We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our secret in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Battery Carriage House Inn
Ranked #20 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Hudson Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our secret in Charleston”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We love Charleston and have been coming back every winter for almost a decade now and the only place we would ever consider staying is the Battery Carriage House. It is definitely our home away from home and we’ve stayed there up to two weeks at a time. We love the history, the location, the atmosphere, the quiet, but mostly the staff – they are wonderful, especially the manager Elizabeth, and Gena and Crystal who do so much to help make your stay pleasant. You can’t stay any more south of Broad than the Battery Carriage and yet have walking access to most of Charleston. The only reason we would not recommend it is to make sure we have no problem in making a reservation in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    31
    25
    19
    16
See reviews for
17
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Location is wonderful, if you are wanting to really wander Charleston this place will serve you well. The street parking is not a problem, there were plenty of spaces. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Very clean and the house is beautiful however the majority of the house is a private residence, the B&B is only the lower level and rear. The property is still beautiful and really neat but not quite the full B&B experience. We have stayed at quite a few B&B's we like to avoid the chains so we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Hill, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stay at the Battery Carriage Inn on our trips to Charleston. We have stayed in almost every room and try a different one almost every time. We love the location right at Battery Point with the park and waterfront. We also love the old building and the garden. The king rooms up front are really nice with a space to relax outside. We hope to keep coming back for many years to come.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

I dont know what all of the negativity is about from some of the other posts, but my wife and I had a really good time staying here in room number 10. The night hostess was a hoot and was very professional and helpful. The room was really nice and the bathroom was HUGE! There was no indication that we were going to stay in the main house, hence the name "Battery CARRIAGE House Inn" not Battery House Inn. The continental breakfast was very nice and plentiful. If you require a "Hot Breakfast" then go see the Inn Keeper and I'm sure that she will recommend a very quaint local place to satisfy your bacon and egg cravings. The price also included wine and cheese "primer" to start our evening out. The wine was very good, not "watered down" amd we could consume as much or as little as we desired. Overall, the Battery Carriage House Inn was a very nice and quaint place to spend our evening. I really think that if you want to spend an enchanting evening in historic Charleston, give the Battery Carriage House in a try! As far as the price, I cannot comment if it is pricey or not because I did not price any other bed and breakfasts in the area. I can say that the Days Inn on Meeting St. was around $126 per night for a queen bed and a ton of screaming kids in a pool. Can you put a price on peace and tranquility?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maritimemongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Free Union, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Awful! My husband and I reserved two nights at the Battery Carriage House because the B&B that we were spending most of our trip with was full. We left after the first night, which is something that we very rarely do.

Pros:
-Location
-The entrance is very pretty.

Cons:
-The room was extremely small.
-The bathroom was dirty (hair of a different color and length than mine on the walls and dirty/moldy grout).
-The prices are outrageous for what you get. We stayed at another Charleston B&B for 60% of this price that was literally 20x the size.

I would have more to say but really? Is any more information needed?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I am now glad that I only had to stay one night in room 10 and that when I called to reserve a second night they were all booked up. It was the most depressing night of my whole vacation. When we checked in we had to wait for someone to finish there conversation in the back. We were then taken through this tunnel to the stairs, the ground is not level so be sure to wear flat shoes. When we were let into our room it was just the bed, with the head at a down hill slant because the floor was uneven, a small desk and chair, and two chair that were water stained by the windows. There was no view because the neighbors had planted a bunch of plants outside the window so you could not see there yard. The choices for breakfast were Raisin Bran, Special K, or english muffins with juices and coffee. Not worth the money I spent to stay there, I would have enjoyed a hotel much more, I will always remember my 21st anniverary as the night I would rather forget because of my experience at this place.

Room Tip: Anything might be better then room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked a trip for my parents at the Battery Carriage House and found the experience top rate from start to finish. I called several months in advance to secure a date for my parents and worked with the manager to put together a custom package for things that my parents would be interested in - the ghost package during high season, basically. The inn didn't have this as a set package for that time of year but worked with me to put it all together with the same providers at the high season rates, which I thought was awesome. Elizabeth, the manager was great and followed up with me, as promised, as we got closer to the date to make sure everything was coordinated. My parents had a scheduling conflict and called the inn to move the dates, and the inn accomodated them and took the time to call me to make sure I was aware of it. Great attention to detail. Upon my parent's arrival they had all the elements fo the package lined up and provided all the information my parents needed, the staff was very pleasant and efficient and my parent's loved the inn. In addition to the great attention by the staff they particularly loved the garden and patio dining for breakfast and wine in the later afternoon. I highly recommend this inn and look forward to going there as well when we are next in South Carolina.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
661 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,015 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#29 of 62 in Charleston
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestowne
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
The Governor's House Inn
#3 of 40 in Charleston
463 reviews
Charlestowne
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Carriage House Inn

Property: Battery Carriage House Inn
Address: 20 South Battery, Charleston, SC 29401-2727 (Formerly 1843 Battery Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Battery Carriage House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Charleston inn offers true Southern charm accommodations amongst a backdrop of one of the most serene areas on the peninsula. We are located right in the heart of Charleston's iconic Battery area and only steps away from the promenade with stunning views of the Charleston Harbor. You will be close enough to everything you wish to see and do while enjoying our fair city, while returning to relax in your peaceful slice of Lowcountry paradise. Let our staff guide you during your Charleston journey, and help ease any potential travel woes. We are always more than happy to assist in any way we can! Tea and cookies will be here for your midday pick-me-up, and unwind before enjoying an evening on the town with wine and cheese in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Battery Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1843 Battery Carriage House Hotel Charleston
1843 Battery Carriage House Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing