We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Battery Carriage House Inn
Ranked #19 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a nice long weekend here. The room was pleasant and clean. The building and grounds overall need some attention to return to its once grand state. Here is what they did exceptionally well, the concierge was so nice and helpful both before and after we arrived. My husband had them order a flower arrangement and it was exceptional. They helped us with tours, transportation, restaurant suggestions and more. So the actual physical location earned a 3 and the staff earned a 5, giving them an average of a 4.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Battery Carriage House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our recent stay in January found the establishment lacking in amenities and maintenance. We have stayed at this B&B on 2 other occasions over the past 25 years. The place has gone through some renovations during that time from very small single rooms with marginal comforts to a more expansive establishment with several rooms of varying room/bed choices and an enlarged lobby/office space in the basement.

Unfortunately, while this stay was in one of their higher priced/quality rooms it was certainly not worth the $237.22 tariff (including taxes) per night. The web site, in my opinion, is a bit deceptive in that it shows the lovely old manse in the Battery area. However, there are no rooms in the main house as the owners reside there. All rooms are either at ground level (2 under the front porch), or several in the rear of the property at 2nd floor level.

We were staying in a king sized bedroom…this does not mean kingsized room. One must remember that this is a very old home and as such is limited by historical and a "footprint" to the size a room can be. That said, there are no restrictions on HOW one should expect a room to be.

There should be working exhaust fans that do not sound as though a tank is coming through the bathroom; there should be latches on windows for safety and function (one of our windows did not have this and only the turn latch on the shutters that kept the shutters in the closed position…bowing into the room and allowing cold air in and no security. The slide latch at top and bottom were missing or inoperable. There were no screens so that without the turn latch the window was open directly into the area outside and the street a few steps away.)

If one advertises WIFI it should be functioning; the flat screen tv was positioned into an alcove parallel to the king size bed…rendering it difficult for one to view a program unless positioned on one's side or turning and laying across the bed to view on one's back in front.
The bathroom had been updated to include a raised toilet and tub which were both very clean including the tiling as were the sinks. However, due to water seepage the paint was delaminating from the tub and wall areas…would have been better just to remove the tub and install a shower…easier for people to get into and out of the shower without mishaps.

The bed was roomy, as it should have been for a king size,..but, it is time to rotate or replace the mattress/box spring as we found ourselves constantly rolling to the center of the bed during the night.

The heater was functioning well and since it was unseasonably cold for the time of year a welcomed respite from the outside temps. We imagine that with the 2 steps down from street level into the room that would probably assist in keeping the room cool along with the overhead porch cutting off the sun heat in the summer months.

The room presented as nice as could be expected in such a place…however, one does expect that the area be dusted and vacuumed. The lamp shades, tables and carpet need thorough cleaning. We could write our names in the layer of dust and this was next to where we ate our breakfast. Light switches should be functioning and with all it's parts. Lastly, the wall sconces need to be replaced or re-attached to the wall since they are more than tilting/slanting and will soon be on the bed or floor.

The room tariff included a Continental Breakfast: One could order several items from the menu of: half grapefruit, bagel and cream cheese; coffee; tea; croissant and juices. These could be served in the room or out in the rear garden area or under the porch area outside a couple of rooms. While we knew this going in to our reservation…it would have been nice to have had the bread items arrive fresh and soft; not stale/overheated, etc. Coffee did arrive in separate pots since we ordered regular and decaf. Both were very good.

In conclusion, one might wonder why we would have stayed a a place that clearly hasn't improved too much over the years and that is a good question. The answers are simple: We did not select this B & B.The couple we were traveling with made the reservations. If we had known ahead of time, we would have recommended another establishment. However, the location is really very nice…across from the Battery park and walk, rather quiet and close to several historical houses in close proximity. So, all in all, it was only 2 days and it was… after all is said and done…Charleston!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boocarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Beautiful inn. Grounds are lovely. Situated on South Battery and White Point Garden allows guests to watch the sun set over James Island and the Ashley River. The Battery Carriage Inn is in a beautiful residential neighborhood. Perfect for strolling. The room was spotless. The service was exactly what one would expect in a Charleston B and B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank briarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Battery Carriage House Inn and I must say that it was one of the most relaxing weekends I have had in a while! When we checked in, the lady in the office was nothing but sweet and accommodating! We stayed in room #1 which was in the front of the house on the bottom level. The room was just perfect for a quiet getaway for my husband and I. We were able to enjoy our breakfast each morning on the porch in front of our room which overlooked a small garden and South Battery Street. No, the breakfast was not a huge Southern Breakfast like someone else complained about not having, but it was still plenty for my husband and I to enjoy. You had plenty of options to choose from for your breakfast and you could literally have everything on the menu if you wanted!

The bed in our room was like a cloud. Sometimes when we travel all you want to do is get back home to your own bed. In this case, I wanted to take this bed with me back to my house! I also loved that even after I took a nap in the afternoon, when we came back from dinner, the bed was made back up and the pillows had been fluffed with 2 chocolates waiting for us to enjoy!

I read another review where someone complained about the doors not locking properly. The doors are a bit tricky, but they lock just fine! Our room was in the old carriage house area where I assume the horses were kept. So the doorway to the room was not a normal door size. You have to lock the right side door using latches on the top and bottom of the door then close the left side door and use your key to lock that side. It did take me a few minutes to figure that out, but once I did, the door locked just fine!

Our room was very quiet despite being right on South Battery Street. I never even heard any of the other guests the entire weekend and the B&B was completely sold out when we were there. The lady that checked us in, would check on us each morning at breakfast to see if we needed anything at all!

With all of that said, I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Charleston. It is also one of the most affordable places I could find and if you stay at a hotel, you won't receive that turn down service or breakfast in the garden without paying extra! These items are included in your room fee when you stay at the Batter Carriage House Inn.

It was such a lovely place to stay and I can't wait to stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leeblakely11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This bed and breakfast was not at all like what was shown on its website. When checking in the owner was rude. The room was in the basement of the house and it was so dark and damp. It also had a musty smell. There was very little security and the door would not lock properly so we did not feel safe. My sister and I left and stayed in a hotel the entire trip. The best thing about this B&B is the location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B. Our room (11) was small, but nice. The Battery Park location can't be beat. We were just disappointed that a southern cooked hot breakfast was not served in the dining room and we were not allowed in the main house. I incorrectly assumed that we would be staying in the "big house" and have breakfast in the dining room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyA1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great location but customer service and room were severely lacking. Room small, dark ,damp
musty and located in a renovated cellar. Door old and lock not secure. Fell into dark room when
staff failed to advise of a step down. Rooms over priced for size and amenities. Looked nothing
like photos on their web site.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCohen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Carriage House Inn

Address: 20 South Battery, Charleston, SC 29401-2727 (Formerly 1843 Battery Carriage House Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £73 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Battery Carriage House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Charleston inn offers true Southern charm accommodations amongst a backdrop of one of the most serene areas on the peninsula. We are located right in the heart of Charleston's iconic Battery area and only steps away from the promenade with stunning views of the Charleston Harbor. You will be close enough to everything you wish to see and do while enjoying our fair city, while returning to relax in your peaceful slice of Lowcountry paradise. Let our staff guide you during your Charleston journey, and help ease any potential travel woes. We are always more than happy to assist in any way we can! Tea and cookies will be here for your midday pick-me-up, and unwind before enjoying an evening on the town with wine and cheese in our lobby. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1843 Battery Carriage House Hotel Charleston
1843 Battery Carriage House Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing