We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
boca raton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I needed to stay close to the hospital because my father was ill. I stayed at this hotel because of the location. The staff was very friendly and the accomondations were all I needed. This hotel provided me with a clean room and a quite place to stay after spending the day at the Hospital.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bocogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    143
    129
    72
    87
See reviews for
139
183
43
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

While I saw many reviews complaining, we found this to be a fine place to stay. The workers were friendly and the room was clean. The continental breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend for value and the location is convenient to MUSC which was our reason for travel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wdm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights in early November because it was a good deal. We won't stay here again. The staff was very, very nice, but not really on the ball. The place is run-down, the two elevators are the SLOWEST ones in the world! Everyone commented on the slowness. The smell in the elevators was like male cat spray. Everything was rather shabby. Okay for a night or two, but not for more than that! Pretty far to walk to King Street and certainly far for the historic district. Breakfast food is pretty bad! We had to change rooms after the first night, because the first room smelled of urine. The second room was much better, but with peeling wallpaper and a sagging bed. It was not horrible, but probably one can do better.

  • Liked — Staff was pleasant
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashvillecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in early October. The only available room was a "smoking room" but we thought this would still be ok. As a non-smoker I assumed the room would be the same as any other, but with ashtrays. How wrong could I be? On entering the room there was a very strong stale tobacco smell which was quite overpowering. I returned to the lobby and asked if someone could come and help clear the odour. A man came to the room with an industrial air freshener spray and an attachment which fitted inside the air-conditioning unit. He sprayed the carpet and curtains, and left the spray with me for further use if needed. This only helped momentarily and the odour soon returned. The man had explained that there was no ventilation in the room since the window could not be opened. There was also no extractor fan in the bathroom so we had a condensation problem every time we used the bath or handbasin. Since there were no other rooms available we had to make the best of it. Everything in the room smelled of stale smoke - the chair, bedding and by the end of the 2 days our clothes smelled as well.

It was such a shame because the hotel was otherwise fine for our needs. There was a small gym and outdoor swimming pool, and self-service continental breakfast available in an area adjacent to the lobby. Breakfast was included in the price. The location is Bee Street which is to the west of Charleston. It is just about within walking distance of King St and Meeting St, although too far to walk to Market St.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — no staircase so forced to wait for elevators
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

The room was ok, the pool was decent, but the BUGS kind of ruled the rest of the place.

Flying bugs were every where in the lobby and in the restaurant and it was so gross. We NEVER ate the free breakfast, because those bugs had to be coming from somewhere.

Oh, and they were the bitting kind!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — DIRTY!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

I am very familiar with Charleston so I knew exactly where we would be and how to navigate the area. I could see how the location of this hotel could be a surprise if you are expecting a quintessential Charleston experience. The hotel is located in the heart of the hospital community of downtown. However, I found the staff to be incredibly kind and friendly. Many guests travel to the area and have to stay for medical issues because he/she are not well enough to travel home. I found the staff (even the maintenence staff!) to be very sensitive to those needs. Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jetprincess01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2008

My stay at your hotel was very disappointing. Below is my list of complaints for the hotel.

1) The fire doors do not close by themselves on the stairwells. This resulted in the door on the fourth floor being unlatched most of the time.
2) There is not an adequate amount of parking spaces. The front desk offered parking under the adjacent bridge as “run over” parking. We had a fire alarm go off at 4:00 AM. When we came outside, there were multiple cars parked in the fire lane. When the fire truck arrived, they had to stop approximately 50 yards from the front door. I am glad it was a false alarm.
3) There was no follow up communication to the guest regarding the fire alarm. In well managed hotels a written letter is waiting on each guest at their door to explain what caused the fire alarm and apologize if it was a false alarm.
4) The room was not cleaned are maintained well. The Following are examples: The coffee maker contained old coffee (grinds and liquid) upon check in. The handle on the chest of drawers was broken and dangling on one bolt. The cleaning staff only made the bed and removed the dirty towels after our first nights stay. I expect the trash cans to be emptied and clean towels to be left in the room at a minimum. There was no “do not disturb” sign. There were multiple cigarette buts floating in the pool.

As a result of this disappointing stay, I do not plan to return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Breadfast
  • Disliked — There were multiple cigarette buts floating in the pool.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CAC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Address: 144 Bee St, Charleston, SC 29401-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing