We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Leonardtown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful historic hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This is a beautiful historic hotel, located one block from King Street and walking district from Market and East Bay Streets. The complimentary breakfast was done well and easy with two locations there was no wait.

The staff was very informative in reference to restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    533
    293
    159
    107
See reviews for
631
557
36
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Hotel room is average at best. Old, dirty carpet and room has a motel 6 feel. Breakfast is filling but cheap. Drinks at night a great though poor quality liquor (but 'free' is 'free'). I expected a 3.5 star hotel and got a 2.5 star hotel. Not enough valet staff so long wait for your car. Price to park on your own is $16 per night and valet is $20 per night. It might be worth saving the $4 since the wait for your car is going to be a while. Bed is hard - if you like a hard bed with a flat pillow then your in luck. Best quality is the location but the area about 1/4 a mile away is questionable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Nora Sturgeon
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I traveled with my husband for business, our check in was very easy. We were given a suite with two double beds, when at time of booking I requested a king suite. I called the front desk and keys to a new room were brought promptly. I have listed my positives and negatives below:

Positives:
-Delicious made-to-order breakfast
-Spacious rooms w/ two tvs / sitting area / kitchen area
-Quiet rooms / were separated from hotel common area by living space
-Free WiFi
-Relaxing common area, with water fountain
-Comfy bed
-HOT running water (be careful)

Negatives:
-Small bathroom with no exhaust
-Cable went in and out
-All drains within rooms seemed to back up quickly (in kitchen, bathroom and bathtub)
-Charge for parking ($20 valet or $14 in neighboring garage) - but it is Charleston :)

All in all I enjoyed our stay and if I was able to get a decent price on a room again, we will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkanab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

After reading some of these reviews I was a little worried. First things, first- I normally stay at hampton inns, but after reading the reviews of the hampton inn in charleston, we decided to stay right next door at the ES. If you read some of the previous reviews, you might be a little worried... These tripadvisor reviewers that gave negative feedback, well, they are looking for something to complain about. Yes, the rooms are small- compared to my house! You can not have 40 friends in you room comfortably, but if you are like me, and you only care about sleeping well, eating well, and being treated well- then no worries here. The beds are very comfortable, and even more important- fresh and clean! The room has a good size sitting area... The breakfast, well if you are used to the typical hotel breakfast- the breakfast here will blow you away!! It's fantastic. As for the staff, everyone was helpful, pleasant, the valet was very prompt. Great experience, great historic building, we will be back!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessandjohnforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAITHERSBURG
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were pleased with the hotel and surrounding areas. We were celebrating our son's 40th birthday so a suite was a good option. Although the rooms were a little small, we found the property very interesting historically, and well situated to walk or take the free shuttle trolley around the city. Receptionist was friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate to keep us going until early dinner. We liked Charleston a lot and the hotel made the town even more pleasant.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Marion Square gave us sunrise, sunset, and students playing ball in the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights (Fri-Sun).We were told that the holel was an old military academy building. Short remarks are as follows: receptionist during our check-in was fairly unfriendly, room/suite was furnished sparely and smelled, breakfast room was too small to accomodate all guests therefore they had second breakfast location set up in the atrium, which felt as if you are eating beiing on display from other guests walking to or from their rooms on balcony floors above and taking the elevators. Breakfast staff however was very quick and friendly. Fresh made omlettes and eggs were delicious. Interior of both elevators was being redone on Sunday morning despite heavy guest traffic. Overall, good location right at the beginnig of King Street with all its shopping, close to Aquariumand ferry port to Fort Summter, College of Charleston and a short walk (1 mile) to historic Charleston. Hotel and rooms left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: As for the room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESsalescoordinator, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
We're so glad we had the privilege to serve you during your travels to Charleston and appreciate your feedback. It's nice to hear the location was convenient and I hope you were able to enjoy some of the historic attractions during your weekend visit. I'm terribly sorry to hear that our front office staff was anything less than welcoming or friendly and can assure you this has been addressed. I also regret that you felt a little uncomfortable with the separate breakfast areas and we're currently looking into space reconfiguration. Thank you again for sharing your suggestions with us. We hope that you will come back to see our true hospitality and let us know what you think of our improvements.

Kind regards,
Nora Sturgeon, Guest Services Manager
Nora.Sturgeon@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is a great property if you are a history buff. The usual Embassy Suites perks (free breakfast, complimentary drinks in the evening) are offered. The one negative is room size, they are a little smaller than the average ES property, but not something that should keep you from staying. Walkable to King Street and several great area restaurants. The history of the building is a Civil War enthusiasts dream. It was first an armory and, in 1842, became the site of The Citadel, The Military College of SC. Cadets from the Citadel are credited with firing the first shots of the Civil War. It was captured by Union Troops during the Civial War. Some of the rooms have firing ports in the walls, which in itself is a gtreat feature. I highly recommend staying at this property

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Address: 337 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic landmark, within the walls of the original Citadel, the Embassy Suites Historic Charleston is a grand restoration and is well located, adjacent to Marion Square, and walking distance to many major Charleston attractions including the College of Charleston, MUSC, fabulous restaurants and King Street shopping. Enjoy our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and nightly Manager's reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holy City with warm, Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Historic Charleston Hotel Charleston
Embassy Suites Charleston
Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing