We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ansonborough Inn...Full of Character and Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ansonborough Inn...Full of Character and Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

When my girlfriend and I travel, we look for unique places to stay that have character and charm. In Charleston, the Ansonborough Inn fits the bill. Located just steps from the harbor on the corner of Bay and Hasell Streets, the Ansonborough is a three-story boutique hotel with a nautical theme. The building was constructed around 1901 and originally used as a stationer's warehouse. The current owners purchased the property in 1999 and transformed the building into the handsome upscale inn you see today.

The hotel is named for Admiral George Anson of England. Anson won a large section of Charleston, which also bears his name, in a high stakes poker game back in the early 1700s. The admiral's rich nautical heritage is the inspiration for the inn's interior. Warm, muted tones perfectly blend with the rough-hewn heart pine beams that are exposed throughout the building. On the walls, you'll find ornately-framed paintings that hearken back to the days of pirating and Jolly Ole England. Nautical art is masterfully fused with paintings of another kind...dogs. The Breakfast Room alone has dozens of paintings of cocker spaniels and dogs that the British used for hunting. Pet lovers could spend hours trying to pick out their favorite.

Suites at the Ansonborough are oversized loft-like spaces that range in size from 450 square feet to 750 square feet. The average hotel room is only 288 square feet. So no matter which suite you choose, you'll have plenty of room to spread out and make it your home away from home. The suites feature a large living area with a wet bar, flat-screen televisions and marble-tiled bathrooms with brass fixtures. High vaulted ceilings with exposed beams and chandeliers complete the room's look.

Complimentary wine and cookies are provided each night and a healthy breakfast is available at sunrise. A rooftop terrace provides spectacular 360-degree views of historic Charleston and the harbor. Market Street, Rainbow Row and the trendy shops on King are a short walk from the Ansonborough, making it a convenient location for any traveler wanting to see the sights.

Suites average between $150 to $250 a night depending on the day of the week and time of the year. There's an additional charge for parking, which is located on-site.

View my video tour of the Ansonborough at [-----------]

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BragabondNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    198
    48
    24
    15
See reviews for
129
492
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed here for a long week-end. Our first room, which was their nicest, "the Admiral's room" is spacious and quiet. Must have been a great suite in which to throw a party 20 years ago. Overall cleaniness was a bit below average. Bedding was nice, bed was comfy. Nice plush Guest robes. Moved the next morning to a smaller suite that smelled moldy, ( old Charleston-like). They were quick to offer us another similar room, which did not have the smell. It was a bit cleaner than the mega suite, but when we puled down the sheets, they were not clean. The manager responded quickly with housekeeping. And offered us fair consideration for our inconvenience (50% off).

Be sure that you like the dated, cluttered look, with alot of cheap guilted framed art. If you like this look, then go for it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Breakfast is prett weak. Rooms a nice and clean. Location just north of market is convenient and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southsidemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel with a group of my girlfriends for a long weekend. Our room was horrible! It had an overwhelming stench, which we deduced must be from mildew or mold. It really smelled like a combination of cat urine and cooked cabbage. We checked in very late and decided not to do anything until the morning. While the staff was friendly, they have proven to be extremely incompetent. We asked if there is anything they could do, hoping to switch rooms. They said they had no other free rooms and that because it is an old building and the hot southern air it sometimes smells. Had I know that it would sometimes smell I would have rented a room elsewhere. The staff granted us a 10% discount, but really for $279+ a night I really think that staying in a room that smells in unacceptable. In addition, the manager was not there over the weekend so we had to call to complain once we were home. After three phone calls and messages I finally had the chance to speak to the Manager, Daniel, and he said that he would have to check with the owners and he would get back to me in a few days. It has been over two weeks and he has not contacted me. I however, had to again deal with the staff, who charged all of the rooms rented in the group to one card, even though we all provided our credit cards and received receipts indicating that our cards were charged? My friend had to spend over 45 minutes on the phone with the staff explaining their mistake.

I would stay far away from this hotel! Clearly they do not care if their guests have bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnysunshinerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowcountryHotels, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
I am very surprised by the comments from this guest of ours. This issue did take some time to resolve due to the fact that neither guest was registered to this room, and our hotel's strict privacy guidelines. When we spoke last, Ms. M***** agreed, and was happy with the 10% reduction in rate. We are very sorry that this smell appeared, and created a bad experience for their Ansonborough Inn stay. When the problem was brought to our staff’s attention, we tried everything possible to correct this issue; however,we are still uncertain what caused this problem. There has been no problems with odors in this room, and vanished shortly after the guest left. We tried to change rooms for the guests; however we were completely sold out that night/weekend, and were unable to move them. We also offered to find another hotel accommodation for them with no charges for our room; however, they did not want to leave, because of the late hour. We strive to make all our guests happy to the best of our ability, and try to correct any issues or problems that happen so our guests will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

I was disappointed that all the historic/quaint B&B's with good reviews were booked by the time I was looking for a reservation. But the Ansonborough was wonderful. Huge room, quiet hotel, tons of great art on the walls, nice breakfast, cookies in the afternoon for my husband's sweet tooth and wine & cheese during happy hour for me. The location was great. Waling distance to the restaurants and market street, but far enough away to be quiet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoKim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ansonborough Inn for three nights beginning April 30. The room we were given was very nice, but it was RIGHT on busy East Bay Street (first floor), so was very noisy. We asked to change rooms, but there was no availability (we could have changed to a new room each night, but that would have been a lot of bother after we'd already unpacked before realizing the noise level). The staff was very nice about it, and we did receive an adjustment on our bill. I highly recommend this hotel if you are very specific when booking that you want to be in a quiet room off the street. There are also several rooms which open right onto the lobby, and while I can't speak from personal experience, it seems that these might be noisy, as well, with people checking in and walking through the lobby. The hotel location is several blocks from the main Old Town area, but it's easily walkable. We left our car parked at the hotel ($12/night) except when we were going on day trips out of Charleston. The breakfast each morning was very good. We had thought about going out to breakfast one day, but decided that definitely wasn't necessary.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edina_MNLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

We were looking for a place close to the center of Charleston where we could just park the car just walk around for several days. Based on TA recommendations we booked here and were very pleased we did. The rooms were spacious and spotless. The entire staff was most pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese sessions and the roof top deck for an evening glass or two after dinner. The continental breakfast provided a good selection of bagels, cereals, fruit, and pastries. The inn is near a ship offloading area, but that didn't prove to be a problem as the walls are thick and sound isolated. Occasionally the noise of truck back-up signals during deliveries to the Harris Teeter store across the street was noticeable, but nothing major. We will be booking here again!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breezdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Property: Ansonborough Inn
Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing