We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battery Carriage House is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Battery Carriage House Inn
Ranked #19 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2007

Fellow Travelers,

We stayed at the Battery Carriage House Inn for our 1st wedding anniversary/my birthday celebration, from 9/30-10/2/07.

My top 10 descriptions/comments on the inn:
1.) Wine and cheese in the afternoon is VERY nice, and is common among many of the B&B's. Definitely use this opportunity to catch up with other travelers/front desk staff and discuss dining/touring options.
2.) Call the inn directly for a better rate, or check online directly at their web site.
3.) Some of the furnishings are outdated, but so is everything in Charleston. Understand that antiques and old fixtures add to the charm and ambiance of this B&B and a historic city. You will rarely find "new" furnishings, and if you do, then you aren't really getting a feel for the old city charm that Charleston offers.
4.) We didn't see anything spooky, but we weren't in room 8 or 10 either. We stayed in room #1, and there was a bit of mold in the shower, but it's an old house and it didn't bother me.
5.) Breakfast was fine, coffee and juice of excellent quality! We had it delivered to our room, but there was a beautiful porch area right outside our front door with table and chairs, as well as the arbor (common) area. We walked in and out of our room with our breakfast, it was delightful. The croissant and jam were delicious, and I always eat raisin bran, so it was a normal breakfast for me. The fruit was missing though; that would be a nice addition. If you eat a giant "hot" breakfast, you will not find it here. So, don't book and complain about it later, as they describe the breakfast on their web site.
6.) Staff were INCREDIBLY friendly, all the time. At check-in and check-out, so very helpful. Cleaning staff were exceptionally friendly too. Always patient and willing to assist.
7.) The previous review is correct, you cannot tour the home...but there are several homes to tour, including the Calhoun Mansion, located nearby on Meeting Street, and the Edmonston/Alston Home, just around the corner on East Battery Street. Really neat homes, check them out! $15 to get into Calhoun...the gardens alone are free and worth stopping to see.
8.) "The Battery" and the white point gardens are right out the front door, and parking is free and right on the street. You can't beat it! If you stay up near the Market, you will have a problem parking and it will cost you.
9.) Make sure you take a walking tour...I recommend "America By Foot," as the front desk staff recommended to us. The carriage rides are ok, but the walking tours are more worth your money if you can tolerate a lot of walking, and it's great exercise. Make sure you go to the very top of the upper roof at the Vendue Inn, great view of the ocean, and yummy cocktails.
10.) The Battery Carriage House Inn is nice, and about average for what you will pay for Bed & Breakfast's around town. For the price and location, you can't beat it by staying here.

Enjoy your stay in Charleston and the Battery Carriage House Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktisinwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stayed at the Battery Carriage House Sept. 25-27 and had a wonderful time. Having lived in Charleston when we were married we wanted to be there again on our 25th Anniversary. We chose the Battery Carriage House based on other reviews, friends who live in Charleston's comments, and on what we knew to be a great location.

We stayed in room number 11, which is upstairs over the reception area, and it was a very pretty room. with four poster bed and lace canopy. We liked our room because it is more private and is the only one accessed through the lobby.

The other guests staying at the Inn when we were there were free with restaurant feedback, and visiting with them over wine and cheese in the afternoon was most enjoyable.

Breakfast was served (at our request) in the Arbor. The juice, coffee, cereal and croissant with butter and jam were delightful, and only one day were the mosquitoes an issue. The manager had insect spray, which we used and got back to our coffee.

Staff was always cordial, hospitable and helpful with suggestions on the area. We walked everywhere, and basically left our car parked across the street from the Inn for two days.

We could not have chosen a better place to stay for our anniversary celebration, and we commend the Battery Carriage House.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cornelia2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

My family and I stayed at the Battery Carriage House Inn for one night in June 2007. Believe me when I say that one night was more than enough! We were very dissappointed when we were shown our room. It was located on the basement level of the house. There are not any rooms available for guests in the house itself. We did not realize this when we made our reservations. We just assumed that we would be staying in the main house. Actually, you do not get to go into the main house at all. The web site is very misleading. Take note when I say that there was no value for the money spent to stay there. Our room was small and for the entire time of our stay there was a shower unit parked right outside of our door. Evidently, it was being tranferred somewhere, however, it never reached its destination. The receptionist was aware of the probloem when she walked us to our room. She said that she would take care of it, however, that never happened. It was just wonderful having to look at that shower unti outisde of our door the entire time we were there. We actually had to step around it to leave our room.

I hope that you get the picture--don't be taken in by their web site. It's a joke. They have the biggest rip off scheme going! The bathroom had black mold growing in the tile. Breakfast was ridiculous. It all added up to them just about throwing a croissand or raisin bran cereal at you. My family and I were furious. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I kept thinking that the owners would be as upset as my family and I if they had to stay at such of an awful place. Beware: take your business elsewhere if you want to have a pleasant vacation experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank kam38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
batterych, Innkeeper at Battery Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2007

It is a tricky matter to raise an 850 pound tub to the 4th floor of a home such as this. When the tub was unfortunately dropped off on the day of their visit, the delivery men quickly realized they had not the manpower nor the tools necessary for this move. Amidst their copious apologies, they promised to return first thing in the morning to complete their task. Unhappy though we were about this unexpected turn of events, there was not much to be done about it that evening. The walkway to and around the room was NOT restricted in any way. Upon the guest's arrival, we explained the situation and they seemed to understand the logic that there was simply nothing to be done until the following day.
In addition, nowhere in any of our collateral or website does it state that guests will be staying in the main home or even able to tour it. It is a shame that they simply "assumed" that they would be staying in the main house rather than asking any of our staff.
Our silver tray continental breakfast service is delivered to the guest's room with a smile--please be assured, nothing is "thrown."
We pride ourselves on taking excellent care of our visitors and I am saddened that someone would write this review rather than speak to me directly and afford me an opportunity to make their stay more pleasurable. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2007

We loved our stay at the Inn! The location, across from Battery Park, was excellent. Our corner room on the ground floor was quiet and clean. Our bathroom was pretty small, but this was not a big concern for us. The weekend that we stayed there in April was unseasonably cold, but, contrary to what was mentioned in some other reviews, we did not have any problems at all with the heating in our room. The staff was also very friendly and helpful, and there is wireless internet access in the lobby. I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SillyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

Would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast for a stay in Charleston. We've been there twice now, and would definitely go back again. It's in a great location, easily accessible to Charleston's attractions. Some of the attractive features: Complementary breakfast, served either in your room or in the garden, very comfortable and well maintained rooms, complementary cheese and wine in the early evening, and just delightful and helpful staff. And the price is very reasonable compared to other lodging options in Charleston. Try this place!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelerMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2007

The Battery Carriage House Inn’s size, charm and relaxing atmosphere are exactly what we wanted when we stayed here for the 2002 Memorial Day Weekend. This is a small (11 rooms) bed and breakfast, and not a full-blown, cookie-cutter hotel with myriad services and amenities.

The historic 1843 private house stands across the street from White Point Gardens, which overlooks Charleston Harbor. This is a residential neighborhood at a distance from the noise of tourists and the business district to the north. Fine restaurants and historic sights can be easily reached on foot, however.

Sitting behind the main house, you access the Inn through the path that horse carriages would have taken. It is removed from the street, and set in a garden; it is blessedly peaceful and quite. Our second-floor room, at the far end of the balcony, was dappled with morning sun from the east-facing window, and bright afternoon light from the westward facing one.

For two of the four mornings we stayed here we took breakfast under the garden arbor. The other two mornings we had breakfast in our cozy, clean and well-appointed room, with its four-poster bed and lace canopy. The melt-in-your-mouth, buttery, light and flaky croissants were as good as we enjoyed in Paris!

From the Golden Era — Built in 1843 by Samuel Stevens, a cotton factor, a middle man between the cotton planter and the cotton buyer, when Charleston was at the height of its glory, No. 20 South Battery was bought in 1859, by John F. Blacklock, another cotton factor, who was in residence here throughout the heavy bombardment of the Battery during the War Between the States; he lived here until 1870.

“Well stocked with books and engravings, and commanding from two sides noble views of the city & harbor”
— Alfred L. Dennis, a New York guest of Colonel Richard Lathers on 5.March.1874, is impressed with the newly added 4th-story library at #20 South Battery.

Colonel Richard Lathers bought the house in 1870. A native South Carolinian millionaire, who defended the Union in the War! He set about renovating the place for the princely sum of $10,000; those changes included adding a ballroom, where the Colonel held lavish receptions. He intended to use his wealth and Yankee connections to help rebuild Charleston and ease her reentry into the Union with social and political gatherings, uniting leaders of the North and South. Despite the elegance of these affairs, little could be done to reconcile Charleston’s elite to the Union.

The Modern Age — Colonel Lathers, frustrated that his efforts had come to naught, sold the mansion to Andrew Simons in 1874 and returned to New York. Simons, a defender of the Confederacy whose fortune survived the War in English investments, was an enterprising Charlestonian, a founder and president of the First National Bank of Charleston and the Imperial Fertilizer Company. The Simons family lived here for over 45 years. Simons is the great-great-grandfather of John Drayton Hastie, who currently owns the house, and the inn, with his wife Kat.

Sin and Vice — Today the rooms of the carriage house host a respectable clientele. But this was not always the case. In the 1920’s and the 1930’s call girls stripped for seedy traveling salesmen in these very rooms. Shocking! It is rumored that a Confederate colonel’s unsettled spirit walks about one of the rooms at the Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vonOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Fabulous location, fabulous concierge, fabulous garden, good (for Charleston) prices, cozy rooms, and a possible ghost!

The Battery Carriage House is located within a nineteenth century residence on the the south tip of Charleston, opposite a quiet park in perhaps the fanciest neighborhood east of Pacific Heights (San Francisco). Although there are few restaurants nearby, the walk into town is short (10 minutes), exquisite, and necessary (the food is very good and very plentiful and you will want to walk it off).

Rooms are small but nicely decorated and they all face a beautiful interior courtyard (no street noise).

A modest continental breakfast is included and it can be brought to your room or served in the garden.

While it's not quite an Architectural Digest environment, you get a nice room and surroundings and a very pleasant and helpful staff.

I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CatFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
The Meeting Street Inn
#7 of 39 in Charleston
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 39 in Charleston
222 reviews
The Governor's House Inn
#2 of 39 in Charleston
492 reviews
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Charleston
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Carriage House Inn

Address: 20 S Battery St, Charleston, SC 29401-2727 (Formerly 1843 Battery Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £74 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Battery Carriage House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Charleston inn offers true Southern charm accommodations amongst a backdrop of one of the most serene areas on the peninsula. We are located right in the heart of Charleston's iconic Battery area and only steps away from the promenade with stunning views of the Charleston Harbor. You will be close enough to everything you wish to see and do while enjoying our fair city, while returning to relax in your peaceful slice of Lowcountry paradise. Let our staff guide you during your Charleston journey, and help ease any potential travel woes. We are always more than happy to assist in any way we can! Tea and cookies will be here for your midday pick-me-up, and unwind before enjoying an evening on the town with wine and cheese in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Battery Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1843 Battery Carriage House Hotel Charleston
1843 Battery Carriage House Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing