We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Nearby Hotels
US$417
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$315
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
US$224
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$296
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,016)
Filter reviews
2,018 results
Traveller rating
771
584
339
192
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
771
584
339
192
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoriginal citadelevening receptioncooked to order breakfastmarion squarefree happy hourbrick wallbreakfast staffking streethistoric charlestonfarmers marketwithin walking distancevalet parkingfree breakfastcocktail hourfirst floorvisitor's centerlocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,721 - 1,726 of 2,018 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Wonderful spot, walking distance to a lot. It is also a historical spot in itself. Wonderful staff...
First floor in the corner was a wonderful room as it was quiet and very easy for access.
within three blocks to many restaurants and services.

Room Tip: first floor corner was very quiet and great access. but higher rooms gave a view on the courtyard i was told.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ss309556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My family (wife, with 2 kids 5, 7) spend three wonderful days in Charleston. We had 1 bedroom suite on the north side of the hotel (furthest away from Meeting St.).

Great location! Trolley stop right out front on Meeting St. or another useful stop around the corner on John. St. Nice shops and restos around the corner on King St. Children's Museum, Museum of Charleston, and Tourist Office all around the hotel.

The inner atrium of the hotel is stunning - serveral floors high with a glass ceiling. Only two elevators although the wait never seemed unusually long.

We really enjoyed the complimentary cocktail hour at 5:30. Free snacks and drinks (including alcohol if desired). Tips given to the bartender seemed to be really appreciated. A line-up would form right at 5:30 so either go early or wait a bit to avoid the initial crush.

A nice outdoor courtyard off the side of the reception area was a pleasant (although popular) place to eat the snacks or just hang out under some unbrellas.

The pool is located adjacent to the courtyard area and was very pleasant. Warm and clean, although not terribly large. Loungers are limited in numbers but we never had a problem getting a couple late in the afternoon. The hot tub is located beside the pool and was nice too.

Compliementary breakfast was outstanding! Made-to-order eggs was a real treat for my 7 year old. A large selection of hot and cold foods was provided - grits, biscuits, bacon, scramled eggs, sausage, cereal, breads, yogurts, juice, and milk.

A small gym is beside the pool. Although small, it is fully loaded - ellipticals and treadmill, full weight rack, bosu, exercise ball, bench. Better than many hotels in a small package. And everything actually worked! Word to the wise - to my fellow gym rats - get there early if you want a machine (sign says it opens at 6am, but I went in before that).

Room service menu was decent. Food quality was good. Kids loved the grilled cheese and chicken soup one night. Prices are what you might expect for hotel room service (plus the gratuity and charge).

Front desk was always friendly and helpful with all requests. Postcards were metered and mailed without charge.

As for the room - large 1 bedroom suite, with a small fridge (nice to have with kids), nice spacious bathroom, pull out sofa and flat screen tvs (lots of channels). The only drawback was the noise from the alley outside our window. Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked an alley on the west side of the hotel. Cars would park there with stereos blasting and people shouting on the Saturday night we were there.

Also, there was a Farmer's Market with foods, crafts, and kids rides on the weekend in the park beside the hotel.

All-in-all, a great stay in a wonderful city. Would stay here again, no question. Although in a different part of the hotel, away from that alley on the west side.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Wonderful stay! We arrived with our children on our wedding anniversary and they went above and beyond to make our stay special. The suite was great as was the cocktail hour and the breakfast. The kids enjoyed the pool. We will absolutely be back. Thank you so much, Embassy staff!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Maybe the prices were jacked up for the PGA Championship weekend but it seemed high. However, this place is convenient for seeing Charleston. We valet parked the car on Friday and didn't ask for it back until we headed home on Sunday. The building is historic and it makes for an interesting hotel. Trust me, 18" thick masonry walls makes for quiet! The staff was spot on and a real pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinistral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I kind of wanted to give the hotel a 3.5. It wasn't bad...interesting, in that it was once the Citadel. Hotel is basically clean and the staff is very, very nice & helpful!

My hestitation in giving higher stars was that our room did not have windows! I knew this goign in, as we made a last minute reservation and that's all that was left...we were warned! We decided to go for it....needed a suite, since we have four kids. I'm just a daylight person! I couldn't handle how dark it was - only two lights in the bedroom, it gave me the creeps. And there wasn't much ventilation. Following a shower, the mirrors stayed fogged up for over an hour. There was a very musty smell, too.

The staff was great. We left a number of items behind by accident, some of it jewelry. I called the hotel the next day and they had our stuff and promptly mailed it all back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a suite with a window!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the suite. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. However, we would like for you to know that we are working with our housekeeping staff on the bathroom. The next time you find yourself headed to the Lowcountry, please contact a manager ahead of time and we will personally find a suite that would best accommodates your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews