We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel! Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Ranked #50 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hotel said it was recently renovated, and I must say this is hands down the nicest Comfort Inn I have ever stayed at. Hotel was very clean and modern and the staff was so friendly. Hotel has 4 major fast food chains across the street and if you don't mind walking about 1mile or 2 then you can walk to all the tourist spots. The only downside is that hotel parking is limited but that is in no way a reason to not stay here there is a bank located right next door you can park at.

Room Tip: Rooms are so nice, they are not very large but they are modern and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhatPatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Comfort Inn was a wonderful place to stay in. Enjoyed the microwave and frig. My husband had to have surgery at VA hospital in Charleston, SC and a very nice place for me to stay while he was there. Thank you for a beaufiul room, the color scheme was very inviting, my favorit color is green. Looking forward to see what new improvments y'all will make in the future. We plan to take a little time for us once a year. Thank you again, Mr. & Mrs. Charles A. McClarren

Room Tip: I guess what is offered and but you do have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

tThe above statement describes our experience at the hotel. We also enjoyed our short time in the city(our first visit) and are coming back for a couple of days to see the plantations etc and,course, will stay at your hotel. Thanks Jim Giffin & Jan Howe

Room Tip: King single non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Other reviews on different website gave them a good rating. NOT! Hallways stunk, not enough hot water in shower, ice machine on 2 floors not working, bad location that didn't feel very safe, and a surly attendent at the desk the next day. Constant sirens outside at night.

There was one young lady the night of check in who deserves a good rating. She was most helpful. I hope she finds a job at a nicer motel!

Room Tip: There's not one. People from other floors were complaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineK801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here on a Friday night in October 2011. The room was clean, but had a weird smell. The toilet moved (not a good feeling!) and the AC did not start working until we cranked it down to 60! And then the next morning the hot water was out at 8am on a Saturday! Luckily, we weren't in a rush, and when I tried it again in 30 minutes, it was fine. Parking is sparse, and if you end up parking in overflow during the week you have to move the car before 7am! And there is supposedly a bus to a trolley, but we didn't want to deal with the hassle so we just parked downtown. It's not far from the historic section, but not close enough that we wanted to walk. The bed was ok comfort wise and there was no road noise. The front desk staff was very friendly and the breakfast was quite tasty for free.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulbrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We arrived at hotel before the 3pm checkin time. Most hotels will check you in and give you access to the room when it is ready. This place would not check us in and acted as if we had no right to be there until 3:00. The parking lot is very small and hard to navigate. The whole building needs a complete facelift. We expected a queen sized bed and found a double bed in the room. Nothing else was available so we made due with the small bed. We stayed for 3 nights and one night there was no hot water in the entire hotel. Complimentary breakfast is a nice perk at all Comfort Inns, but I doubt if that will get us to stay in this particular hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exnorther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

was already rough knowing my dad was having a triple by-pass. My mother, brother, and I were so worried about him. The staff at the hotel made sure that we didn't need anything the whole 11 days we were there. I could not ask for a friendlier environment. Comfort Inn, here, made us feel at home and just as it says, "Comfortable". I want to personally thank each and everyone of you for the kindness and hospitality. Hopefully, we will be back under better circumstances. Thank you.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is the perfect floor because you are right there at the pool and excerise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmyroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,270 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations King Street Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Address: 144 Bee St, Charleston, SC 29401-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £73 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing