rooms were beautiful. There is plenty of space and the structure was unique. The bathrooms are updated and the beds are comfortable.

Although our stay was pleasant, I do agree with other reviews that the hotel is not sound proof. We could hear the neighbors above us "enjoying" their stay. Its not really something I want to hear on my vacation.

The staff is friendly and the breakfast was ok. Overall we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The Inn was beautiful. Clearly paid close attention to decorating during the remodel. However, the Inn spent no money on soundproofing! We stayed in Room 107 on the first floor. The room was beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. We were very disappointed that the king bed was actually two twin beds pushed together and that we could hear every conversation from the lobby and the rooms next to us. We even heard people complaining that they were on the second floor above our room and could hear our baby squeal throughout the morning as if she was in their room. I was awoken several times throughout the night hearing chatter, tv, and general noise. The Inn was pretty but would not stay there again because of the noise.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank ldkave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,652 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £124 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing